$160 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

3 stars
417 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
72 reviews
Great room and bar!

Nice, newly renovated hotel. Great bar and tavern on second floor. See full review

  • Romeo Mechat
  • Mar 22, 2014
great romantic getaway

This was our first time at this hotel ,traveling as couples. we had heard good reviews around and... See full review

  • krismarie
  • Nov 28, 2013
Cool urban spaces and a chic bar near Union Square
Gorgeous, intimate spaces characterize the Crescent San Francisco hotel, located in a reimagined Victorian building near Union Square. A fresh, clean look is paired with exposed brick, red accents and modern amenities like flat-panel TVs. Look for architectural details, custom curated books and vintage musical instruments throughout the hotel. Personalized service and innovative urban design create an experience of affordable luxury Crescent San Francisco guests aren't likely to forget.
Highlights

  • The Burritt Room bar and lounge
  • Understated urban design incorporates historic architectural details
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access

Rooms

Cutting-edge design at the Crescent San Francisco hotel combines sleek style with historic architectural details in 80 rooms and suites. European influences draw from the old (glittering chandeliers, exposed brick) as well as the new (bright white furnishings, clean lines). Comfort is the common denominator -- find it in 400 thread count sateen linens, spa toiletries and blackout curtains. Marble bathrooms, free Wi-Fi Internet access and flat-panel TVs with premium channels provide additional comfort and convenience. All rooms are nonsmoking. Suites feature woven throws, bathrobes, makeup mirror and more.

Features

Hang out in the Crescent San Francisco lobby lounge, where a newspaper, book, film and music library invites guests to linger. A complimentary continental breakfast is served each morning, and complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available throughout the hotel. Inquire with the concierge to arrange for on-site spa and salon services.

 

The highly respected Burritt Room entices guests with high ceilings, exposed brick and a cool white piano -- and draws an impressive line-up of old-school cocktails and contemporary concoctions.
Dining
The Burritt Room offers a selection of small plates -- but when appetites call for something heartier, there are several fantastic dining options surrounding the Crescent San Francisco. Just steps away, Scala's Bistro offers a menu inspired by the French and Italian countryside and conceived by former contestants on TV's popular Top Chef cooking competition.
Transportation

  • BART stop (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (11.9 mi/19.1 km)

Attractions

  • Union Square (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Moscone Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Asian Art Museum of San Francisco (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (1.4 mi/2.2 km)

Business

  • Business center and 24/7 concierge service
  • 5,900 square feet of function space
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer Rooms

MYSTIC JUNIOR
185 sq ft. Features a double bed, limited city view and exposed brick accent wall with a large encasement window. These rooms are recessed into the hotel and offer a quiet and peaceful sleeping environment.
MYSTIC ROOM
200 sq ft. Appointed with a queen size bed, Stockton Tunnel or Union Square view with a stylish settee, efficient work surface, adjustable ambient lighting and either a classic bay window or exposed masonry wall.
MYSTIC STUDIO SUITE
300-400 square feet. With a luxuriously outfitted queen or king size bed & City views, the Crescent Suites offer celebrated San Francisco living with expanded lounge space and studio sleeper sofa. Added comforts feature a selection of wines from some of California's best small house producers, a custom bar with specially created cocktails from the City's most talented mixologists and a curated film, music & book library.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.2 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 2 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (72)

Ratings and reviews for Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
The OC
Oct 4, 2010

Cool decor but lacking

I took my daughter on a quick trip to San Fran to shop and eat in celebration of her 19th birhtday. This hotel was in a great spot that was super close to Union Square and great restaurants. The decor was super hip, the room was really beautiful, but the hotel was lacking in some major area's. First of all, the bed was not comfortable and the sheets werent even soft. The door handle of the bathroom broke off and left us with splintered wood sticking out.We also experienced the very, very, very dark and spooky hallways.The biggest dissapointment was that THERE WAS NO AIR CONDITIONING!!! It happened to be very hot weather for the area and we were miserable. I would visit again if they did some upgrades.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to Mama's for breakfast. It is across the street from Washington Square and about 10 blocks from the hotel. The best breakfast ever!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Providence, RI
Dec 19, 2010

