$242 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 5, 2014

Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

3 stars
417 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
93 reviews
Great room and bar!

Nice, newly renovated hotel. Great bar and tavern on second floor. See full review

  • Romeo Mechat
  • Mar 22, 2014
great romantic getaway

This was our first time at this hotel ,traveling as couples. we had heard good reviews around and... See full review

  • krismarie
  • Nov 28, 2013
Cool urban spaces and a chic bar near Union Square
Gorgeous, intimate spaces characterize the Crescent San Francisco hotel, located in a reimagined Victorian building near Union Square. A fresh, clean look is paired with exposed brick, red accents and modern amenities like flat-panel TVs. Look for architectural details, custom curated books and vintage musical instruments throughout the hotel. Personalized service and innovative urban design create an experience of affordable luxury Crescent San Francisco guests aren't likely to forget.
Highlights

  • The Burritt Room bar and lounge
  • Understated urban design incorporates historic architectural details
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access

Rooms

Cutting-edge design at the Crescent San Francisco hotel combines sleek style with historic architectural details in 80 rooms and suites. European influences draw from the old (glittering chandeliers, exposed brick) as well as the new (bright white furnishings, clean lines). Comfort is the common denominator -- find it in 400 thread count sateen linens, spa toiletries and blackout curtains. Marble bathrooms, free Wi-Fi Internet access and flat-panel TVs with premium channels provide additional comfort and convenience. All rooms are nonsmoking. Suites feature woven throws, bathrobes, makeup mirror and more.

Features

Hang out in the Crescent San Francisco lobby lounge, where a newspaper, book, film and music library invites guests to linger. A complimentary continental breakfast is served each morning, and complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available throughout the hotel. Inquire with the concierge to arrange for on-site spa and salon services.

 

The highly respected Burritt Room entices guests with high ceilings, exposed brick and a cool white piano -- and draws an impressive line-up of old-school cocktails and contemporary concoctions.
Dining
The Burritt Room offers a selection of small plates -- but when appetites call for something heartier, there are several fantastic dining options surrounding the Crescent San Francisco. Just steps away, Scala's Bistro offers a menu inspired by the French and Italian countryside and conceived by former contestants on TV's popular Top Chef cooking competition.
Transportation

  • BART stop (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (11.9 mi/19.1 km)

Attractions

  • Union Square (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Moscone Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Asian Art Museum of San Francisco (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (1.4 mi/2.2 km)

Business

  • Business center and 24/7 concierge service
  • 5,900 square feet of function space
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access

Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer Rooms

MYSTIC JUNIOR
185 sq ft. Features a double bed, limited city view and exposed brick accent wall with a large encasement window. These rooms are recessed into the hotel and offer a quiet and peaceful sleeping environment.
MYSTIC ROOM
200 sq ft. Appointed with a queen size bed, Stockton Tunnel or Union Square view with a stylish settee, efficient work surface, adjustable ambient lighting and either a classic bay window or exposed masonry wall.
MYSTIC STUDIO SUITE
300-400 square feet. With a luxuriously outfitted queen or king size bed & City views, the Crescent Suites offer celebrated San Francisco living with expanded lounge space and studio sleeper sofa. Added comforts feature a selection of wines from some of California's best small house producers, a custom bar with specially created cocktails from the City's most talented mixologists and a curated film, music & book library.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7898 -122.4074
Area served
San Francisco
Nearby airports
SFO, OAK

Nearby points of interest

  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.2 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 2 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (93)

Ratings and reviews for Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
93 out of 93
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
danielutz
citrus heights,ca
Feb 11, 2013

Great Hotel

Right in Downtown, close to shopping centers, verry cleand and confortable. recomand with trust

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dublin Ireland
May 27, 2011

Brilliant, Nice..great staff

The staff were great and nice, the room was lovly the only issue is a member of staff came into my room (by mistake) at 6 am. other than this i will be back here and will let others know abouthis hotel. great bar as well

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Hotel

Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
citdawg2012
SC
Apr 3, 2011

Great Hotel for a Great Price

My girlfriend and I were looking for a nice, cozy, hotel at a great price close to a music venue and found it. The Crescent was right next to Union Square and was super nice. The room was hipsta and affordable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Haldrik
Business
Asheville, NC
Oct 10, 2010

A gem in Downtown SF

I was delighted with this hotel, particularly by the very tastefully designed, gorgeous modern room and bathroom that really made being IN the room a real pleasure. The window looked out on an alley, so I chose to keep the blinds down, but that didn't detract from my experience. The location is great, just a 4 minute walk north of the Powell St. BART station, a block and a half north of Union Square and two blocks from the Chinatown gate. The free breakfast was fine for light eaters (it's European style, so if you're a fan of huge, American-style breakfast buffets, you probably won't be too happy with this), but the breakfast room itself is a little plain, considering how nice my room was. The lobby is nice and there's room for sitting around if you need to wait for someone. The staff is young and friendly and quite helpful. The room key is more convenient than usual: you just hold the key next to the lock and it opens, so no need to slide a credit-card style key in an out, which can be tedious. All in all, this place is a gem for the price, which was my main concern while searching for a hotel in this area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

To get to the Chinatown gate, walk left out of the hotel, go about 20 meters north, and take the side stairs up to the street level. Once you're on street level, walk downhill one block on the gate is on your left.

Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cletus and Friend
Colorado Springs, CO
Jun 23, 2013

Sweet Romantic Great Location

Staff was friendly and very helpful. Room had a great view and was very clean and comfy. The locations was above all expectations. I would stay here again any time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Jul 29, 2010

Cool Place in Hot Location

Very cool place with great staff in a hot location just off Union Square and a wonderful second-floor lounge. The historical building has been renovated into a hip digs. I'll be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Jul 29, 2010

Cool Place in Hot Location

Very cool place with great staff in a hot location just off Union Square and a wonderful second-floor lounge. The historical building has been renovated into a hip digs. I'll be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sarasota, Florida
Jul 5, 2010

Great Experience!

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the Crescent and would not hesitate to return the next time we visit SF. The location was very convenient, close to bus routes, shopping in Union Square, good food, Chinatown and we easily walked to many other places. Our room was a little small, but it had everything we needed and we could have had a larger room if we wanted to pay for it - but who spends a lot of time in their room during the day anyway? The room was VERY reasonable. The noon checkout time was nice as well. It was clean and updated and that's all we needed. The new hotel bar/lounge was historical and interesting - a nice respite at the end of a day. The staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. If you have a car the parking garage is on the same block just steps around the corner - not unreasonably priced and unlimited in and out service. We have nothing bad to say.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy the City Pass booklet if you're going to visit the attractions and use the public transportation system. It's convenient and we saved money even though we didn't visit everything.

Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stuck on the Hedonic Treadmill
Santa Cruz, CA
Dec 21, 2010

Great hotel with character

We love the Crescent hotel. It's got character but the aesthetic is understated enough to be perfectly comfortable. Great location too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Rye, some of the best mixology in SF.

Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
danielutz
citrus heights,ca
Feb 11, 2013

Great Hotel

Right in Downtown, close to shopping centers, verry cleand and confortable. recomand with trust

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
citdawg2012
SC
Apr 3, 2011

Great Hotel for a Great Price

My girlfriend and I were looking for a nice, cozy, hotel at a great price close to a music venue and found it. The Crescent was right next to Union Square and was super nice. The room was hipsta and affordable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top