$120 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 24, 2014 Check-out: Sep 25, 2014

Mithila Hotel

2 stars
972 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
48 reviews
not bad

i dont know what to say about this hotel, its pretty average, not bad, exceeded my expectations... See full review

  • average 25 year old
  • Feb 10, 2014
Comfortable & Clean

This is a comfortable and clean hotel -- a little worse for wear and tear -- that's centrally... See full review

  • Fritzman
  • Apr 1, 2013
The Mithila Hotel is a charming European-style hotel located in the heart of downtown San Francisco; offering beautiful guest rooms' warm gracious services and excellent value surrounded near major attractions. We are walking distance to Union Square, Chinatown, theaters and world -class restaurants. Together with our commitment to quality, you'll enjoy a high standard of hospitality reflected in the quiet elegance of our surroundings and the personal attention from our friendly staff, dedicated to making your stay an enjoyable experience. The Mithila Hotel was established in 1920 & fully restored in 1998. Restoration took nearly 2 years to complete taking care to maintain original ceiling moldings and marble flooring. The Mithila Hotel, formerly the Roy croft Hotel, is a highly regarded boutique hotel with modern amenities and affordable rates. Our family has been at this location for the last 20 years. Along the way we have changed our name once, but we have learned that the most important characteristic customers look for has not changed a friendly and welcoming staff that exudes traditional hospitality. We opened The Mithila Hotel with a simple idea: at your favorite hotel, you feel like you're coming home. You'll find warm, comfortable surroundings and friendly staff who greet you by name. Since there are only 40 rooms, you'll find peace and quiet. Parking is available offsite for fourteen dollars. What does The Mithila Hotel do better than any other hotel? We steadily attend to all of your needs in a relaxed atmosphere. We know you need a nice umbrella when it rains, an idea for a cozy and affordable restaurant, directions to Fisherman's Wharf. No problem. Everything you need is handled without a charge and without a fuss. It's a pleasure to serve you.

Hotel Map

37.7883 -122.4163
Area served
San Fransisco and Union Square/Nob Hill/
Nearby airports
San Fransisco International, Oakland International and San Jose International
Area description
The Mithila Hotel is conveniently located near the American Conservatory Theater, Featuring some of San Francisco's finest theater, Ruby Skye, Union Square's premier nightclub and Johnny Foleys Irish Pub; live music, good food and a great bar!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mithila Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Mithila Hotel Rooms

Standard
Mithila Hotel is able to accommodate the needs of the everyday businessperson or a traveler on a modest budget. Our rooms come in three tiers; Double, Queen and Double-Twin beds. Every room is equipped with a newly remodeled room and private bathroom, color television, international direct phone lines, and data port lines for your convenience. You will receive daily maid service every morning.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Free breakfast
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.7 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.7 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.8 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.9 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.2 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.3 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (48)

Ratings and reviews for Mithila Hotel

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 48
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
2.1
Location:
3.1
Value:
2.8

33% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
average 25 year old
San Carlos, California
Feb 10, 2014

not bad

i dont know what to say about this hotel, its pretty average, not bad, exceeded my expectations when booking a cheap motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Carly Friedman
Sacramento, CA
Feb 15, 2013

Inexpensive, but you get what you pay for

Stayed here for one night, and don't know if I could handle much more. The room wasn't terribly small for an economy queen. The problem, the sheet were peeling and a little threadbare, our towels had large holes in them, and the bathroom and shower were on another floor. If I had known 2 floors of rooms were to be sharing a bathroom, I would have paid $10 more to stay at a different hotel that is much nicer and has a bathroom for every 3 rooms. Overall it was quiet, and we never saw another guest, but I got the feeling the carpet hadn't been replaced in 20 years and something terrible had happened in my room due to the cracked bed side lamp and completely ruined lampshade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Civic Center, so within walking distance to bill graham auditorium and events at the Civic Center. But if walking home late, expect ladies/men of the night on every corner surrounding hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
redsam
vancouver bc
May 16, 2012

cute and quirky

Awesome location for,a great price. Small but cute with lots of character.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chico, CA
Apr 4, 2011

no bueno

room was way to small! had no good channels! it had a bad smell to it. it made us just want to leave and go stay in our car!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Concord,CA
Jan 15, 2011

Horrible

Horrible there was no bathroom they offered a community restrooms and shower. It looked like I was staying in some dirty halfway house. I will never go here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
san jose CA
Jan 1, 2011

Mithila Hotel in SF

We booked a room for NYE. So the price was doubled. It's very much like a motel 6. Central heating for the entire building so it's very cold. phone doesn't work so if you need something, you have to walk to the front desk or call from your cell phone. Perks: free wifi and cheap over night parking especially for downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PHAMiLE
Fountain Valley
Jun 13, 2010

San Fransico Trip

The hotel kind of smells but its ok but service is the best there. The front tell was very helpful and if your looking for a cheap place in sf this is the place its in the middle of everwhere union square, japan town, and chinatown great location didnt have to drive at all

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

So where i went was Pier 39, Union square, chinatown, and japantwon.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Downtown/WHARF explorer
Madison, WI
Jun 1, 2010

small, ancient, but clean w/great staff

-The staff was super helpful, especially with coordinating cab rides to the airport or around town. -No handicap access. Elevator isn't accessible until after you climb about 10 steps (also very inconvenient for heavy or lots of luggage). -Use of actual (metal)keys do not fit into doorway very well. -Room and bathroom are both very small. There is no storage for your stuff, so space is cramped for even one person. Two people is difficult. -Double bed is smaller than standard double beds in homes/other hotels. -Rooms have fairly hollow walls, but luckily the demographic of people who stay in this small hotel are typically quiet. -If I had the choice, I would probably stay here because it was far cheaper than other options. But, I would pay up to $30/night more for a better hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to 47 bus, which runs both to downtown and fisherman's wharf.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Accidental dog owner
Fresno
May 16, 2010

Mithila Hotel

We considered this a great value: WELL-located and quiet even in the middle of San Francisco. Staff were friendly and business-like.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
CA
Mar 20, 2010

2nd time but worst experience...

This is my 2nd time here. But, very bad experience unlike my 1st time. Windows got no blinds. Shower is bad. Bathtub clogged and water almost overflowed. Very bad experience this time. I was given the last room in the entire building in the top floor. Looks renovated (in-process may be). Bottom line, you get what you pay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bellismo Pizza is best.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search