$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 1, 2015 Check-out: Feb 2, 2015

Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
501 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
68 reviews
Great honeymoon

Very nice hotel, staff was very nice and helpful. Room was great and overall liked and satisfied. I... See full review

  • Marelita M.
  • Jan 21, 2015
Would definitely stay again

The Monaco was a friend's recommendation, and we had a great stay! The staff was extremely friendly... See full review

  • Tara
  • Jan 5, 2015
Award-winning Californian hospitality meets classic French chic

Step into another world upon entering the upmarket elegance of the Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel. This Beaux Arts building was built in 1910 and infused with charm Business and fitness centers keep the hotel thoroughly modern, as do its credentials as a Green/Sustainable Property. This winning combination of style and service has earned the Monaco San Francisco a place on the Conde Nast Traveler Gold List of the best places in the world to stay.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • A short walk to the Theater and Financial districts
  • On the Conde Nast Traveler Gold List of places to stay
  • Business and fitness centers 
Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Exquisite frescoes and a huge fireplace grace the main lobby of the Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel, which greets guests with an imposing painting of the Celestial Lady. Offering some of the finest luxury accommodation in San Francisco, the Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel, has a choice of 201 guest rooms, of which 35 are suites. Beautifully decorated with patterned or striped wallpaper, Chinoiserie furnishings and antique-style armoires, the sense of belonging to another, more elegant era is prevalent throughout the entire hotel. Bedrooms are equipped to an indulgent, comfortable standard, providing king beds, sofas and Jacuzzis, as well as marble bathrooms stocked with Aveda toiletries. Wireless Internet access is available in the rooms (fees apply) but also can be accessed free in the lobby. Eco-friendly products, recycling facilities and energy-efficient light bulbs are a feature of all Kimpton hotels, so expect to find these as standard. Guests attend daily wine receptions that take place in the sophisticated atmosphere of the Living Room, where the hotel hosts daily coffee mornings.

Things To Do:
  • Transamerica Redwood Park (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Financial District (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
    • Policies and Fees
      The Grande Cafe restaurant will be closed starting 30 July due to renovation that is expected to be included on 31 Oct 2014. During this period, the hotel will offer free continental breakfast (pastries and fruits) to all guests.

      This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

      Recommendations for you

      Customers who viewed Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

      Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
      Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

      Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

      Acc Dbl/Dbl Rm Roll in Shwr
      2 Dbl Bd Accsbl Tub Comm Features Avail
      Junior Suite
      Junior Suite 380 square feet with one king bed sofa bed, iHome
      Double Double Deluxe Room
      Double Double Deluxe Room 250 square feet iHome New Bigelow Luxury Bath amenities
      Deluxe Suite
      380 square feet one king bed and sofa bed.
      Accessible Junior Suite
      380 square feet with one king bed iHome and New Bigelow Luxury bath amenities
      Queen Room
      1 Queen bed, 225 square feet
      King Deluxe Room
      250 square feet with a king bed iHome, New Bigelow Luxury bath amenities.
      Monte Carlo Suite
      525 square feet with one king bed jacuzzi and New Bigelow Luxury bath amenities.
      Mediterranean Spa Suite
      Mediterranean Spa Suite 625 square feet with one king bed sofa bed and jacuzzi
      Queen Deluxe Room
      250 square feet one queen bed iHome New Bigelow Luxury bath amenities.

      Amenities

      • WiFi
      • Airport shuttle
      General
      Air conditioned
      Pet friendly
      Elevators
      24 hour security
      Dining
      Continental breakfast
      Restaurant
      Meal plan - continental
      Services
      24 hour front desk
      Business center
      Maid service
      Concierge desk
      ATM/Cash machine
      Security
      Wake-up service
      In-Room Safe
      Meeting/Banquet facilities
      Porters
      Conference facilities
      Audio visual equipment
      Conference suite
      Internet
      WiFi
      Transportation
      Airport shuttle
      Parking
      Valet parking
      Accessibility
      Handicapped rooms/facilities
      Accessible facilities
      Accessible rooms
      Room
      DVD player
      Television with cable
      Radio
      Cordless phone
      Safe
      Phone with speaker
      Telephone
      AM/FM alarm clock
      Desk with lamp
      Mini bar
      Hairdryer in room
      Turndown service
      In room movies
      Temperature control
      Electronic door locks
      Iron
      Ironing board
      Sprinklers in rooms

