$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 501 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
72 reviews
Great honeymoon

Very nice hotel, staff was very nice and helpful. Room was great and overall liked and satisfied. I... See full review

  • Marelita M.
  • Jan 21, 2015
Would definitely stay again

The Monaco was a friend's recommendation, and we had a great stay! The staff was extremely friendly... See full review

  • Tara
  • Jan 5, 2015

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Acc Dbl/Dbl Rm Roll in Shwr
2 Dbl Bd Accsbl Tub Comm Features Avail
Junior Suite
Junior Suite 380 square feet with one king bed sofa bed, iHome
Double Double Deluxe Room
Double Double Deluxe Room 250 square feet iHome New Bigelow Luxury Bath amenities
Deluxe Suite
380 square feet one king bed and sofa bed.
Accessible Junior Suite
380 square feet with one king bed iHome and New Bigelow Luxury bath amenities
Queen Room
1 Queen bed, 225 square feet
King Deluxe Room
250 square feet with a king bed iHome, New Bigelow Luxury bath amenities.
Monte Carlo Suite
525 square feet with one king bed jacuzzi and New Bigelow Luxury bath amenities.
Mediterranean Spa Suite
Mediterranean Spa Suite 625 square feet with one king bed sofa bed and jacuzzi
Queen Deluxe Room
250 square feet one queen bed iHome New Bigelow Luxury bath amenities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.9 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

99% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Peach007
Business
PA
Jan 7, 2014

It's just to my heart's desires

It's beautiful, comfortable and safety. It's near Chinatown, cable car station, union square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
texasandy
Business
Houston
Feb 11, 2014

Great location and staff

Brought my girlfreind here to celebrate her birthday for the weekend. Staff was extremely helpful and courteous, concierge made extra effort providing champagne, chocolate and a greeting card on our arrival. Hotel is right in the middle of it all and convenient walking distance to most of downtown. Would definitely reccommend or stay again here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

honey honey up taylor has a great quick breakfast.

Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Sep 22, 2007

Old time charm Perfect location

The Monaco prides itself on customer service and it shows. The entire staff was very friendly and couldn't do enough for you. From finding phone numbers to booking tours and arranging transfers, just ask and it will happen. The room was uniqely decorated; plush and comfortable. The poster bed was dressed up like a tent in royal colors and was very inviting. We enjoyed returning to the room in the evening. The hotel is located just two blocks from the trolley and was right in the middle of everything. The spa in the basement is also a very pleasant surprise. Be sure to get a massage while you are there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk two blocks downhill to Powell St and catch the Hyde Park trolley down to Fisherman's Warf. Very touristy but definitely fun and worth the trip. Go to the end of Pier 39 and have a great seafood lunh while watching the sea lions or looking out over the bay and Alcatraz. Pick up some souvenirs on the way back. Don't forget your camera.

Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
cincinnati
Jun 1, 2009

great sf treat

great staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Dec 19, 2009

Great staff great location

room was small but perfect with canopy bed, great toiletries. Afternoon wine reception featured interesting wines in the living room, with Wii and fireplace. Staff were attentive,not intrusive, and very helpful, will definitely return to this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FooFighter38
Business
Denver, CO
Jul 31, 2011

Great Hotel in Union Square

We visited all the major landmarks in San Francisco. Hotel Monaco is a great location in Union Square. Easy to walk to Market street and to where the Cable Car line starts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Market street and to Powell street. Quick access to the Cable Cars, F-line transit, BART, and the other Muni City buses.

Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Oct 13, 2010

Its all about the service

I am in the industry so tend to scrutinize all facets of my stay. The staff were always attentive and never distracted. Service overall was of a high standard. I had a suite, which (for city standards) was roomy enough. Room cleanliness was very good. Street noise was bearable. Windows are double-glazed. Beds very comfortable. Linens were of good quality. Gym was OK. Had the basics. I will stay there again the next time I am in SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Try to get to: * Cafe Zuni for their impeccable Caesar Salad, near perfect burger, and great oyster selection. * Slanted door, for best modern Vietnamese cooking I have ever had (steamed pork and dried shrimp dumplings were the highlight. Also try the Drakes Bay oysters they serve.....perfect).

Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Miles C.
Business
San Diego, CA
Jan 31, 2010

Hotel Monaco, San Francisco Review

A great hotel; superb service, great accomodations, friendly staff, Grand Cafe has wonderful food, and they really go out of their way to make you feel welcome. We'll return!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wannabeworld traveler
Business
williamsburg, va
Jan 28, 2010

lovely hotel, great city

we stay at the monaco whenever we can when we're in SF, it's always a pleasure: gracious staff, delightful decor and pleasant bar

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Scala's Bistro for the frito misto,the Rotunda for the poke and the view

Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Susan B-K
Business
Chicago
Dec 9, 2009

Hooked on the Monaco!

We got off to a great start at the Monaco, arriving after 10pm and starved. The bellhop, [...], pointed us in the direction of his favorite Thai restaurant and boy did that hit the spot! The service never waned after that. While our room was small and was supposedly an upgrade, we loved the location, the staff, and the fun decor of the Monaco. On our last day we enjoyed the afternoon hot chocolate served in the lounge off the lobby. My only complaint was that the room was advertised as including L'Occitane shampoo, conditioner, and lotion. I was really looking forward to that and saw it as as small luxury--one that would make this vacation away from our three kids even more relaxing. So I was a little disappointed to find Aveda products. So much for my DIY French spa. But that was the only issue I had with the hotel. I would stay here again and seek out other Kimpton hotels for future trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel's restaurant was divine and the type of place that people would seek out even if they're not staying at the hotel. The Grand Cafe is fine dining at its best. You can't beat the decor or the service. We had brunch here on our last day but wish we had passed up the greasy Greek diner on our first morning and had chosen the Grand Cafe instead.

Back to menu Return to top