Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

3 stars
417 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
69 reviews
Great room and bar!

Nice, newly renovated hotel. Great bar and tavern on second floor. See full review

  • Romeo Mechat
  • Mar 22, 2014
great romantic getaway

This was our first time at this hotel ,traveling as couples. we had heard good reviews around and... See full review

  • krismarie
  • Nov 28, 2013
Cool urban spaces and a chic bar near Union Square
Gorgeous, intimate spaces characterize the Crescent San Francisco hotel, located in a reimagined Victorian building near Union Square. A fresh, clean look is paired with exposed brick, red accents and modern amenities like flat-panel TVs. Look for architectural details, custom curated books and vintage musical instruments throughout the hotel. Personalized service and innovative urban design create an experience of affordable luxury Crescent San Francisco guests aren't likely to forget.
Highlights

  • The Burritt Room bar and lounge
  • Understated urban design incorporates historic architectural details
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access

Rooms

Cutting-edge design at the Crescent San Francisco hotel combines sleek style with historic architectural details in 80 rooms and suites. European influences draw from the old (glittering chandeliers, exposed brick) as well as the new (bright white furnishings, clean lines). Comfort is the common denominator -- find it in 400 thread count sateen linens, spa toiletries and blackout curtains. Marble bathrooms, free Wi-Fi Internet access and flat-panel TVs with premium channels provide additional comfort and convenience. All rooms are nonsmoking. Suites feature woven throws, bathrobes, makeup mirror and more.

Features

Hang out in the Crescent San Francisco lobby lounge, where a newspaper, book, film and music library invites guests to linger. A complimentary continental breakfast is served each morning, and complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available throughout the hotel. Inquire with the concierge to arrange for on-site spa and salon services.

 

The highly respected Burritt Room entices guests with high ceilings, exposed brick and a cool white piano -- and draws an impressive line-up of old-school cocktails and contemporary concoctions.
Dining
The Burritt Room offers a selection of small plates -- but when appetites call for something heartier, there are several fantastic dining options surrounding the Crescent San Francisco. Just steps away, Scala's Bistro offers a menu inspired by the French and Italian countryside and conceived by former contestants on TV's popular Top Chef cooking competition.
Transportation

  • BART stop (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (11.9 mi/19.1 km)

Attractions

  • Union Square (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Moscone Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Asian Art Museum of San Francisco (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (1.4 mi/2.2 km)

Business

  • Business center and 24/7 concierge service
  • 5,900 square feet of function space
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access

Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer Rooms

MYSTIC JUNIOR
185 sq ft. Features a double bed, limited city view and exposed brick accent wall with a large encasement window. These rooms are recessed into the hotel and offer a quiet and peaceful sleeping environment.
MYSTIC ROOM
200 sq ft. Appointed with a queen size bed, Stockton Tunnel or Union Square view with a stylish settee, efficient work surface, adjustable ambient lighting and either a classic bay window or exposed masonry wall.
MYSTIC STUDIO SUITE
300-400 square feet. With a luxuriously outfitted queen or king size bed & City views, the Crescent Suites offer celebrated San Francisco living with expanded lounge space and studio sleeper sofa. Added comforts feature a selection of wines from some of California's best small house producers, a custom bar with specially created cocktails from the City's most talented mixologists and a curated film, music & book library.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

37.7898 -122.4074
Area served
San Francisco
Nearby airports
SFO, OAK

Nearby points of interest

  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.2 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 2 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (69)

Ratings and reviews for Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
69 out of 69
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Great Lakes Traveler
Business
Michigan
Oct 27, 2011

Great location and Attentive Staff

Excellent value, comfy bed but room quite small. Although the lobby is fresh and nice, the rest could use some more light and brightness. The location is excellent--near Union Square, Embarcadero, Financial andTheater district. Simple but adequate continental breakfast. Front Desk Staff could not do enough to help me no matter what I needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you don't have a lot of luggage--take the BART train to/from the airport--just need to know the closest stop to the hotel. Fast and inexpensive.

Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EL Chitown
chicago,il
Sep 6, 2011

Great Hotel in Central Area

Hotel was clean and comfortable. Rooms were a little smaller than expected but we didn’t spend much time in the room so that didn’t matter. Very chic hotel, great for a romantic weekend away. Hotel was in a central area, close to everything. Very nice bathroom, bed, etc. Awesome hotel bar with great drinks; staff in entire hotel was attentive and pleasant. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SeanM.
Business
MA
Sep 2, 2011

San Fran Weekend

I really liked this hotel. Close to Union square and Chinatown. Its a different kind of hotel but still pretty cool. The only drawbacks would be how loud the bar can get and the shower...water ended up going all over the floor. But either way, would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FreddyP
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Aug 24, 2011

Perfect!!!!!!

Amazing, clean & very quite, centrally located to everything...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lonsdale, MN
Jul 8, 2011

This motel has character.

We went to San Francisco to attend the Twins vs. the Giants baseball games and to tour the city. The hotel was a great location. The rooms had no air conditioning; we had to ask for a fan, and hair dryer, and ice (no ice machines). The elevator was historic - one of a kind. We got more information from the hotel across the street (Hyatt) than we did from our own front desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

The hotel was close to all transportation. We could go out the door and hop on a bus. Trolleys, hop on bus were close by also.

Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Milwaukee, WI
Jun 14, 2011

Great City; Not so Great Hotel

The Crescent's location is just outside Union Square at the exit of Stockton tunnel and on the edge of China Town. We spent our days walking around the city and thoroughly enjoyed being so close to a variety of areas. The room we stayed in was not of the standard depicted in the photos on the Crescents website. Instead of redefining style, it was more liken to a girl putting makeup on for the first time than a beauty. The cabinets and shelves were cheap and it was apparent. The Kohler sink was stylish and the only stylish quality exhibited. This really wasn't a make or break aspect, just not what was advertised. Our room was only cleaned once in the four days we spent there, despite putting the "Refresh Please" sign on the door and asking the front desk. When it was finally cleaned no pillowcases were put on. Our stay was a bit marred by a late night dance party that took place at the hotels lounge. The sound was so loud until 2a.m. that the bass reverberated to the point where our bed was shaking and toiletries fell from the shelf. I went to the front desk to ask about the availability for a room upgrade and asked when the music was expected to stop. The response was that I should go and enjoy the music. My girlfriend and I would recommend searching for another hotel in the district. The are plenty of options that Crescent can be a last resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We found that the restaurants located within a block of Union Square were of significantly higher price and lower quality of those located a few blocks away. My girlfriend and I are sushi fanatics, two blocks into china town through the main gate, we found Sushi Rock. Hands down the best sushi either of us has ever had. In china town off all places. We spent around $50.

Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beezie
Boulder, CO
Jun 1, 2011

SFO Bargain

I visited the city in between visits to Santa Cruz and Oakland. I loved this little hotel. Funky, great location, nicely decorated AND reasonably priced. I have stayed in this neighborhood before and would stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

P&G Lounge and Yank Sing...

Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dublin Ireland
May 27, 2011

Brilliant, Nice..great staff

The staff were great and nice, the room was lovly the only issue is a member of staff came into my room (by mistake) at 6 am. other than this i will be back here and will let others know abouthis hotel. great bar as well

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Hotel

Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
May 2, 2011

Crescent SF Hotel

I was in San Francisco for two nights for a business trip. I got there at midnight on the first night, got to my room that was directly above the bar and the music was thumping. I went down to switch my room and the front desk was extremely accommodating; moving me to a higher floor and upgrading me for no extra charge. The continental breakfast is your typical hotel fare but was nice to have in the morning. Location was great and very convenient to shopping and public transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square shopping area is right down the street! Nieman Marcus, Macy's, Niketown, etc!

Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ricky316
Eureka,CA
Apr 30, 2011

Not-so-well experience

The thing I dislike most about this hotel is its housekeeping. My falling-off hair was left in the shower room the second night we came back to the room. They didn't get us new shower gel and shampoo. The plug in the bathroom did not work. At first I thought it was the hair dryer's problem so I left them a note saying I needed a new one. They completely ignored the note and the hair dryer was left on the ground as it was when we left. They were fixig the elevator when we checked in so we had to climbed up to sixth floor. It is a vintage elevator so it's extremely slow and the door even did not close automatically one time. The hotel stuff had to push it to close. The sound insulation was awful. I heard so much noise in the morning. However.....one good thing about this hotel is its location. Great location I have to say.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top