$151 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 501 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
69 out of 69
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

99% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CA
Apr 22, 2009

Cool

Most helpful staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pendew
Business
Rolling Hills Estates, Ca
Feb 28, 2010

Alice In Wonderland Hotel really fun!

Great Staff although room service was slow also parking was very very expensive, overall a beautiful and interesting hotel. Very Pet friendly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Excellent in Hotel Dining called the Grand Cafe

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jdejen
Business
las vegas, nv
Feb 8, 2010

great location and price.

Excellent service and location. Room was very tiny, but can be expected in the city at that location. For the price, this hotel could not be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado
Oct 5, 2009

Hotel Monaco is great!

The hotel was great. Our room was decorated nicely, clean and the bed was very comfortable. The hotel staff was extremely nice and willing to help with any questions about the city. The breakfast at the grand cafe was excellent too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chetlongdaddy
Business
San Diego, CA
Jul 6, 2011

4th of July in SF

Hotel was beautiful, artfully restored older building. Standard rooms are very small, we upgraded to a junior suite after our 1st two nights for only $30/night! Staff was great, very friendly and accomodating. Had dinner in their restaurant, The Grand Cafe. Felt it was overpriced for the quality of the food. Very beautiful decor though. Hotel is in the middle of the very busy Union Square district. Parking is very difficult and expensive. We were lucky to find a garage for $25/night. Took a day trip to Napa. It was awesome! Very central and close to all the touristy stuff. Pier 39, Ghiradelli Square, Golden Gate Bride, Alcatraz. My favorite thing was seeing our San Diego Padres beat the Giants at AT&T Park. You have to see a ballgame there! Park is about 1.5 mile walk from the hotel. I recommend this hotel, but make sure you get a junior suite, or else you will feel cramped.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Katana-Ya Japanese restaurant 1/2 block away. Tiny place, but amazing sushi and Gyoza.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
e-girl
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Dec 28, 2009

Clean, courteous, cute character

As we all know, first impressions are key. We got dropped off by the folks and the Valet went out of his way to make us feel welcomed; even helping us look for cheaper parking. His attentive service was genuine. At first glance, the hotel's atmosphere was a mix of 1920's flapper and couture decadence. We loved that they had complementary hot chocolate in the lobby next to a roaring fire from 2-4p and a free wine reception later that evening. The room we had was small but, chic and super clean; which was a welcome retreat from the grimy SF streets. Comfy, clean bed, great ammenities in the bathroom (make-up mirror, hair dryer, etc). Loved the Aveda toiletries. I'm just bummed that our room didn't have a mini-fridge. The restaurant downstairs, The Grand, although having tasty food, service lacked finese and basic courtesies that I would have expected from all the touted accolades. Besides that, we would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 12, 2009

Good hotel

A great base to use for sightseeing. Very close to the start of 2 cable car lines and other sources of public transportation. Rooms are small but nice and clean and well stocked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel Far
Business
San Diego, Ca
Dec 30, 2009

Cool place to stay near Union Square

Good size rooms with unique decoration and furnishing style. NIce touches were the bathrobes and slippers. A friendly staff was great. The cafe located on the property was very nice place for breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

All the Union Square shops are just a few minutes away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Aug 30, 2009

A Wonderful Find

I have tried many of the small hotels in the area and I thought this one was the best. The room was attractive and clean and everyone was very nice and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The location allows you to go into the heart of downtown and enjoy all the beautiful shops and restaurants. It is also in the right area to go west to get to other parts of the city and Bay Area without encountering the heavy traffic of downtown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit
Jun 8, 2011

Good

Very good trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Good

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top