$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
501 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
65 reviews
Love this hotel!

Clean and comfy room. Extremely helpful/knowledgable and gracious staff. In town for one night for... See full review

  • AggieMom
  • Jun 15, 2014
Great location and staff

Brought my girlfreind here to celebrate her birthday for the weekend. Staff was extremely helpful... See full review

  • texasandy
  • Feb 11, 2014
Award-winning Californian hospitality meets classic French chic

Step into another world upon entering the upmarket elegance of the Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel. Built in 1910 and infused with charm, this Beaux Arts building boasts the Grande Cafe, a Parisian style brasserie with a Californian twist. Business and fitness centers keep the hotel thoroughly modern, as do its credentials as a Green/Sustainable Property. This winning combination of style and service has earned the Monaco San Francisco a place on the Conde Nast Traveler Gold List of the best places in the world to stay.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • A short walk to the Theater and Financial districts
  • On the Conde Nast Traveler Gold List of places to stay
  • Essence of Parisian charm in the Grande Cafe
Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Exquisite frescoes and a huge fireplace grace the main lobby of the Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel, which greets guests with an imposing painting of the Celestial Lady. Offering some of the finest luxury accommodation in San Francisco, the Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel, has a choice of 201 guest rooms, of which 35 are suites. Beautifully decorated with patterned or striped wallpaper, Chinoiserie furnishings and antique-style armoires, the sense of belonging to another, more elegant era is prevalent throughout the entire hotel. Bedrooms are equipped to an indulgent, comfortable standard, providing king beds, sofas and Jacuzzis, as well as marble bathrooms stocked with Aveda toiletries. Wireless Internet access is available in the rooms (fees apply) but also can be accessed free in the lobby. Eco-friendly products, recycling facilities and energy-efficient light bulbs are a feature of all Kimpton hotels, so expect to find these as standard. Guests attend daily wine receptions that take place in the sophisticated atmosphere of the Living Room, where the hotel hosts daily coffee mornings.

Things To Do:
  • Transamerica Redwood Park (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Financial District (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
    • Policies and Fees
      The Grand Cafe restaurant will be closed starting 30 July due to renovation that is expected to be included on 31 Oct. During this period, the hotel will offer free continental breakfast (pastries and fruits) to all guests.

      This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

      Hotel Map

      37.7866 -122.4118
      Nearby airports
      San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 14.00, MI, N; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 21.00, MI, N; San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 45.70, MI, NW;
      Area description
      City Center

      Recommendations for you

      Customers who viewed Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

      Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
      Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

      Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

      Acc Dbl/Dbl Rm Roll in Shwr
      2 Dbl Bd Accsbl Tub Comm Features Avail
      Junior Suite
      Junior Suite 380 square feet with one king bed sofa bed, iHome
      Double Double Deluxe Room
      Double Double Deluxe Room 250 square feet iHome New Bigelow Luxury Bath amenities
      Deluxe Suite
      380 square feet one king bed and sofa bed.
      Accessible Junior Suite
      380 square feet with one king bed iHome and New Bigelow Luxury bath amenities
      Queen Room
      1 Queen bed, 225 square feet
      King Deluxe Room
      250 square feet with a king bed iHome, New Bigelow Luxury bath amenities.
      Monte Carlo Suite
      525 square feet with one king bed jacuzzi and New Bigelow Luxury bath amenities.
      Mediterranean Spa Suite
      Mediterranean Spa Suite 625 square feet with one king bed sofa bed and jacuzzi
      Queen Deluxe Room
      250 square feet one queen bed iHome New Bigelow Luxury bath amenities.

      Amenities

      • WiFi
      • Airport shuttle
      General
      Air conditioned
      Pet friendly
      Elevators
      24 hour security
      Activities
      Spa
      Dining
      Continental breakfast
      Restaurant
      Meal plan - continental
      Services
      24 hour front desk
      Business center
      Maid service
      Concierge desk
      ATM/Cash machine
      Security
      Wake-up service
      In-Room Safe
      Meeting/Banquet facilities
      Porters
      Conference facilities
      Audio visual equipment
      Conference suite
      Internet
      WiFi
      Transportation
      Airport shuttle
      Parking
      Valet parking
      Accessibility
      Handicapped rooms/facilities
      Accessible facilities
      Accessible rooms
      Room
      DVD player
      Television with cable
      Radio
      Cordless phone
      Safe
      Phone with speaker
      Telephone
      AM/FM alarm clock
      Desk with lamp
      Mini bar
      Hairdryer in room
      Turndown service
      In room movies
      Temperature control
      Electronic door locks
      Iron
      Ironing board
      Sprinklers in rooms

