$151 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 501 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
69 out of 69
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

99% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AggieMom
Business
Oklahoma, USA
Jun 15, 2014

Love this hotel!

Clean and comfy room. Extremely helpful/knowledgable and gracious staff. In town for one night for college visit with my son. Great location. Easy walk to Powell St. BART making for easy access to/from SFO airport and surrounding area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fino Ristorante & Bar. Great Italian food. 2 blocks away. Call ahead and make a reservation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
texasandy
Business
Houston
Feb 11, 2014

Great location and staff

Brought my girlfreind here to celebrate her birthday for the weekend. Staff was extremely helpful and courteous, concierge made extra effort providing champagne, chocolate and a greeting card on our arrival. Hotel is right in the middle of it all and convenient walking distance to most of downtown. Would definitely reccommend or stay again here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

honey honey up taylor has a great quick breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Peach007
Business
PA
Jan 7, 2014

It's just to my heart's desires

It's beautiful, comfortable and safety. It's near Chinatown, cable car station, union square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
traveling foodie 1
Business
Houston
Nov 27, 2013

Do not recommend

Disappointed by the concierge. We wanted to go to Gary Danko for our anniversary dinner. We we discouraged to go because we were told there was a ten month waiting list. So we decided to go somewhere else. When we got back to the hotel after our dinner, another couple was talking to the concierge about how great her recommendation was to go to Gary Danko for dinner that night. Just blew my mind why she would recommend a restaurant to someone else and not to us..... I would not recommend this place. The best service we received were from the door men they were prompt and respectful. As far as location, you cannot walk and explore the surrounding area especially at night to the west or south of the hotel. Very dangerous. Local phone call is not free in the hotel. They will charge you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Quake Survivor
Business
Washington, D.C.
Oct 24, 2013

Hotel Monaco

The room decor was somewhat jangling rather than soothing, although the bed and furniture were comfortable. There were some annoying room noises such as a small minibar fridge that rattled off and on thru the night. The bathroom was very nice however, though it sometimes took 30 seconds or longer to get hot water flowing from the showerhead. However, these are quibbles: staff were solicitous, breakfast excellent and elevators fast. Great locale too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pgh Stillers
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Oct 6, 2013

My Room Review

The hotel and front desk were very helpful and friendly. Only issue was we had asked our air to remain on several times and every time we returned to our room the air was shut off. I even taped a note on the air control unit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travellller
Business
San Francisco, California
Jun 6, 2012

Good Hotel to spend nights in

In general the hotel is clean, well-maintained, pleasantly decorated. I found rooms to be a bit too small. Overall I would recommend this place to fellow travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gigi112
Business
Chicago, Illinois
May 8, 2012

Cute boutique hotel

The decor and ambiance was romantic and cute. However, the room was a tad small (we were 2 w/a queen bed).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Chinatown, little Italy and Lombard street are all within the same vicinity.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JRWFF
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
May 2, 2012

Service Left A Bit To Be Desired

The room was great; the hotel is beautiful; the staff is friendly and helpful, but the right hand didn't know what the left was doing. Fairly simple requests (late check in after a delayed flight, 1 PM wake up call and a DVD remote control) were all answered. Unfortunately, the request for a DVD remote control was answered at 8:45 AM following the very late check in with a 1 PM wake up call in effect the same day. Even more unfortunately, the request for the DVD remote was answered with a second TV remote requiring several calls to the front desk and multiple round trips to the room by staff during which the excessively clever Do Not Disturb sign (which doesn't actually say Do Not Disturb) got turned around resulting in the cleaning staff walking in on us in our underwear while my partner was on the phone to the hotel management. All of this was before the 1 PM wake up call. The management did offer us a $120 credit at the hotel restaurant; however, the service there was marred by a number of minor snafus that would have been out of place at even a much less expensive restaurant. Overall, the hotel and the restaurant were exceptionally beautiful and the staff really tried to provide good service, but the experience was marred by a lack of central coordination. Despite that I would stay there again as long as I wasn't planning on sleeping late.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't ask for American mustard on your $30 burger at the hotel restaurant. It's beneath the dignity of the wait staff to even acknowledge that such a common food item actually exists.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RonLee
Business
Aurora, CO, USA
May 1, 2012

Small but well done

room was small but well appointed and comfortable. Design is way cool

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top