$249 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 4, 2015 Check-out: Jun 6, 2015

Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 501 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

99% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RonLee
Business
Aurora, CO, USA
May 1, 2012

Small but well done

room was small but well appointed and comfortable. Design is way cool

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
airborne
Business
Sydney, NSW, Australia
Dec 7, 2011

Grear hotel for international professional travellers.

This well located hotel in down town San Francisco offers friendly, highly quality, professional service that international travellers appreciate. The rooms are tastefully furnished with an individual touch that makes it distinctively San Francisco. Very good internet service, essentail for the international traveller. The French American restaurant adjoining the hotel is to die for. Best of all is the large reception room off the lobby where guests can enjoy coffee and read the newspapers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Dining in the Restaurant is a wonderful introduction to San Fancisco's distinctive cuisine and service.

Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Merkel
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Sep 28, 2011

Hotel Monaco - Great Place to Stay

We have stayed at the Hotel Monaco several times. Each visit has been great - service, location, accommodations, food all are excellent. We have seen many of the room types, and prefer the larger suite with the huge bath. The smaller rooms are decorated in a more interesting fashion, however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the small diner 1/2 block from the hotel on Geary - great food and great prices.

Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel Over 50
Business
Dallas, TX
Aug 9, 2011

Great Trip

The staff was incredibly friendly and always asked us about our day in the city. I had read that the rooms were small but decided against the suite. The room was small for 2 adults and 2 adult children but it was clean and interestingly decorated and we spent very little time in there anyways. The location is great, close to public transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

There is so much to explore in San Francisco. Buy a good travel book and plan out your days. See what type of transportation you may need and where to catch the BART, trolley cars, and buses. We did not use a rent car or a taxi all week!

Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel Over 50
Business
Dallas, TX
Aug 9, 2011

Great Trip

The staff was incredibly friendly and always asked us about our day in the city. I had read that the rooms were small but decided against the suite. The room was small for 2 adults and 2 adult children but it was clean and interestingly decorated and we spent very little time in there anyways. The location is great, close to public transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

There is so much to explore in San Francisco. Buy a good travel book and plan out your days. See what type of transportation you may need and where to catch the BART, trolley cars, and buses. We did not use a rent car or a taxi all week!

Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FooFighter38
Business
Denver, CO
Jul 31, 2011

Great Hotel in Union Square

We visited all the major landmarks in San Francisco. Hotel Monaco is a great location in Union Square. Easy to walk to Market street and to where the Cable Car line starts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Market street and to Powell street. Quick access to the Cable Cars, F-line transit, BART, and the other Muni City buses.

Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mexico City, Mexico
Jul 7, 2011

Very good location for the price

Hotel was very well located. The bed was very comfortable. Towells and amenities...excellent. At this hotel, there were some areas to have a glass of wine, or coffee. Very NICE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several restaurants of any kind of good food were arround this hotel

Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chetlongdaddy
Business
San Diego, CA
Jul 6, 2011

4th of July in SF

Hotel was beautiful, artfully restored older building. Standard rooms are very small, we upgraded to a junior suite after our 1st two nights for only $30/night! Staff was great, very friendly and accomodating. Had dinner in their restaurant, The Grand Cafe. Felt it was overpriced for the quality of the food. Very beautiful decor though. Hotel is in the middle of the very busy Union Square district. Parking is very difficult and expensive. We were lucky to find a garage for $25/night. Took a day trip to Napa. It was awesome! Very central and close to all the touristy stuff. Pier 39, Ghiradelli Square, Golden Gate Bride, Alcatraz. My favorite thing was seeing our San Diego Padres beat the Giants at AT&T Park. You have to see a ballgame there! Park is about 1.5 mile walk from the hotel. I recommend this hotel, but make sure you get a junior suite, or else you will feel cramped.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Katana-Ya Japanese restaurant 1/2 block away. Tiny place, but amazing sushi and Gyoza.

Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sunnyvale, CA
Jun 19, 2011

Hotel Monaco - San Francisco

The hotel is for adults who enjoy a very high quality room and very little noise from the surrounding streets. The Grand Cafe and lounge are both well appointed with a friendly and courteous staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

North Beach offers numerous Italian restaurants and entertainment, i.e.: Beach Blanket Babylon. To get there, it makes for a good walk for a non-athlete, it is mostly level ground.

Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Merced, CA
Jun 18, 2011

Hotel Monaco

The queen sized bed mattress was soft, but my husband and I rolled into each other in the middle because the mattress was worn out there. The wine hour from 5-6 was great! Free wine before heading out for dinner. Valet parking at the hotel was great! We ate at the Grand Cafe next door. It was expensive, but well worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit John O'Malley's for great bangers and mash!

Back to menu Return to top