$249 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
501 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
107 reviews
Love this hotel!

Clean and comfy room. Extremely helpful/knowledgable and gracious staff. In town for one night for... See full review

  • AggieMom
  • Jun 15, 2014
Great location and staff

Brought my girlfreind here to celebrate her birthday for the weekend. Staff was extremely helpful... See full review

  • texasandy
  • Feb 11, 2014
Award-winning Californian hospitality meets classic French chic

Step into another world upon entering the upmarket elegance of the Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel. Built in 1910 and infused with charm, this Beaux Arts building boasts the Grande Cafe, a Parisian style brasserie with a Californian twist. Business and fitness centers keep the hotel thoroughly modern, as do its credentials as a Green/Sustainable Property. This winning combination of style and service has earned the Monaco San Francisco a place on the Conde Nast Traveler Gold List of the best places in the world to stay.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • A short walk to the Theater and Financial districts
  • On the Conde Nast Traveler Gold List of places to stay
  • Essence of Parisian charm in the Grande Cafe
Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Exquisite frescoes and a huge fireplace grace the main lobby of the Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel, which greets guests with an imposing painting of the Celestial Lady. Offering some of the finest luxury accommodation in San Francisco, the Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel, has a choice of 201 guest rooms, of which 35 are suites. Beautifully decorated with patterned or striped wallpaper, Chinoiserie furnishings and antique-style armoires, the sense of belonging to another, more elegant era is prevalent throughout the entire hotel. Bedrooms are equipped to an indulgent, comfortable standard, providing king beds, sofas and Jacuzzis, as well as marble bathrooms stocked with Aveda toiletries. Wireless Internet access is available in the rooms (fees apply) but also can be accessed free in the lobby. Eco-friendly products, recycling facilities and energy-efficient light bulbs are a feature of all Kimpton hotels, so expect to find these as standard. Guests attend daily wine receptions that take place in the sophisticated atmosphere of the Living Room, where the hotel hosts daily coffee mornings.

Things To Do:
  • Transamerica Redwood Park (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Financial District (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
    • Policies and Fees
      The Grand Cafe restaurant will be closed starting 30 July due to renovation that is expected to be included on 31 Oct. During this period, the hotel will offer free continental breakfast (pastries and fruits) to all guests.

      This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

      Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

      Acc Dbl/Dbl Rm Roll in Shwr
      2 Dbl Bd Accsbl Tub Comm Features Avail
      Junior Suite
      Junior Suite 380 square feet with one king bed sofa bed, iHome
      Double Double Deluxe Room
      Double Double Deluxe Room 250 square feet iHome New Bigelow Luxury Bath amenities
      Deluxe Suite
      380 square feet one king bed and sofa bed.
      Accessible Junior Suite
      380 square feet with one king bed iHome and New Bigelow Luxury bath amenities
      Queen Room
      1 Queen bed, 225 square feet
      King Deluxe Room
      250 square feet with a king bed iHome, New Bigelow Luxury bath amenities.
      Monte Carlo Suite
      525 square feet with one king bed jacuzzi and New Bigelow Luxury bath amenities.
      Mediterranean Spa Suite
      Mediterranean Spa Suite 625 square feet with one king bed sofa bed and jacuzzi
      Queen Deluxe Room
      250 square feet one queen bed iHome New Bigelow Luxury bath amenities.

      Amenities

      • WiFi
      • Airport shuttle
      General
      Air conditioned
      Pet friendly
      Elevators
      24 hour security
      Activities
      Spa
      Dining
      Continental breakfast
      Restaurant
      Meal plan - continental
      Services
      24 hour front desk
      Business center
      Maid service
      Concierge desk
      ATM/Cash machine
      Security
      Wake-up service
      In-Room Safe
      Meeting/Banquet facilities
      Porters
      Conference facilities
      Audio visual equipment
      Conference suite
      Internet
      WiFi
      Transportation
      Airport shuttle
      Parking
      Valet parking
      Accessibility
      Handicapped rooms/facilities
      Accessible facilities
      Accessible rooms
      Room
      DVD player
      Television with cable
      Radio
      Cordless phone
      Safe
      Phone with speaker
      Telephone
      AM/FM alarm clock
      Desk with lamp
      Mini bar
      Hairdryer in room
      Turndown service
      In room movies
      Temperature control
      Electronic door locks
      Iron
      Ironing board
      Sprinklers in rooms

