$242 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 5, 2014

Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

3 stars
417 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
93 reviews
Great room and bar!

Nice, newly renovated hotel. Great bar and tavern on second floor. See full review

  • Romeo Mechat
  • Mar 22, 2014
great romantic getaway

This was our first time at this hotel ,traveling as couples. we had heard good reviews around and... See full review

  • krismarie
  • Nov 28, 2013
Cool urban spaces and a chic bar near Union Square
Gorgeous, intimate spaces characterize the Crescent San Francisco hotel, located in a reimagined Victorian building near Union Square. A fresh, clean look is paired with exposed brick, red accents and modern amenities like flat-panel TVs. Look for architectural details, custom curated books and vintage musical instruments throughout the hotel. Personalized service and innovative urban design create an experience of affordable luxury Crescent San Francisco guests aren't likely to forget.
Highlights

  • The Burritt Room bar and lounge
  • Understated urban design incorporates historic architectural details
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access

Rooms

Cutting-edge design at the Crescent San Francisco hotel combines sleek style with historic architectural details in 80 rooms and suites. European influences draw from the old (glittering chandeliers, exposed brick) as well as the new (bright white furnishings, clean lines). Comfort is the common denominator -- find it in 400 thread count sateen linens, spa toiletries and blackout curtains. Marble bathrooms, free Wi-Fi Internet access and flat-panel TVs with premium channels provide additional comfort and convenience. All rooms are nonsmoking. Suites feature woven throws, bathrobes, makeup mirror and more.

Features

Hang out in the Crescent San Francisco lobby lounge, where a newspaper, book, film and music library invites guests to linger. A complimentary continental breakfast is served each morning, and complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available throughout the hotel. Inquire with the concierge to arrange for on-site spa and salon services.

 

The highly respected Burritt Room entices guests with high ceilings, exposed brick and a cool white piano -- and draws an impressive line-up of old-school cocktails and contemporary concoctions.
Dining
The Burritt Room offers a selection of small plates -- but when appetites call for something heartier, there are several fantastic dining options surrounding the Crescent San Francisco. Just steps away, Scala's Bistro offers a menu inspired by the French and Italian countryside and conceived by former contestants on TV's popular Top Chef cooking competition.
Transportation

  • BART stop (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (11.9 mi/19.1 km)

Attractions

  • Union Square (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Moscone Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Asian Art Museum of San Francisco (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (1.4 mi/2.2 km)

Business

  • Business center and 24/7 concierge service
  • 5,900 square feet of function space
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access

Hotel Map

37.7898 -122.4074
Area served
San Francisco
Nearby airports
SFO, OAK

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer Rooms

MYSTIC JUNIOR
185 sq ft. Features a double bed, limited city view and exposed brick accent wall with a large encasement window. These rooms are recessed into the hotel and offer a quiet and peaceful sleeping environment.
MYSTIC ROOM
200 sq ft. Appointed with a queen size bed, Stockton Tunnel or Union Square view with a stylish settee, efficient work surface, adjustable ambient lighting and either a classic bay window or exposed masonry wall.
MYSTIC STUDIO SUITE
300-400 square feet. With a luxuriously outfitted queen or king size bed & City views, the Crescent Suites offer celebrated San Francisco living with expanded lounge space and studio sleeper sofa. Added comforts feature a selection of wines from some of California's best small house producers, a custom bar with specially created cocktails from the City's most talented mixologists and a curated film, music & book library.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.2 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 2 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (93)

Ratings and reviews for Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
93 out of 93
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
danielutz
citrus heights,ca
Nov 19, 2012

great hotel

was a great expericence! great staff, the best location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beezie
Boulder, CO
Jun 1, 2011

SFO Bargain

I visited the city in between visits to Santa Cruz and Oakland. I loved this little hotel. Funky, great location, nicely decorated AND reasonably priced. I have stayed in this neighborhood before and would stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

P&G Lounge and Yank Sing...

Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dublin Ireland
May 27, 2011

Brilliant, Nice..great staff

The staff were great and nice, the room was lovly the only issue is a member of staff came into my room (by mistake) at 6 am. other than this i will be back here and will let others know abouthis hotel. great bar as well

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Hotel

Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
May 2, 2011

Crescent SF Hotel

I was in San Francisco for two nights for a business trip. I got there at midnight on the first night, got to my room that was directly above the bar and the music was thumping. I went down to switch my room and the front desk was extremely accommodating; moving me to a higher floor and upgrading me for no extra charge. The continental breakfast is your typical hotel fare but was nice to have in the morning. Location was great and very convenient to shopping and public transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square shopping area is right down the street! Nieman Marcus, Macy's, Niketown, etc!

Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
May 2, 2011

Crescent SF Hotel

I was in San Francisco for two nights for a business trip. I got there at midnight on the first night, got to my room that was directly above the bar and the music was thumping. I went down to switch my room and the front desk was extremely accommodating; moving me to a higher floor and upgrading me for no extra charge. The continental breakfast is your typical hotel fare but was nice to have in the morning. Location was great and very convenient to shopping and public transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square shopping area is right down the street! Nieman Marcus, Macy's, Niketown, etc!

Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ricky316
Eureka,CA
Apr 30, 2011

Not-so-well experience

The thing I dislike most about this hotel is its housekeeping. My falling-off hair was left in the shower room the second night we came back to the room. They didn't get us new shower gel and shampoo. The plug in the bathroom did not work. At first I thought it was the hair dryer's problem so I left them a note saying I needed a new one. They completely ignored the note and the hair dryer was left on the ground as it was when we left. They were fixig the elevator when we checked in so we had to climbed up to sixth floor. It is a vintage elevator so it's extremely slow and the door even did not close automatically one time. The hotel stuff had to push it to close. The sound insulation was awful. I heard so much noise in the morning. However.....one good thing about this hotel is its location. Great location I have to say.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ricky316
Eureka,CA
Apr 30, 2011

Not-so-well experience

The thing I dislike most about this hotel is its housekeeping. My falling-off hair was left in the shower room the second night we came back to the room. They didn't get us new shower gel and shampoo. The plug in the bathroom did not work. At first I thought it was the hair dryer's problem so I left them a note saying I needed a new one. They completely ignored the note and the hair dryer was left on the ground as it was when we left. They were fixig the elevator when we checked in so we had to climbed up to sixth floor. It is a vintage elevator so it's extremely slow and the door even did not close automatically one time. The hotel stuff had to push it to close. The sound insulation was awful. I heard so much noise in the morning. However.....one good thing about this hotel is its location. Great location I have to say.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
citdawg2012
SC
Apr 3, 2011

Great Hotel for a Great Price

My girlfriend and I were looking for a nice, cozy, hotel at a great price close to a music venue and found it. The Crescent was right next to Union Square and was super nice. The room was hipsta and affordable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
citdawg2012
SC
Apr 3, 2011

Great Hotel for a Great Price

My girlfriend and I were looking for a nice, cozy, hotel at a great price close to a music venue and found it. The Crescent was right next to Union Square and was super nice. The room was hipsta and affordable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charleston, SC
Mar 15, 2011

Simple and Enjoyable

This boutique hotel is very simple in its approach. It almost felt like living in an apartment for a week in a wonderful downtown San Francisco location. The staff was very helpful when needed but not extremely outgoing. The room was small but perfect for what my fiance and I needed. The Burrit Room lounge was a hidden local hotspot for happy hour on the weekends. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

"Swell" restaurant is just around the corner (above the Stockton St. tunnel) for delicious sushi and oysters. Try "Tunnel Top" next door for cheap happy hour drinks!

Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charleston, SC
Mar 15, 2011

Simple and Enjoyable

This boutique hotel is very simple in its approach. It almost felt like living in an apartment for a week in a wonderful downtown San Francisco location. The staff was very helpful when needed but not extremely outgoing. The room was small but perfect for what my fiance and I needed. The Burrit Room lounge was a hidden local hotspot for happy hour on the weekends. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

"Swell" restaurant is just around the corner (above the Stockton St. tunnel) for delicious sushi and oysters. Try "Tunnel Top" next door for cheap happy hour drinks!

Back to menu Return to top