      Nearby points of interest

      • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
      • Union Square: 0.3 mi
      • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
      • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
      • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
      • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
      • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
      • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
      • Don Soker Gallery: 0.6 mi
      • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
      • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
      • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
      • SoMa: 0.6 mi
      • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
      • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
      • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
      • Union Square: 0.3 mi
      • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
      • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
      • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
      • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
      • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
      • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
      • Don Soker Gallery: 0.6 mi
      • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
      • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
      • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
      • SoMa: 0.6 mi
      • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
      • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
      • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
      • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
      • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.8 mi
      • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
      • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
      • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
      • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
      • Lafayette Park: 0.9 mi
      • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.9 mi
      • Japantown: 1 mi
      • Japan Center: 1 mi
      • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
      • Ferry Building: 1.2 mi
      • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
      • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
      • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
      • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
      • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.5 mi
      • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
      • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
      • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.5 mi
      • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
      • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
      • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
      • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
      • Musee Mecanique: 1.6 mi
      • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
      • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
      • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi
      • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.9 mi

      Hotel Policies

      Check-in:
      03:00 PM
      Check-out:
      12:00 PM

      Terms and conditions

      Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

      The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

      Back to menu Return to top

      Guest Reviews (68)

      Ratings and reviews for Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

      Overall score

      4.3 / 5
      5.01.0
      68 out of 68
      Amenities:
      4.2
      Cleanliness:
      4.7
      Hotel staff:
      4.6
      Comfort:
      4.4
      Location:
      4.5
      Value:
      4.1

      99% would recommend to a friend.

      Sort by:
      Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

      Reviewer score

      5
      5.01.0
      FooFighter38
      Denver, CO
      Jul 31, 2011

      Great Hotel in Union Square

      We visited all the major landmarks in San Francisco. Hotel Monaco is a great location in Union Square. Easy to walk to Market street and to where the Cable Car line starts.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      5
      Cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Comfort:
      5
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      5
      Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

      Short walk to Market street and to Powell street. Quick access to the Cable Cars, F-line transit, BART, and the other Muni City buses.

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

      Reviewer score

      4
      5.01.0
      Gail and Frank
      Business
      Merrick, NY
      Nov 15, 2010

      Beautiful Hotel - tiny little space.

      A typical Kimpton Hotel - elegant and well managed, but maybe too hip for its own good. Easy check in/check out, but I didn't feel anyone had a handle on the city - from getting a cab to giving proper directions. Use Google and you'll get everywhere. Front desk seemed to handle the job of concierge - not a great idea. The room was as small as any I have ever stayed in, but I have to say, it was beautiful, functional and quiet - the most important. Don't look for a clock to shine in the middle of the night - the light does not work on the ipod friendly clockradio. Bathroom was perfect, from "real" blowdryer to Aveda shampoo/soap. Location could be better - not near to wharf - close to Union Square. Overall, I loved the privacy, quiet well appointed room and know that I could've purchased a larger room - just didn't know how small 234 sq ft was. Lastly, no one tells you how wonderful the restaurant is in the hotel - very impressed!

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      5
      Cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      3
      Comfort:
      4
      Location:
      3
      Value:
      4
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

      Reviewer score

      4
      5.01.0
      Anonymous
      Business
      Lubbock, TX
      Nov 9, 2010

      Nice atmosphere

      Great location for shopping and dining. If you aren't up for walking to attractions there are several other transportation options close by. The restaurants within walking distance were good (Fino especially)! The room was comfy but on the small side.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      4
      Comfort:
      4
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      2
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

      Ride bikes across the Golden Gate Bridge to Sausalito! Great experience!

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

      Reviewer score

      3
      5.01.0
      O'datsdatdude
      Business
      Fremont,CA
      Oct 31, 2010

      Nice Venue but unorganized staff.

      It seems to be a common theme amongst Kimpton Hotels, Nice Venues and ambiance but very untrained and unorganized staff. I have stayed at Hotel Solamar in San Diego and Hotel Monaco in San Francisco....and both places my girlfriend and i agreed are very unorganized....at one point i asked the valet guy if this was his 1st time parking a car. They seemed to not know what the process was...he asked me for a ticket when i was standing there with my keys for him to write me a ticket. When we checked in the front desk guy said it would probably be faster for us to take our bags up rather than call a bellman?!?!

