$160 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

3 stars
417 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
72 reviews
Great room and bar!

Nice, newly renovated hotel. Great bar and tavern on second floor. See full review

  • Romeo Mechat
  • Mar 22, 2014
great romantic getaway

This was our first time at this hotel ,traveling as couples. we had heard good reviews around and... See full review

  • krismarie
  • Nov 28, 2013
Cool urban spaces and a chic bar near Union Square
Gorgeous, intimate spaces characterize the Crescent San Francisco hotel, located in a reimagined Victorian building near Union Square. A fresh, clean look is paired with exposed brick, red accents and modern amenities like flat-panel TVs. Look for architectural details, custom curated books and vintage musical instruments throughout the hotel. Personalized service and innovative urban design create an experience of affordable luxury Crescent San Francisco guests aren't likely to forget.
Highlights

  • The Burritt Room bar and lounge
  • Understated urban design incorporates historic architectural details
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access

Rooms

Cutting-edge design at the Crescent San Francisco hotel combines sleek style with historic architectural details in 80 rooms and suites. European influences draw from the old (glittering chandeliers, exposed brick) as well as the new (bright white furnishings, clean lines). Comfort is the common denominator -- find it in 400 thread count sateen linens, spa toiletries and blackout curtains. Marble bathrooms, free Wi-Fi Internet access and flat-panel TVs with premium channels provide additional comfort and convenience. All rooms are nonsmoking. Suites feature woven throws, bathrobes, makeup mirror and more.

Features

Hang out in the Crescent San Francisco lobby lounge, where a newspaper, book, film and music library invites guests to linger. A complimentary continental breakfast is served each morning, and complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available throughout the hotel. Inquire with the concierge to arrange for on-site spa and salon services.

 

The highly respected Burritt Room entices guests with high ceilings, exposed brick and a cool white piano -- and draws an impressive line-up of old-school cocktails and contemporary concoctions.
Dining
The Burritt Room offers a selection of small plates -- but when appetites call for something heartier, there are several fantastic dining options surrounding the Crescent San Francisco. Just steps away, Scala's Bistro offers a menu inspired by the French and Italian countryside and conceived by former contestants on TV's popular Top Chef cooking competition.
Transportation

  • BART stop (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (11.9 mi/19.1 km)

Attractions

  • Union Square (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Moscone Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Asian Art Museum of San Francisco (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (1.4 mi/2.2 km)

Business

  • Business center and 24/7 concierge service
  • 5,900 square feet of function space
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer Rooms

MYSTIC JUNIOR
185 sq ft. Features a double bed, limited city view and exposed brick accent wall with a large encasement window. These rooms are recessed into the hotel and offer a quiet and peaceful sleeping environment.
MYSTIC ROOM
200 sq ft. Appointed with a queen size bed, Stockton Tunnel or Union Square view with a stylish settee, efficient work surface, adjustable ambient lighting and either a classic bay window or exposed masonry wall.
MYSTIC STUDIO SUITE
300-400 square feet. With a luxuriously outfitted queen or king size bed & City views, the Crescent Suites offer celebrated San Francisco living with expanded lounge space and studio sleeper sofa. Added comforts feature a selection of wines from some of California's best small house producers, a custom bar with specially created cocktails from the City's most talented mixologists and a curated film, music & book library.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.2 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 2 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (72)

Ratings and reviews for Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FreddyP
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Aug 24, 2011

Perfect!!!!!!

Amazing, clean & very quite, centrally located to everything...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ruckus
Business
Canada
Nov 15, 2011

Disappointed in staff

We booked the Crescent Hotel because we were looking for an intimate boutique hotel with some character to spend 5 nights during our wedding trip to San Francisco. We have stayed at several other hotels on Sutter Street and have been very pleased with our stays there so we wanted another hotel in the same area. Upon our arrival, we were disappointed to find the staff at the Crescent extremely unhelpful and rather nonchalant about providing us with any information or guidance. Even with the knowledge that this was a special trip for us, they were still very cold and caused us a bit of frustration. Perhaps we have high expectations of San Francisco Hotels, but considering we payed a bit more money for a suite at the Crescent, we would expect the service to be better. Our friends stayed at the Pickwick for a great rate, and in hindsight we probably should have too. The rooms and decor in the Crescent are nice and the Burritt Room was hopping, but this is not enough for us to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
awaskey
Business
Raleigh, NC, USA
Nov 10, 2011

great hotel great staff

you would never expect it from the price or outside but this was a great hotel and very convenient!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
first visit to SF
Business
cincinnati, oh
Nov 7, 2011