      Nearby points of interest

      • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
      • Union Square: 0.3 mi
      • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
      • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
      • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
      • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
      • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
      • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
      • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
      • Don Soker Gallery: 0.6 mi
      • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
      • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
      • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
      • SoMa: 0.6 mi
      • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
      • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
      • Union Square: 0.3 mi
      • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
      • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
      • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
      • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
      • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
      • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
      • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
      • Don Soker Gallery: 0.6 mi
      • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
      • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
      • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
      • SoMa: 0.6 mi
      • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
      • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
      • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
      • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
      • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.8 mi
      • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
      • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
      • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
      • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
      • Lafayette Park: 0.9 mi
      • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.9 mi
      • Japantown: 1 mi
      • Japan Center: 1 mi
      • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
      • Ferry Building: 1.2 mi
      • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
      • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
      • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
      • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
      • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.5 mi
      • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
      • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
      • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.5 mi
      • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
      • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
      • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
      • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
      • Musee Mecanique: 1.6 mi
      • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
      • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
      • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi

      Hotel Policies

      Check-in:
      03:00 PM
      Check-out:
      12:00 PM

      Terms and conditions

      Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

      The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

      Back to menu Return to top

      Guest Reviews (65)

      Ratings and reviews for Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

      Overall score

      4.3 / 5
      5.01.0
      65 out of 65
      Amenities:
      4.3
      Room cleanliness:
      4.8
      Hotel staff:
      4.6
      Room comfort:
      4.4
      Location:
      4.5
      Value:
      4.1

      98% would recommend to a friend.

      Sort by:
      Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

      Reviewer score

      3
      5.01.0
      Anonymous
      Merced, CA
      Jun 18, 2011

      Hotel Monaco

      The queen sized bed mattress was soft, but my husband and I rolled into each other in the middle because the mattress was worn out there. The wine hour from 5-6 was great! Free wine before heading out for dinner. Valet parking at the hotel was great! We ate at the Grand Cafe next door. It was expensive, but well worth it.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      4
      Room comfort:
      3
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      4
      Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

      Visit John O'Malley's for great bangers and mash!

      Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

      Reviewer score

      4
      5.01.0
      Anonymous
      Detroit
      Jun 8, 2011

      Good

      Very good trip

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Room cleanliness:
      4
      Hotel staff:
      4
      Room comfort:
      4
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      4
      Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

      Good

      Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

      Reviewer score

      4
      5.01.0
      Yombe
      Dallas, TX
      May 3, 2011

      Friendly staff, clean & comfortable room

      Good location within easy walking distance to Union Square, Chinatown. Free coffee bar in AM & free wine reception in PM, with fun appearances by the resident-canines, Lucy (a calm black pug) and Oliver (a stately Golden Retriever), along with free chair massages! NY Times, San Francisco Chronicle, and The Wall Street Journal for the taking. Don't miss brunch at Cavallo Point (Sausalito), dinner at Foreign Cinema (outside @ old b&w movies playing), the de Young Museum, the Asian Art Museum, SF MOMA, Chinatown, Lombard Street, the Ferry Building, the Painted Lady houses, and, of course, the trolley.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Room cleanliness:
      4
      Hotel staff:
      4
      Room comfort:
      4
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      4
      Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

      Xanadu Gallery on Maiden Lane near Union Square. A fabulous ethnographic art gallery (African, Pre-Columbian, Eastern Indian, etc.) housed in a fabulous Frank Lloyd Wright building. Extensive collections of textiles, jewelry, sculpture, and books with knowledgeable staff.

      Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

      Reviewer score

      4
      5.01.0
      Working windsurfer
      Business
      San Francisco
      Dec 15, 2010

      morning coffee by the fireplace

      The hotel was traditional and charming - right downtown near lots of small shops and, my favorite, a neighborhood diner. The New York Times, the San Francisco Chronicle and the Wall Street Journal were on the table by the complimentary morning coffee in a very comfortable lounge -- very pleasant start to the morning. I took a cup of fresh coffee down the street to the classic breakfast diner (cash only with a friendly waitress) for a great start to a hard-working day.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      3
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      4
      Room comfort:
      5
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      3
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

      very charming local diner right down the street

      Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

      Reviewer score

      4
      5.01.0
      Gail and Frank
      Merrick, NY
      Nov 15, 2010

      Beautiful Hotel - tiny little space.

