$249 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 501 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

99% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JRWFF
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
May 2, 2012

Service Left A Bit To Be Desired

The room was great; the hotel is beautiful; the staff is friendly and helpful, but the right hand didn't know what the left was doing. Fairly simple requests (late check in after a delayed flight, 1 PM wake up call and a DVD remote control) were all answered. Unfortunately, the request for a DVD remote control was answered at 8:45 AM following the very late check in with a 1 PM wake up call in effect the same day. Even more unfortunately, the request for the DVD remote was answered with a second TV remote requiring several calls to the front desk and multiple round trips to the room by staff during which the excessively clever Do Not Disturb sign (which doesn't actually say Do Not Disturb) got turned around resulting in the cleaning staff walking in on us in our underwear while my partner was on the phone to the hotel management. All of this was before the 1 PM wake up call. The management did offer us a $120 credit at the hotel restaurant; however, the service there was marred by a number of minor snafus that would have been out of place at even a much less expensive restaurant. Overall, the hotel and the restaurant were exceptionally beautiful and the staff really tried to provide good service, but the experience was marred by a lack of central coordination. Despite that I would stay there again as long as I wasn't planning on sleeping late.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't ask for American mustard on your $30 burger at the hotel restaurant. It's beneath the dignity of the wait staff to even acknowledge that such a common food item actually exists.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gigi112
Business
Chicago, Illinois
May 8, 2012

Cute boutique hotel

The decor and ambiance was romantic and cute. However, the room was a tad small (we were 2 w/a queen bed).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Chinatown, little Italy and Lombard street are all within the same vicinity.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travellller
Business
San Francisco, California
Jun 6, 2012

Good Hotel to spend nights in

In general the hotel is clean, well-maintained, pleasantly decorated. I found rooms to be a bit too small. Overall I would recommend this place to fellow travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pgh Stillers
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Oct 6, 2013

My Room Review

The hotel and front desk were very helpful and friendly. Only issue was we had asked our air to remain on several times and every time we returned to our room the air was shut off. I even taped a note on the air control unit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Quake Survivor
Business
Washington, D.C.
Oct 24, 2013

Hotel Monaco

The room decor was somewhat jangling rather than soothing, although the bed and furniture were comfortable. There were some annoying room noises such as a small minibar fridge that rattled off and on thru the night. The bathroom was very nice however, though it sometimes took 30 seconds or longer to get hot water flowing from the showerhead. However, these are quibbles: staff were solicitous, breakfast excellent and elevators fast. Great locale too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago
Mar 31, 2010

Great downtown hotel

excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
no nicknames, please
Business
Los Gatos CA
Sep 1, 2009

great! upgraded us as well

because of the savings from your site, we booked a suite. Since we booked a suite,we got upgraded. Wouldn't have happened if we had just gone through the hotel site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DocJuris
Business
Lauderdale by the Sea FL
May 19, 2010

Great location in theater district

We stayed in Jacuzzi suite. Bathroom very large with glass shower. Very quiet. Comfortable bed. Nice robes. Living room sitting area off downstairs lobby inviting to place to have a drink, work, converse or just watch the interesting people go by on Geary. Really appreciated the complimentary newpapers WSJ NYT and USA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sunnyvale, CA
Jun 19, 2011

Hotel Monaco - San Francisco

The hotel is for adults who enjoy a very high quality room and very little noise from the surrounding streets. The Grand Cafe and lounge are both well appointed with a friendly and courteous staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

North Beach offers numerous Italian restaurants and entertainment, i.e.: Beach Blanket Babylon. To get there, it makes for a good walk for a non-athlete, it is mostly level ground.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Merkel
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Sep 28, 2011

Hotel Monaco - Great Place to Stay

We have stayed at the Hotel Monaco several times. Each visit has been great - service, location, accommodations, food all are excellent. We have seen many of the room types, and prefer the larger suite with the huge bath. The smaller rooms are decorated in a more interesting fashion, however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the small diner 1/2 block from the hotel on Geary - great food and great prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top