Great location

Fun old bldg architectural details. We had 1 wall of our room as exposed brick. Very close to Union square and China town. Parking garage across the street! We even walked down to Fisherman's warf.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking across the street. Safe location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Great Lakes Traveler
Business
Michigan
Oct 27, 2011

Great location and Attentive Staff

Excellent value, comfy bed but room quite small. Although the lobby is fresh and nice, the rest could use some more light and brightness. The location is excellent--near Union Square, Embarcadero, Financial andTheater district. Simple but adequate continental breakfast. Front Desk Staff could not do enough to help me no matter what I needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you don't have a lot of luggage--take the BART train to/from the airport--just need to know the closest stop to the hotel. Fast and inexpensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EL Chitown
Business
chicago,il
Sep 6, 2011

Great Hotel in Central Area

Hotel was clean and comfortable. Rooms were a little smaller than expected but we didn’t spend much time in the room so that didn’t matter. Very chic hotel, great for a romantic weekend away. Hotel was in a central area, close to everything. Very nice bathroom, bed, etc. Awesome hotel bar with great drinks; staff in entire hotel was attentive and pleasant. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SeanM.
Business
MA
Sep 2, 2011

San Fran Weekend

I really liked this hotel. Close to Union square and Chinatown. Its a different kind of hotel but still pretty cool. The only drawbacks would be how loud the bar can get and the shower...water ended up going all over the floor. But either way, would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FreddyP
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Aug 24, 2011

Perfect!!!!!!

Amazing, clean & very quite, centrally located to everything...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lonsdale, MN
Jul 8, 2011

This motel has character.

We went to San Francisco to attend the Twins vs. the Giants baseball games and to tour the city. The hotel was a great location. The rooms had no air conditioning; we had to ask for a fan, and hair dryer, and ice (no ice machines). The elevator was historic - one of a kind. We got more information from the hotel across the street (Hyatt) than we did from our own front desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

The hotel was close to all transportation. We could go out the door and hop on a bus. Trolleys, hop on bus were close by also.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Jun 14, 2011

Great City; Not so Great Hotel

The Crescent's location is just outside Union Square at the exit of Stockton tunnel and on the edge of China Town. We spent our days walking around the city and thoroughly enjoyed being so close to a variety of areas. The room we stayed in was not of the standard depicted in the photos on the Crescents website. Instead of redefining style, it was more liken to a girl putting makeup on for the first time than a beauty. The cabinets and shelves were cheap and it was apparent. The Kohler sink was stylish and the only stylish quality exhibited. This really wasn't a make or break aspect, just not what was advertised. Our room was only cleaned once in the four days we spent there, despite putting the "Refresh Please" sign on the door and asking the front desk. When it was finally cleaned no pillowcases were put on. Our stay was a bit marred by a late night dance party that took place at the hotels lounge. The sound was so loud until 2a.m. that the bass reverberated to the point where our bed was shaking and toiletries fell from the shelf. I went to the front desk to ask about the availability for a room upgrade and asked when the music was expected to stop. The response was that I should go and enjoy the music. My girlfriend and I would recommend searching for another hotel in the district. The are plenty of options that Crescent can be a last resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We found that the restaurants located within a block of Union Square were of significantly higher price and lower quality of those located a few blocks away. My girlfriend and I are sushi fanatics, two blocks into china town through the main gate, we found Sushi Rock. Hands down the best sushi either of us has ever had. In china town off all places. We spent around $50.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beezie
Business
Boulder, CO
Jun 1, 2011

SFO Bargain

I visited the city in between visits to Santa Cruz and Oakland. I loved this little hotel. Funky, great location, nicely decorated AND reasonably priced. I have stayed in this neighborhood before and would stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

P&G Lounge and Yank Sing...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top