      A typical Kimpton Hotel - elegant and well managed, but maybe too hip for its own good. Easy check in/check out, but I didn't feel anyone had a handle on the city - from getting a cab to giving proper directions. Use Google and you'll get everywhere. Front desk seemed to handle the job of concierge - not a great idea. The room was as small as any I have ever stayed in, but I have to say, it was beautiful, functional and quiet - the most important. Don't look for a clock to shine in the middle of the night - the light does not work on the ipod friendly clockradio. Bathroom was perfect, from "real" blowdryer to Aveda shampoo/soap. Location could be better - not near to wharf - close to Union Square. Overall, I loved the privacy, quiet well appointed room and know that I could've purchased a larger room - just didn't know how small 234 sq ft was. Lastly, no one tells you how wonderful the restaurant is in the hotel - very impressed!

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      5
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      3
      Room comfort:
      4
      Location:
      3
      Value:
      4
      Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

      Reviewer score

      4
      5.01.0
      Anonymous
      Lubbock, TX
      Nov 9, 2010

      Nice atmosphere

      Great location for shopping and dining. If you aren't up for walking to attractions there are several other transportation options close by. The restaurants within walking distance were good (Fino especially)! The room was comfy but on the small side.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      4
      Room comfort:
      4
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      2
      Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

      Ride bikes across the Golden Gate Bridge to Sausalito! Great experience!

      Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

      Reviewer score

      3
      5.01.0
      O'datsdatdude
      Fremont,CA
      Oct 31, 2010

      Nice Venue but unorganized staff.

      It seems to be a common theme amongst Kimpton Hotels, Nice Venues and ambiance but very untrained and unorganized staff. I have stayed at Hotel Solamar in San Diego and Hotel Monaco in San Francisco....and both places my girlfriend and i agreed are very unorganized....at one point i asked the valet guy if this was his 1st time parking a car. They seemed to not know what the process was...he asked me for a ticket when i was standing there with my keys for him to write me a ticket. When we checked in the front desk guy said it would probably be faster for us to take our bags up rather than call a bellman?!?!

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      5
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      2
      Room comfort:
      5
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      4
      Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

      Reviewer score

      5
      5.01.0
      Anonymous
      Fort Lauderdale, FL
      Oct 13, 2010

      Its all about the service

      I am in the industry so tend to scrutinize all facets of my stay. The staff were always attentive and never distracted. Service overall was of a high standard. I had a suite, which (for city standards) was roomy enough. Room cleanliness was very good. Street noise was bearable. Windows are double-glazed. Beds very comfortable. Linens were of good quality. Gym was OK. Had the basics. I will stay there again the next time I am in SF.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Room cleanliness:
      4
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Room comfort:
      5
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      4
      Dining tip: Not Applicable

      Try to get to: * Cafe Zuni for their impeccable Caesar Salad, near perfect burger, and great oyster selection. * Slanted door, for best modern Vietnamese cooking I have ever had (steamed pork and dried shrimp dumplings were the highlight. Also try the Drakes Bay oysters they serve.....perfect).

      Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

      Reviewer score

      3
      5.01.0
      Anonymous
      Business
      Portland OR
      Oct 5, 2010

      I love the Monaco but...

      I love the Monaco, I really do. It's small and quiet and comfortable. As a Kimpton InTouch member I get little perks, which are great. My only complaint this stay was that after getting in after a late flight I ordered a turkey burger and a tomato salad. When the food arrived the server had forgotten ketchup. No big deal, he ran down and got some. When I finally sat down to eat the bun was stale and there was no dressing on the salad, just dry lettuce that I ended up eating with ketchup, yikes. Just the burger, dry lettuce and some tomatoes cost me over $50. Pretty sad. I'll come back but no room service for me.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Room comfort:
      5
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      3
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

      Go get your own food.

      Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

      Reviewer score

      5
      5.01.0
      Anonymous
      Not Provided
      Jun 15, 2010

      Excellent hotel in heart of San

      Excellent hotel in heart of San Francisco - staff really attentive and super helpful - great bar and restaurant also, Wine hour also a really nice touch

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      5
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Room comfort:
      No rating
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      5
      Back to menu Return to top

      Change search