$100 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

Mithila Hotel

2 stars
972 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
48 reviews
not bad

i dont know what to say about this hotel, its pretty average, not bad, exceeded my expectations... See full review

  • average 25 year old
  • Feb 10, 2014
Clean- comfort-great staff- cheap

I reserved this hotel for 1 night and stayed for 2. It was a busy weekend in SF so hotel prices... See full review

  • tammy and family
  • Nov 1, 2013
The Mithila Hotel is a charming European-style hotel located in the heart of downtown San Francisco; offering beautiful guest rooms, warm gracious services and excellent value surrounded near major attractions. We provide modern amenities at affordable rates. The hotel is within walking distance of Union Square, Chinatown, theaters, evening entertainment and affordable restaurants. The hotel is nestled between Union Square & Nob Hill. Therefore, you are a few blocks away from the main scene, however quiet enough where you can get a good night sleep. The hotel is situated in a nice safe neighborhood where there are other high-end hotels. The Mithila Hotel is able to accommodate the needs of the everyday business person or a traveler on a modest budget. All standard rooms come with its own private bathroom, newly refurbished and equipped with a color television, micro fridge, iron/board and a free wireless connection. There is a daily maid service every morning with complementary coffee. The cable car lines are located only four blocks from the hotel for guest exploring the greater area of the city. The hotel also books return Airport shuttles only from the hotel to airport, at $15 per person and runs every half hour. Indoor parking is available nearby at a discounted rate starting at $16 per day/night.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mithila Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Mithila Hotel Rooms

Standard
Mithila Hotel is able to accommodate the needs of the everyday businessperson or a traveler on a modest budget. Our rooms come in three tiers; Double, Queen and Double-Twin beds. Every room is equipped with a newly remodeled room and private bathroom, color television, and telephone for your convenience. You will receive daily maid service every morning.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.7 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.7 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.8 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.9 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.2 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.3 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (48)

Ratings and reviews for Mithila Hotel

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 48
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Will H
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Apr 2, 2012

Value oriented

Hotel manager was accommodating and performed an upgrade to a Queen size bed with a bit more sq ft and a private bathroom for only $7.00 (yes, this was an upsell). The original booking was for a double bed with a community bathroom with even less sq ft than the one I got. The room is approx 11'x10' with the bathroom being 5'x4'. The hotel does have thin walls, creaking stairs, an adequate breakfast. Internet is provided for free, but I did not use it. Breakfast consists of apple, lemon, and cherry pastries; mini blueberry, banana nut and poppy seed muffins; instant oatmeal, and coffee. This location is located near several restaurants in a bit more unique part of town. The latest the office will recognize a late check in is approx 12:30am, so be sure to check in before that time as the office is not staffed past midnight. The room was clean, however, the carpet needs to be steam cleaned as it shows its worn age. The bathroom looks remodeled as opposed to the rest of the room. The hotel in general, does have a slight smell. Hotel does provide a microwave and mini fridge in the room. Paint has built up over the years as it has been repainted several times without being stripped off. Cathode ray tube TV is based off Dish Network with mostly local channels on analog signal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Claro
Business
Frisco, TX, USA
Oct 13, 2011

Mithila Hotel Review 10/10-10/12, 2011

That place stinks. As soon as I walk in the door of the hotel, it smelled like somebody peed. I questioned the guy, what that smell was and he told he just ordered some food. I wondered to myself what kind of food does he eat. I almost tuned around and walked out. I said I already paid for this and it is just a place to sleep and freshen up. Most of the time I won't be around the place anyway. But it was a bad experience overall. Never going back there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wynne
Business
Los Altos,CA
Feb 7, 2011

So far so good

I stayed in this hotel for one night. (1 shared bad + shared bath room)The room was clean and tidy, but the bath room was far away from my room, which was one stair below. They provided free internet service and this is good. However, the place was noisy. I couldn't fall asleep until 4am because people in another room turned on the TV and talked very loudly. It is okay if you just want a bed to sleep for one night because the price is cheap and reasonable, but I don't recommend it if you stay for a longer period.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

the hotel is quite near to china town and union square, just have to walk around 10-15 mins.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
King Hi-gul
Business
Perris, ca
Oct 10, 2010

Cheap but nice hotel!

The parking is terrible, the police wanted to tow my car when i was inside checking in. u just have to make sure you have you hazards on and don't stay to long in the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Alcatraz. Its awesome

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Geocacher
Business
Chesapeake VA
Feb 22, 2010

Good Cheap hotel

The hotel was a little hard to find, with just a single sign over a sunken back door. The room was in good shape, however it got a little cold at night because the radiator didn't put out enough heat to keep a tiny room warm sadly. And above me in the middle of the night, some woman just starts screaming, slamming doors, stomping feet....that was frustrating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent restaurant nearby called Nob Hill Grill, maybe two blocks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
hendroneworleans
Business
lousiana
Feb 17, 2010

very close to everything like chinatown

we are traveling to chinatown , that,s interesting place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

good location

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 19, 2009

very close to everthing

I had good time, front door given so I come and go as I please, stores next door , restrauant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

to union plaza 4 blocks

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
tx
May 8, 2009

Convinient location

I just sleeping there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 19, 2008

good location and economical

The Mithila was fine for what I wanted to pay. If you're only in your room to sleep, it was more than adequate. Clean room, not too noisy, updated bathroom, and coffee/rolls for morning without having to leave hotel. Not a great tv, no lobby and would not want to spend a lot of time in the room--but it was fine if you're not expecting too much. Parking right next door for $14/day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

close to Market street downtown, and off a bus line.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top