$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 501 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

99% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Working windsurfer
Business
San Francisco
Dec 15, 2010

morning coffee by the fireplace

The hotel was traditional and charming - right downtown near lots of small shops and, my favorite, a neighborhood diner. The New York Times, the San Francisco Chronicle and the Wall Street Journal were on the table by the complimentary morning coffee in a very comfortable lounge -- very pleasant start to the morning. I took a cup of fresh coffee down the street to the classic breakfast diner (cash only with a friendly waitress) for a great start to a hard-working day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

very charming local diner right down the street

Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lubbock, TX
Nov 9, 2010

Nice atmosphere

Great location for shopping and dining. If you aren't up for walking to attractions there are several other transportation options close by. The restaurants within walking distance were good (Fino especially)! The room was comfy but on the small side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Ride bikes across the Golden Gate Bridge to Sausalito! Great experience!

Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anthony Lambert
Business
New York City
Oct 1, 2009

Monaco - San Francisco

Choose hotel for location, design and dining rooms. Was pleased on most accounts but found the housekeeping of design elements--beds, sofas, tables off center from mirrors and pictures in rooms and lobbies--very disconcerting to an interior designer (me). Need a designer to go through and freshen up the placement of furniture and design elements--cleaning staff and guests are pushing furniture and lighting around and upsetting the design balance the hotel has tried to hard to achieve. Dining rooms were appreciated and one of the reasons we chose The Monaco. Wait staff was very good but food quality was quite mediocre.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Haven, CT
May 7, 2008

Somewhat eclectic with personality

This hotel would be well located and that the rooms would be small. This proved to be true - but the hotel is well placed - staff are very helpful and this was a welcome change to the impersonal chains. Monarch Maverick Director of Pet Relations is a lovely chocolate lab who wears a brown robe and greets pets (and other guests) in the lobby with a worldly yawn - since the theme of the hotel is to be international and cosmopolitan. The Grand Cafe is a wonderful restaurant which we enjoyed so much that we ate three meals there during a 2 day stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very well located for shopping and theater

Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tucson, AZ
May 11, 2010

SF Hotel

Wonderful staff and loved the am coffee and pm wine. Allowed us to share ideas and conversation with other guests and made the stay much more pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at the La Coloniale restaurant that was recommended to us...fabulous food and ambiance!!!

Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gail and Frank
Business
Merrick, NY
Nov 15, 2010

Beautiful Hotel - tiny little space.

A typical Kimpton Hotel - elegant and well managed, but maybe too hip for its own good. Easy check in/check out, but I didn't feel anyone had a handle on the city - from getting a cab to giving proper directions. Use Google and you'll get everywhere. Front desk seemed to handle the job of concierge - not a great idea. The room was as small as any I have ever stayed in, but I have to say, it was beautiful, functional and quiet - the most important. Don't look for a clock to shine in the middle of the night - the light does not work on the ipod friendly clockradio. Bathroom was perfect, from "real" blowdryer to Aveda shampoo/soap. Location could be better - not near to wharf - close to Union Square. Overall, I loved the privacy, quiet well appointed room and know that I could've purchased a larger room - just didn't know how small 234 sq ft was. Lastly, no one tells you how wonderful the restaurant is in the hotel - very impressed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fun-filled person with lots of interests
Business
Menlo Park, CA
Mar 5, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

The hotel room was small but the overall ambience of the hotel facility was wonderful. The location was in the theater district and Union Square which made it very enjoyable and easy walking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

For women take proper shoes for walking up and down hills. San Francisco is known for hills. Better to walk to destination if you can as parking can be expensive.

Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yombe
Business
Dallas, TX
May 3, 2011

Friendly staff, clean & comfortable room

Good location within easy walking distance to Union Square, Chinatown. Free coffee bar in AM & free wine reception in PM, with fun appearances by the resident-canines, Lucy (a calm black pug) and Oliver (a stately Golden Retriever), along with free chair massages! NY Times, San Francisco Chronicle, and The Wall Street Journal for the taking. Don't miss brunch at Cavallo Point (Sausalito), dinner at Foreign Cinema (outside @ old b&w movies playing), the de Young Museum, the Asian Art Museum, SF MOMA, Chinatown, Lombard Street, the Ferry Building, the Painted Lady houses, and, of course, the trolley.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Xanadu Gallery on Maiden Lane near Union Square. A fabulous ethnographic art gallery (African, Pre-Columbian, Eastern Indian, etc.) housed in a fabulous Frank Lloyd Wright building. Extensive collections of textiles, jewelry, sculpture, and books with knowledgeable staff.

Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia, MO
May 8, 2009

Very nice stay

We had a very enjoyable stay. All of the staff were very helpful and friendly. The service was more personal than in many larger hotels where I have stayed. When we checked in, the lady at the front desk asked what brought us to San Francisco. We are a gay couple, and told her that we were celebrating our anniversary. She congratulated us, and made us feel completely welcome. We really appreciated that. The room was a little smaller than I expected, but nicely decorated, very clean, and comfortable. We had an interior room, with the window facing an air shaft. No view, but there was no street noise, so it was quiet, which is important to us. The location just two blocks from Union Square is very convenient if you want to stay in the shopping, theater, and convention districts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pinky Malone
Business
Michigan
Jul 14, 2014

Very nice accommodations and location

Excellent! Good service. Helpful guest services. Overnight parking is expensive at $52 a night. No complimentary continental breakfast, only coffee and tea.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

In middle of theater district. Walk to best shopping venues in San Francisco only a few blocks away. Walk to Chinatown, about five blocks. Surrounded by food and entertainment options.

Back to menu Return to top