$113 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Mithila Hotel

2 stars
972 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
64 reviews
not bad

i dont know what to say about this hotel, its pretty average, not bad, exceeded my expectations... See full review

  • average 25 year old
  • Feb 10, 2014
Comfortable & Clean

This is a comfortable and clean hotel -- a little worse for wear and tear -- that's centrally... See full review

  • Fritzman
  • Apr 1, 2013
The Mithila Hotel is a charming European-style hotel located in the heart of downtown San Francisco; offering beautiful guest rooms' warm gracious services and excellent value surrounded near major attractions. We are walking distance to Union Square, Chinatown, theaters and world -class restaurants. Together with our commitment to quality, you'll enjoy a high standard of hospitality reflected in the quiet elegance of our surroundings and the personal attention from our friendly staff, dedicated to making your stay an enjoyable experience. The Mithila Hotel was established in 1920 & fully restored in 1998. Restoration took nearly 2 years to complete taking care to maintain original ceiling moldings and marble flooring. The Mithila Hotel, formerly the Roy croft Hotel, is a highly regarded boutique hotel with modern amenities and affordable rates. Our family has been at this location for the last 20 years. Along the way we have changed our name once, but we have learned that the most important characteristic customers look for has not changed a friendly and welcoming staff that exudes traditional hospitality. We opened The Mithila Hotel with a simple idea: at your favorite hotel, you feel like you're coming home. You'll find warm, comfortable surroundings and friendly staff who greet you by name. Since there are only 40 rooms, you'll find peace and quiet. Parking is available offsite for fourteen dollars. What does The Mithila Hotel do better than any other hotel? We steadily attend to all of your needs in a relaxed atmosphere. We know you need a nice umbrella when it rains, an idea for a cozy and affordable restaurant, directions to Fisherman's Wharf. No problem. Everything you need is handled without a charge and without a fuss. It's a pleasure to serve you.

Hotel Map

37.7883 -122.4163
Area served
San Fransisco and Union Square/Nob Hill/
Nearby airports
San Fransisco International, Oakland International and San Jose International
Area description
The Mithila Hotel is conveniently located near the American Conservatory Theater, Featuring some of San Francisco's finest theater, Ruby Skye, Union Square's premier nightclub and Johnny Foleys Irish Pub; live music, good food and a great bar!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mithila Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Mithila Hotel Rooms

Standard
Mithila Hotel is able to accommodate the needs of the everyday businessperson or a traveler on a modest budget. Our rooms come in three tiers; Double, Queen and Double-Twin beds. Every room is equipped with a newly remodeled room and private bathroom, color television, international direct phone lines, and data port lines for your convenience. You will receive daily maid service every morning.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Free breakfast
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.7 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.7 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.8 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.9 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.2 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.3 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (64)

Ratings and reviews for Mithila Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 64
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.6
Value:
4

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Curly Smith
San Jose, CA
Nov 9, 2013

Price equals quality

Great place for a nights stay in the city. Cheapest parking around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
boobasa
los angeles
Feb 27, 2012

convenient to local venues

very quiet room enjoyed continental breakfast and would recomend to anyone

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Jose, CA
Jan 9, 2011

A lot better than people are letting on

I stayed here with 2 girlfiends to celebrate a birthday. We decided to stay here because it was the cheapest hotel we could find in the city that was close to the club we were going to. We decided to ignore the bad reviews and I'm glad we did. The room was clean, equipped with a blow dryer, iron, microwave, and fridge, which is more than a lot of other, more expensive hotels. They also offer a free continental breakfast, which was a lot better than I expected. The man at the front desk was nice and really helpful. Overall I was surprisingly happy with the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Market, Bar, and restaurant all a few feet away.

Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vineetsahu87
Lake Mary, FL
Dec 3, 2010

Not the Best Not the worst

The rooms of the hotel were ok. I would say they were the best. But the location of the hotel is in the downtown so it close to many restaurants and places to hand out. The only problem was parking. After paying so much for the hotel no free parking was a turn off. It hard to find a parking spot in the downtown and you have to eventually park at public parking for which you will have to pay extra.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
seriously happier to sleep in my car
Nor-Cal
Jul 11, 2010

Happier to sleep in my car then here!

you could get over all the rinky-dink stuff if the staff were friendly. upon check in i was told if each guest didnt have id we couldnt stay there. when i went to makesure before checking in the guy tells me it wont matter because "i will lose my money anyway" then charges $20 deposit for 1 set of keys when the doorhandles are so messed up it takes a few minutes to open them. after 2 days of being told "i dont know" when asking how to call out they say theres a $10 charge & $1 per min. parking costs too. i had $100 charged to my card by the hotel overdrawing my account & the guy at the front desk couldnt tell me why! oh & they will pull the blinds down & ignor you if standup for yourself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

dont stay here, it was 1 thing after another until i could no longer enjoy what should have been my vacation!

Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Winters, ca
Jul 1, 2010

Mithila Hotel review

It was a nice Hotel. Rooms were small, but you get what you paid for. If your expecting the basics at a good price then this is your ideal Hotel. If you expecting more bang for your buck then your interests might fit somewhere else. would've been nice for more television channels, and better furniture would've been a nice touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

expect a decent work out if your walking towards anything.

Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dawgggg
Seattle, WA
May 10, 2010

Good enough for a quick stay.

it's alright. wouldn't stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

it's alright.

Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 9, 2007

Good for the money

The Mithila Hotel in San Fran is a good place to stay if you are looking for something simple, clean, and quiet. For the money I was very please and the staff was friendly. If the Ritz is what you are looking for this is not the place for you. This hotel is in a convenient area and good for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search