$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

3 stars
View map of 417 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
krismarie
Couples
valley
Nov 28, 2013

great romantic getaway

This was our first time at this hotel ,traveling as couples. we had heard good reviews around and finally decided to try it out . let's just say this location is wonderful lots of transportation buses , Bart's ,muni's. & great location to shop around walking distance. me and my girlfriend loved the colors contrasts and the room was very modern and loved the elegant decor. will be back !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
amandalives
Couples
Castro valley, california
Nov 27, 2013

If only it were a different room

All in all it was a great stay. Rooms were clean and the decor was really pretty. Staff were not perky nor bothered you but were helpful when you asked them for something. And i like that. The only problem was the room we got was at the corner next to a staircase so we seem to hear everything that goes on! And idk if they were doing some construction nearby as well. But other than that~ 4 stars!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TartanBadger
Couples
Chicago, IL
Nov 18, 2013

Good place!

Good room, good price, really good location, good service, etc. Only 2 complaints I have about this place: 1. The elavator is slower than molasses. It also seemed to be inadequate to serve the entire hotel at once. 2. The carpet was rather dirty (it was a dingy grey with several stains in it). Bed, bathroom, nightstands: no issue with cleanliness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HellaShells
Single
Houston,TX
Nov 8, 2013

ENJOYED!!!

Use to live here and was just a visitor. Stayed at Kimpton hotel prior. The breakfast was nice and overall stay nothing I could complain about. Location can't get any better. In the middle of union square. Highly reccomend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Sushi on Folsom called Live. Amazing. It's a cab ride but tottally worth!!!!

Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pandjtravel
Couples
california
Oct 21, 2013

well priced boutique hotel

central location. nice staff and great continental breakfast. it is a very nice old building, outside is loud since it is in the city, but we weren't there to sleep our day away anyways. i saw some complaints about the slow elevator--- it is old --- plan an extra minute or take the stairs! great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J Nelson
Business
Bellevue, WA
Oct 13, 2013

Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer October 2013

Generally Quite Good. Location- Very Difficult to Beat!!! Breakfast- Provided, Quite Good. Beds- Comfortable, Very Well Maintained. Room Size, Adequate, Probably Quite Generous for Downtown SF, (Unless Staying at the Marriott or Hilton for Well Over $ 450.00 per night). Live Band Playing, Very Good, Finish between 9:00 and 9:30. Primary Limitation, Downside- The Motion Sensing Bathroom Light that Detects Motion in the Bed. Rolling Over, Moving the Bedspread Tends to Turn On the Bathroom Light. Pocket Door, Unless Completely Closed, Did Not Seem to Reduce This. Unfortunately I Found Out Quite Late in My Stay that the Pocket Door Needed to be Completely Closed to Prevent This From Occurring. Until I Realized This I was getting up about every 20-30 minutes to Manually Turn off the Bathroom Light- Which Shines Directly Into the Bedroom (and directed towards the Bed). Perhaps the Front Desk Personnel could notify guests about this. Thanks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Close Enough To Telegraph Hill to Get in a Good Walk to Visit Telegraph Hill and Coit Tower. Worth the $ 7.00 Admission (for Adults), Good 360 View from the Top. And Remember to View the Frescoes / Murals on the Lower Level- Beautiful and Well Maintained from the mid 1930's. Tell a Story of California in the Drawings!

Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Annie from Sweden
Single
Sweden
Sep 9, 2013

something cool

cool hotel with best shopping location, fresh room and great bar with chilling live jazzmusic! breakfast was good. my room faced backtreet so traffic was not a problem. service was flawless - I will come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Perfect for shopping and doing the town

Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
david12345678
LA
Sep 4, 2013

step up from competitive boutiques

much more careful renovation compared to similar locations and buildings. Good continental breakfast. Parking garage next door expensive but convenient. No desk in room - strange.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FLtoAU
Couples
Orlando, FL
Aug 7, 2013

Great little boutique hotel

Let me start by saying I would stay at the Mystic again and recommend it to anyone. It was a nice little boutique hotel in Union Square. For my taste, it could have been closer to Market though. I am not sure why they have the picture they do of the lobby, it is much prettier when you walk in. The rooms are exactly as pictured. The bar is super cool and the restaurant is pretty good too. They even do a drink of the month at the bar & guests get a card to try one for free. All of the positives being said, there are a few things I think are worth mentioning. The elevator is SLOW. Not the end of the world, but next time I would stay on a lower floor and just use the stairs (we were on 7). The room is small, but if you have been to SF before, you know that is just how it is in an older building like this. The water pressure in the shower isn't terrific. it doesn't start off all that strong and can fade in and out some. Overall, I liked the hotel and would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

We learned the hard way that SF is really cold in July -do not go to SF in July. Also, the Alcatraz tour sells out a month in advance. Big disappointment for us there. The trolley had an insane line to ride the Powell St (starts at Market) so we never did that either. I heard the other line, I can't remember the name, is easier but not as cool. The bus we tried to catch was overloaded and wouldn't take us so we walked forever to get to Fisherman's Wharf. Maybe we didn't plan well, but these were our big disappointments with the city.

Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trippy Aussie
Single
Australia
Jul 3, 2013

Beautifully themed hotel

Very friendly staff, beautiful hotel & room. Wifi was extremely slow at all times, along with the elevator. Otherwise highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top