      Recommendations for you

      Customers who viewed Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

      Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
      Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

      Hotel Map

      37.7866 -122.4118
      Nearby airports
      San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 14.00, MI, N; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 21.00, MI, N; San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 45.70, MI, NW;
      Area description
      City Center

      Nearby points of interest

      • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
      • Union Square: 0.3 mi
      • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
      • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
      • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
      • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
      • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
      • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
      • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
      • Don Soker Gallery: 0.6 mi
      • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
      • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
      • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
      • SoMa: 0.6 mi
      • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
      • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
      • Union Square: 0.3 mi
      • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
      • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
      • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
      • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
      • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
      • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
      • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
      • Don Soker Gallery: 0.6 mi
      • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
      • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
      • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
      • SoMa: 0.6 mi
      • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
      • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
      • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
      • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
      • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.8 mi
      • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
      • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
      • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
      • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
      • Lafayette Park: 0.9 mi
      • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.9 mi
      • Japantown: 1 mi
      • Japan Center: 1 mi
      • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
      • Ferry Building: 1.2 mi
      • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
      • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
      • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
      • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
      • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.5 mi
      • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
      • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
      • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.5 mi
      • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
      • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
      • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
      • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
      • Musee Mecanique: 1.6 mi
      • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
      • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
      • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi

      Hotel Policies

      Check-in:
      03:00 PM
      Check-out:
      12:00 PM

      Terms and conditions

      Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

      The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

      Back to menu Return to top

      Guest Reviews (107)

      Ratings and reviews for Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

      Overall score

      4.3 / 5
      5.01.0
      67 out of 107
      Amenities:
      4.3
      Room cleanliness:
      4.8
      Hotel staff:
      4.6
      Room comfort:
      4.4
      Location:
      4.5
      Value:
      4.1

      99% would recommend to a friend.

      Sort by:
      Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

      Reviewer score

      2
      5.01.0
      traveling foodie 1
      Houston
      Nov 27, 2013

      Do not recommend

      Disappointed by the concierge. We wanted to go to Gary Danko for our anniversary dinner. We we discouraged to go because we were told there was a ten month waiting list. So we decided to go somewhere else. When we got back to the hotel after our dinner, another couple was talking to the concierge about how great her recommendation was to go to Gary Danko for dinner that night. Just blew my mind why she would recommend a restaurant to someone else and not to us..... I would not recommend this place. The best service we received were from the door men they were prompt and respectful. As far as location, you cannot walk and explore the surrounding area especially at night to the west or south of the hotel. Very dangerous. Local phone call is not free in the hotel. They will charge you.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      3
      Room cleanliness:
      4
      Hotel staff:
      1
      Room comfort:
      4
      Location:
      2
      Value:
      3
      Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

      Reviewer score

      3
      5.01.0
      Anonymous
      Merced, CA
      Jun 18, 2011

      Hotel Monaco

      The queen sized bed mattress was soft, but my husband and I rolled into each other in the middle because the mattress was worn out there. The wine hour from 5-6 was great! Free wine before heading out for dinner. Valet parking at the hotel was great! We ate at the Grand Cafe next door. It was expensive, but well worth it.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      4
      Room comfort:
      3
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      4
      Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

      Visit John O'Malley's for great bangers and mash!

      Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

      Reviewer score

      3
      5.01.0
      O'datsdatdude
      Fremont,CA
      Oct 31, 2010

      Nice Venue but unorganized staff.

      It seems to be a common theme amongst Kimpton Hotels, Nice Venues and ambiance but very untrained and unorganized staff. I have stayed at Hotel Solamar in San Diego and Hotel Monaco in San Francisco....and both places my girlfriend and i agreed are very unorganized....at one point i asked the valet guy if this was his 1st time parking a car. They seemed to not know what the process was...he asked me for a ticket when i was standing there with my keys for him to write me a ticket. When we checked in the front desk guy said it would probably be faster for us to take our bags up rather than call a bellman?!?!

