$100 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Mithila Hotel

2 stars
972 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
48 reviews
not bad

i dont know what to say about this hotel, its pretty average, not bad, exceeded my expectations... See full review

  • average 25 year old
  • Feb 10, 2014
Clean- comfort-great staff- cheap

I reserved this hotel for 1 night and stayed for 2. It was a busy weekend in SF so hotel prices... See full review

  • tammy and family
  • Nov 1, 2013
The Mithila Hotel is a charming European-style hotel located in the heart of downtown San Francisco; offering beautiful guest rooms, warm gracious services and excellent value surrounded near major attractions. We provide modern amenities at affordable rates. The hotel is within walking distance of Union Square, Chinatown, theaters, evening entertainment and affordable restaurants. The hotel is nestled between Union Square & Nob Hill. Therefore, you are a few blocks away from the main scene, however quiet enough where you can get a good night sleep. The hotel is situated in a nice safe neighborhood where there are other high-end hotels. The Mithila Hotel is able to accommodate the needs of the everyday business person or a traveler on a modest budget. All standard rooms come with its own private bathroom, newly refurbished and equipped with a color television, micro fridge, iron/board and a free wireless connection. There is a daily maid service every morning with complementary coffee. The cable car lines are located only four blocks from the hotel for guest exploring the greater area of the city. The hotel also books return Airport shuttles only from the hotel to airport, at $15 per person and runs every half hour. Indoor parking is available nearby at a discounted rate starting at $16 per day/night.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mithila Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Mithila Hotel Rooms

Standard
Mithila Hotel is able to accommodate the needs of the everyday businessperson or a traveler on a modest budget. Our rooms come in three tiers; Double, Queen and Double-Twin beds. Every room is equipped with a newly remodeled room and private bathroom, color television, and telephone for your convenience. You will receive daily maid service every morning.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.7 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.7 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.8 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.9 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.2 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.3 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (48)

Ratings and reviews for Mithila Hotel

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 48
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
2.1
Location:
3.1
Value:
2.8

33% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
average 25 year old
Business
San Carlos, California
Feb 10, 2014

not bad

i dont know what to say about this hotel, its pretty average, not bad, exceeded my expectations when booking a cheap motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Carly Friedman
Business
Sacramento, CA
Feb 15, 2013

Inexpensive, but you get what you pay for

Stayed here for one night, and don't know if I could handle much more. The room wasn't terribly small for an economy queen. The problem, the sheet were peeling and a little threadbare, our towels had large holes in them, and the bathroom and shower were on another floor. If I had known 2 floors of rooms were to be sharing a bathroom, I would have paid $10 more to stay at a different hotel that is much nicer and has a bathroom for every 3 rooms. Overall it was quiet, and we never saw another guest, but I got the feeling the carpet hadn't been replaced in 20 years and something terrible had happened in my room due to the cracked bed side lamp and completely ruined lampshade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Civic Center, so within walking distance to bill graham auditorium and events at the Civic Center. But if walking home late, expect ladies/men of the night on every corner surrounding hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
redsam
Business
vancouver bc
May 16, 2012

cute and quirky

Awesome location for,a great price. Small but cute with lots of character.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chico, CA
Apr 4, 2011

no bueno

room was way to small! had no good channels! it had a bad smell to it. it made us just want to leave and go stay in our car!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Concord,CA
Jan 15, 2011

Horrible

Horrible there was no bathroom they offered a community restrooms and shower. It looked like I was staying in some dirty halfway house. I will never go here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san jose CA
Jan 1, 2011

Mithila Hotel in SF

We booked a room for NYE. So the price was doubled. It's very much like a motel 6. Central heating for the entire building so it's very cold. phone doesn't work so if you need something, you have to walk to the front desk or call from your cell phone. Perks: free wifi and cheap over night parking especially for downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PHAMiLE
Business
Fountain Valley
Jun 13, 2010

San Fransico Trip

The hotel kind of smells but its ok but service is the best there. The front tell was very helpful and if your looking for a cheap place in sf this is the place its in the middle of everwhere union square, japan town, and chinatown great location didnt have to drive at all

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

So where i went was Pier 39, Union square, chinatown, and japantwon.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Downtown/WHARF explorer
Business
Madison, WI
Jun 1, 2010

small, ancient, but clean w/great staff

-The staff was super helpful, especially with coordinating cab rides to the airport or around town. -No handicap access. Elevator isn't accessible until after you climb about 10 steps (also very inconvenient for heavy or lots of luggage). -Use of actual (metal)keys do not fit into doorway very well. -Room and bathroom are both very small. There is no storage for your stuff, so space is cramped for even one person. Two people is difficult. -Double bed is smaller than standard double beds in homes/other hotels. -Rooms have fairly hollow walls, but luckily the demographic of people who stay in this small hotel are typically quiet. -If I had the choice, I would probably stay here because it was far cheaper than other options. But, I would pay up to $30/night more for a better hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to 47 bus, which runs both to downtown and fisherman's wharf.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Accidental dog owner
Business
Fresno
May 16, 2010

Mithila Hotel

We considered this a great value: WELL-located and quiet even in the middle of San Francisco. Staff were friendly and business-like.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CA
Mar 20, 2010

2nd time but worst experience...

This is my 2nd time here. But, very bad experience unlike my 1st time. Windows got no blinds. Shower is bad. Bathtub clogged and water almost overflowed. Very bad experience this time. I was given the last room in the entire building in the top floor. Looks renovated (in-process may be). Bottom line, you get what you pay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bellismo Pizza is best.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top