$189 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 30, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

3 stars
View map of 417 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
83 out of 83
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
danielutz
citrus heights,ca
Feb 11, 2013

Great Hotel

Right in Downtown, close to shopping centers, verry cleand and confortable. recomand with trust

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ruckus
Business
Canada
Nov 15, 2011

Disappointed in staff

We booked the Crescent Hotel because we were looking for an intimate boutique hotel with some character to spend 5 nights during our wedding trip to San Francisco. We have stayed at several other hotels on Sutter Street and have been very pleased with our stays there so we wanted another hotel in the same area. Upon our arrival, we were disappointed to find the staff at the Crescent extremely unhelpful and rather nonchalant about providing us with any information or guidance. Even with the knowledge that this was a special trip for us, they were still very cold and caused us a bit of frustration. Perhaps we have high expectations of San Francisco Hotels, but considering we payed a bit more money for a suite at the Crescent, we would expect the service to be better. Our friends stayed at the Pickwick for a great rate, and in hindsight we probably should have too. The rooms and decor in the Crescent are nice and the Burritt Room was hopping, but this is not enough for us to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
awaskey
Business
Raleigh, NC, USA
Nov 10, 2011

great hotel great staff

you would never expect it from the price or outside but this was a great hotel and very convenient!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
first visit to SF
Business
cincinnati, oh
Nov 7, 2011

Great location

Fun old bldg architectural details. We had 1 wall of our room as exposed brick. Very close to Union square and China town. Parking garage across the street! We even walked down to Fisherman's warf.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking across the street. Safe location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Great Lakes Traveler
Business
Michigan
Oct 27, 2011

Great location and Attentive Staff

Excellent value, comfy bed but room quite small. Although the lobby is fresh and nice, the rest could use some more light and brightness. The location is excellent--near Union Square, Embarcadero, Financial andTheater district. Simple but adequate continental breakfast. Front Desk Staff could not do enough to help me no matter what I needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you don't have a lot of luggage--take the BART train to/from the airport--just need to know the closest stop to the hotel. Fast and inexpensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EL Chitown
Business
chicago,il
Sep 6, 2011

Great Hotel in Central Area

Hotel was clean and comfortable. Rooms were a little smaller than expected but we didn’t spend much time in the room so that didn’t matter. Very chic hotel, great for a romantic weekend away. Hotel was in a central area, close to everything. Very nice bathroom, bed, etc. Awesome hotel bar with great drinks; staff in entire hotel was attentive and pleasant. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SeanM.
Business
MA
Sep 2, 2011

San Fran Weekend

I really liked this hotel. Close to Union square and Chinatown. Its a different kind of hotel but still pretty cool. The only drawbacks would be how loud the bar can get and the shower...water ended up going all over the floor. But either way, would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FreddyP
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Aug 24, 2011

Perfect!!!!!!

Amazing, clean & very quite, centrally located to everything...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FreddyP
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Aug 24, 2011

Perfect!!!!!!

Amazing, clean & very quite, centrally located to everything...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lonsdale, MN
Jul 8, 2011

This motel has character.

We went to San Francisco to attend the Twins vs. the Giants baseball games and to tour the city. The hotel was a great location. The rooms had no air conditioning; we had to ask for a fan, and hair dryer, and ice (no ice machines). The elevator was historic - one of a kind. We got more information from the hotel across the street (Hyatt) than we did from our own front desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

The hotel was close to all transportation. We could go out the door and hop on a bus. Trolleys, hop on bus were close by also.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Jun 14, 2011

Great City; Not so Great Hotel

The Crescent's location is just outside Union Square at the exit of Stockton tunnel and on the edge of China Town. We spent our days walking around the city and thoroughly enjoyed being so close to a variety of areas. The room we stayed in was not of the standard depicted in the photos on the Crescents website. Instead of redefining style, it was more liken to a girl putting makeup on for the first time than a beauty. The cabinets and shelves were cheap and it was apparent. The Kohler sink was stylish and the only stylish quality exhibited. This really wasn't a make or break aspect, just not what was advertised. Our room was only cleaned once in the four days we spent there, despite putting the "Refresh Please" sign on the door and asking the front desk. When it was finally cleaned no pillowcases were put on. Our stay was a bit marred by a late night dance party that took place at the hotels lounge. The sound was so loud until 2a.m. that the bass reverberated to the point where our bed was shaking and toiletries fell from the shelf. I went to the front desk to ask about the availability for a room upgrade and asked when the music was expected to stop. The response was that I should go and enjoy the music. My girlfriend and I would recommend searching for another hotel in the district. The are plenty of options that Crescent can be a last resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We found that the restaurants located within a block of Union Square were of significantly higher price and lower quality of those located a few blocks away. My girlfriend and I are sushi fanatics, two blocks into china town through the main gate, we found Sushi Rock. Hands down the best sushi either of us has ever had. In china town off all places. We spent around $50.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top