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      5
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      2
      Room comfort:
      5
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      4
      Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

      Reviewer score

      3
      5.01.0
      Anonymous
      Merced, CA
      Jun 18, 2011

      Hotel Monaco

      The queen sized bed mattress was soft, but my husband and I rolled into each other in the middle because the mattress was worn out there. The wine hour from 5-6 was great! Free wine before heading out for dinner. Valet parking at the hotel was great! We ate at the Grand Cafe next door. It was expensive, but well worth it.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      4
      Room comfort:
      3
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      4
      Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

      Visit John O'Malley's for great bangers and mash!

      Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

      Reviewer score

      3
      5.01.0
      O'datsdatdude
      Fremont,CA
      Oct 31, 2010

      Nice Venue but unorganized staff.

      It seems to be a common theme amongst Kimpton Hotels, Nice Venues and ambiance but very untrained and unorganized staff. I have stayed at Hotel Solamar in San Diego and Hotel Monaco in San Francisco....and both places my girlfriend and i agreed are very unorganized....at one point i asked the valet guy if this was his 1st time parking a car. They seemed to not know what the process was...he asked me for a ticket when i was standing there with my keys for him to write me a ticket. When we checked in the front desk guy said it would probably be faster for us to take our bags up rather than call a bellman?!?!

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      5
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      2
      Room comfort:
      5
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      4
      Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

      Reviewer score

      3
      5.01.0
      Jenn was there
      Greenville, SC
      Jul 5, 2014

      Worked for is

      We thought the hotel was ok and they had free wine in the evenings. If I went back I would stay closer to the piers where things are newer.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      3
      Room cleanliness:
      3
      Hotel staff:
      4
      Room comfort:
      3
      Location:
      3
      Value:
      2
      Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

      Reviewer score

      4
      5.01.0
      no nicknames, please
      Los Gatos CA
      Sep 1, 2009

      great! upgraded us as well

      because of the savings from your site, we booked a suite. Since we booked a suite,we got upgraded. Wouldn't have happened if we had just gone through the hotel site.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      5
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Room comfort:
      4
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      4
      Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

      Reviewer score

      4
      5.01.0
      Anonymous
      Columbia, MO
      May 8, 2009

      Very nice stay

      We had a very enjoyable stay. All of the staff were very helpful and friendly. The service was more personal than in many larger hotels where I have stayed. When we checked in, the lady at the front desk asked what brought us to San Francisco. We are a gay couple, and told her that we were celebrating our anniversary. She congratulated us, and made us feel completely welcome. We really appreciated that. The room was a little smaller than I expected, but nicely decorated, very clean, and comfortable. We had an interior room, with the window facing an air shaft. No view, but there was no street noise, so it was quiet, which is important to us. The location just two blocks from Union Square is very convenient if you want to stay in the shopping, theater, and convention districts.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Room comfort:
      4
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      4
      Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

      Reviewer score

      4
      5.01.0
      Yombe
      Dallas, TX
      May 3, 2011

      Friendly staff, clean & comfortable room

      Good location within easy walking distance to Union Square, Chinatown. Free coffee bar in AM & free wine reception in PM, with fun appearances by the resident-canines, Lucy (a calm black pug) and Oliver (a stately Golden Retriever), along with free chair massages! NY Times, San Francisco Chronicle, and The Wall Street Journal for the taking. Don't miss brunch at Cavallo Point (Sausalito), dinner at Foreign Cinema (outside @ old b&w movies playing), the de Young Museum, the Asian Art Museum, SF MOMA, Chinatown, Lombard Street, the Ferry Building, the Painted Lady houses, and, of course, the trolley.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Room cleanliness:
      4
      Hotel staff:
      4
      Room comfort:
      4
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      4
      Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

      Xanadu Gallery on Maiden Lane near Union Square. A fabulous ethnographic art gallery (African, Pre-Columbian, Eastern Indian, etc.) housed in a fabulous Frank Lloyd Wright building. Extensive collections of textiles, jewelry, sculpture, and books with knowledgeable staff.

      Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

      Reviewer score

      4
      5.01.0
      DocJuris
      Lauderdale by the Sea FL
      May 19, 2010

      Great location in theater district

      We stayed in Jacuzzi suite. Bathroom very large with glass shower. Very quiet. Comfortable bed. Nice robes. Living room sitting area off downstairs lobby inviting to place to have a drink, work, converse or just watch the interesting people go by on Geary. Really appreciated the complimentary newpapers WSJ NYT and USA.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Room comfort:
      5
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      4
      Back to menu Return to top