Clean and convenient

A good deal in a convenient location. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JCamps
Business
Brooklyn,NY
May 11, 2010

This was a cool hotel

My experience at the hotel was great! There were a few things that came up during my stay that could've ruined it, but the front desk was more than helpful to help me resolve the issues. I would even say that they bent over backwards to make my stay a pleasent one. The staff could not have been better. The hotel is in a great location just a 15-20min bus ride to all that you want to do in San Francisco. The hotel is a close walk to public transportation, but far enough to where you don't get so much noise from the traffic and everyday life of a downtown area. I would definatly recommend this hotel to my friends and when I go back I will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charleston, SC
Mar 15, 2011

Simple and Enjoyable

This boutique hotel is very simple in its approach. It almost felt like living in an apartment for a week in a wonderful downtown San Francisco location. The staff was very helpful when needed but not extremely outgoing. The room was small but perfect for what my fiance and I needed. The Burrit Room lounge was a hidden local hotspot for happy hour on the weekends. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

"Swell" restaurant is just around the corner (above the Stockton St. tunnel) for delicious sushi and oysters. Try "Tunnel Top" next door for cheap happy hour drinks!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SeanM.
Business
MA
Sep 2, 2011

San Fran Weekend

I really liked this hotel. Close to Union square and Chinatown. Its a different kind of hotel but still pretty cool. The only drawbacks would be how loud the bar can get and the shower...water ended up going all over the floor. But either way, would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jan 26, 2011

A cool place, not the ordinary hotel

Staff super friendly, rooms are new with everything that's needed and you feel less a tourist more a local.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is one minute walking from Union Square and there's a Zipcar car sharing accross the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
May 2, 2011

Crescent SF Hotel

I was in San Francisco for two nights for a business trip. I got there at midnight on the first night, got to my room that was directly above the bar and the music was thumping. I went down to switch my room and the front desk was extremely accommodating; moving me to a higher floor and upgrading me for no extra charge. The continental breakfast is your typical hotel fare but was nice to have in the morning. Location was great and very convenient to shopping and public transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square shopping area is right down the street! Nieman Marcus, Macy's, Niketown, etc!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EL Chitown
Business
chicago,il
Sep 6, 2011

Great Hotel in Central Area

Hotel was clean and comfortable. Rooms were a little smaller than expected but we didn’t spend much time in the room so that didn’t matter. Very chic hotel, great for a romantic weekend away. Hotel was in a central area, close to everything. Very nice bathroom, bed, etc. Awesome hotel bar with great drinks; staff in entire hotel was attentive and pleasant. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
snwbrder206
Business
Seattle, WA
Mar 1, 2011

A solid place to stay

The staff was very nice, helpful, and never seemed to be faking their courtesy. The location was good and central. Room was nicely redone, but really just average in terms of boutique hotels go. I would stay again if the price was on par with most other places. Hip bar on the 2nd floor, but was too busy to really enjoy on the nights we tried to go in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I always stay in this area, Union Square. It was nicely away from the tourist shopping area by a few blocks, without being on the verge of not actually being in Union Square. So location was great. A few block walk to the Muni, cable cars, BART, buses all you need.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wacfol
Business
Seattle, WA
Feb 28, 2011

Efficient and Hip

Found this hotel to be in a great location with a number of bars and restaurants to be within walking distance. Hotel was hip with a popular lounge on the 2nd floor frequented by many locals. Rooms are small, but nice. FYI - There was an alley outside with loud garbage collectors and some rooms probably catch the lounge noise so this hotel might not be appropriate for early birds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Harry Denton's Starlight Lounge on the top floor of the Sir Francis Drake hotel. Good atmosphere and nice view of the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top