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      5
      Cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      2
      Comfort:
      5
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      4
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

      Reviewer score

      5
      5.01.0
      Anonymous
      Business
      Fort Lauderdale, FL
      Oct 13, 2010

      Its all about the service

      I am in the industry so tend to scrutinize all facets of my stay. The staff were always attentive and never distracted. Service overall was of a high standard. I had a suite, which (for city standards) was roomy enough. Room cleanliness was very good. Street noise was bearable. Windows are double-glazed. Beds very comfortable. Linens were of good quality. Gym was OK. Had the basics. I will stay there again the next time I am in SF.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Cleanliness:
      4
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Comfort:
      5
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      4
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Dining tip: Not Applicable

      Try to get to: * Cafe Zuni for their impeccable Caesar Salad, near perfect burger, and great oyster selection. * Slanted door, for best modern Vietnamese cooking I have ever had (steamed pork and dried shrimp dumplings were the highlight. Also try the Drakes Bay oysters they serve.....perfect).

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

      Reviewer score

      3
      5.01.0
      Anonymous
      Business
      Portland OR
      Oct 5, 2010

      I love the Monaco but...

      I love the Monaco, I really do. It's small and quiet and comfortable. As a Kimpton InTouch member I get little perks, which are great. My only complaint this stay was that after getting in after a late flight I ordered a turkey burger and a tomato salad. When the food arrived the server had forgotten ketchup. No big deal, he ran down and got some. When I finally sat down to eat the bun was stale and there was no dressing on the salad, just dry lettuce that I ended up eating with ketchup, yikes. Just the burger, dry lettuce and some tomatoes cost me over $50. Pretty sad. I'll come back but no room service for me.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Comfort:
      5
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      3
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

      Go get your own food.

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

      Reviewer score

      3
      5.01.0
      Lilacroller
      Business
      Los Altos Hills CA
      May 31, 2010

      Mother daughter getaway

      They checked us in to a room that was smaller than we booked with a queen bed instead of a king and we had to be moved. Other than that, it was pretty good, but not great. Parking was $49 a night which was a disappointing suprise!

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      3
      Cleanliness:
      4
      Hotel staff:
      4
      Comfort:
      3
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      3
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

      Ryoko's for Japanese food was great and a 2 minute walk!

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

      Reviewer score

      4
      5.01.0
      DocJuris
      Business
      Lauderdale by the Sea FL
      May 19, 2010

      Great location in theater district

      We stayed in Jacuzzi suite. Bathroom very large with glass shower. Very quiet. Comfortable bed. Nice robes. Living room sitting area off downstairs lobby inviting to place to have a drink, work, converse or just watch the interesting people go by on Geary. Really appreciated the complimentary newpapers WSJ NYT and USA.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Comfort:
      5
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      4
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

      Reviewer score

      4
      5.01.0
      Anonymous
      Business
      Tucson, AZ
      May 11, 2010

      SF Hotel

      Wonderful staff and loved the am coffee and pm wine. Allowed us to share ideas and conversation with other guests and made the stay much more pleasant.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      5
      Cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Comfort:
      5
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      4
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

      Eat at the La Coloniale restaurant that was recommended to us...fabulous food and ambiance!!!

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

      Reviewer score

      5
      5.01.0
      Anonymous
      Business
      Burlingame, CA.
      Apr 3, 2010

      Perfect Zen

      We loved being greeted by the labador in a tie at the front desk. After taking in the lovely art while enjoying a comp. glass of vino, we enjoyed the health club. The rooms couldn't have been more romantic with the animal robes. We enjoyed an amazing breakfast crepe at the Grand cafe connected to the hotel. The dancing was all with in a block and lots of great shopping too. Walgreen's in right outside the hotel and parking is available.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      5
      Cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Comfort:
      5
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      4
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

      Parking is less expensive around the corner on Taylor.

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

      Reviewer score

      4
      5.01.0
      Anonymous
      Business
      chicago
      Mar 31, 2010

      Great downtown hotel

      excellent

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      5
      Cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Comfort:
      4
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      4
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Back to menu Return to top