$100 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 18, 2015 Check-out: Mar 19, 2015

Mithila Hotel

2 stars
View map of 972 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94107

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
48 reviews
not bad

i dont know what to say about this hotel, its pretty average, not bad, exceeded my expectations... See full review

  • average 25 year old
  • Feb 10, 2014
Clean- comfort-great staff- cheap

I reserved this hotel for 1 night and stayed for 2. It was a busy weekend in SF so hotel prices... See full review

  • tammy and family
  • Nov 1, 2013
The Mithila Hotel is a charming European-style hotel located in the heart of downtown San Francisco; offering beautiful guest rooms, warm gracious services and excellent value surrounded near major attractions. We provide modern amenities at affordable rates. The hotel is within walking distance of Union Square, Chinatown, theaters, evening entertainment and affordable restaurants. The hotel is nestled between Union Square & Nob Hill. Therefore, you are a few blocks away from the main scene, however quiet enough where you can get a good night sleep. The hotel is situated in a nice safe neighborhood where there are other high-end hotels. The Mithila Hotel is able to accommodate the needs of the everyday business person or a traveler on a modest budget. All standard rooms come with its own private bathroom, newly refurbished and equipped with a color television, micro fridge, iron/board and a free wireless connection. There is a daily maid service every morning with complementary coffee. The cable car lines are located only four blocks from the hotel for guest exploring the greater area of the city. The hotel also books return Airport shuttles only from the hotel to airport, at $15 per person and runs every half hour. Indoor parking is available nearby at a discounted rate starting at $16 per day/night.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mithila Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Mithila Hotel Rooms

Standard
Mithila Hotel is able to accommodate the needs of the everyday businessperson or a traveler on a modest budget. Our rooms come in three tiers; Double, Queen and Double-Twin beds. Every room is equipped with a newly remodeled room and private bathroom, color television, and telephone for your convenience. You will receive daily maid service every morning.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.7 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.7 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.8 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.9 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.2 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.3 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (48)

Ratings and reviews for Mithila Hotel

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 48
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.3

42% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fritzman
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Apr 1, 2013

Comfortable & Clean

This is a comfortable and clean hotel -- a little worse for wear and tear -- that's centrally located. It has a minimal complimentary breakfast and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bec27
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Mar 25, 2013

No complaints for the price

This hotel has everything you need to survive for a cheap stay in San Francisco. It's not a particularly fancy place, but it's clean and is in a great location. You can't expect much more for the price but would recommend overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dbrewster
Business
Sa Fransisco, CA
Feb 17, 2013

Reasonable Weekend Getaway

We stressed over choosing this hotel because of some of the previous reviews, however, we were pleased with our choice for this particular weekend. We were not wanting to spend a lot of money on the room and did not care if there were alot of frills as we were not planning to spend much time in the room. It was clean and comfortable with ample space even if it could use a little TLC on the decor. The bathroom seemed to have been updated not too long ago. There was a TV though only about 10 channels to view which worked fine for us. We were surprised that we were not able to hear a lot of noise outside the room without an airconditioner running. The staff was nice and pleasant to deal with. We did not feel unsafe and came and went at different times of the day. Since there is no airconditioning in the hotel, it would be really helpful for them to install ceiling fans or have portable fans available. We had stayed at the Hotel Union Square on a previous visit and the room there was nicer as far as the amenities and decor though it was a lot smaller. That area of the city seemed a bit nicer but there were more homeless people around there. The locaction of the Mithila was pretty convenient to the bus lines to get to Fisherman's Wharf and other areas, with just a few blocks walk. We used a shuttle service ($15 each person) to get to the airport so we would not have to mess with luggage and transfers with the bus and train. Be sure to make a trip to the Tower for great views! We would probably stay here again for the same price, just not in the warmer months unless they provided fans as it would be too warm in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dondeivi
Business
Monterrey, NL, México
Mar 21, 2012

Price is in line with what you get

You get exactly for what you pay for, a good clean room with comfy sheets, very clean and nothing fancy. So I would rate it good, they have good location, offer good service, at a good price, want something nicer, then PAY MORE!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sutter pub is down 2 or 3 blocks on sutter st. Good service and food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MidMo
Business
Rolla, MO
Jul 16, 2011

The good, the bad, and the really ugly

Attended major international exhibition and conference at Moscone Center. It is necessary to ring a doorbell to enter after hours. The front desk is out of view on the second floor. A guest let me in and I walked up stairs until I found the desk (no signs). After check in I was shown how to use the bird cage elevator and went up to the fourth floor. My room was technically OK with a nice bathroom (new ceramic tile, tub, toilet and basin with new fixtures). Furnishings were worn, but drawers looked unused. TV had NBC, CNN, ESPN and a couple of local stations. The room was quiet. Breakfast was minimal, no juices or milk. One single factor spoiled the whole thing, the carpet. The stairs and hall carpets were very dirty. The room carpet was the worst I have ever seen, with many holes through to the flooring and a one foot diameter spot of something crusty, brown and dried (hopefully nothing worse than gravy). As I was leaving to check out someone had been ringing at the front door during the time it took me to go from the fourth floor down to the desk and then down to the entrance. It was an Asian couple with their son trying to get in. As with me, I was the departing guest opening the door for arriving guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Lori's Diner (a 50s style diner) at Sutter and Powell was a find for me. Service was fast and food was very good at reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, Ca
Jul 14, 2011

Buyer Beware

The hotel was very good at letting us check in early, but the room we got was terrible. For $73 we got a double bed and a sink. The toilet and closet sized shower were on a different floor. There were also a ton of flies in the lobby. The "breakfast" they offer is a joke, mini muffins and bad coffee do not a breakfast make. The beds were hard and the hotel is on the edge of a bad part of town. Also, the toilet never really flushed properly. I travel a lot, hostels, hotels, the occasional park bench- and what matters is getting what you pay for- and for $73 a night I expect a bathroom that works and that is attached to the room. Oh, you can also here everything going on in the other rooms and the hallway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Millenium, an upscale vegan(ish) restaurant was just a few block away. Truly a gem of SF

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Editor on a Mission
Business
Chicago, IL
Dec 5, 2010

Fine budget hotel

So, I was a little concerned after booking this hotel for my recent trip to San Francisco, as all the reviews seemed rather negative. However, I found the hotel to be just fine for what it was: a cheap place to stay. Additionally, the staff was friendly and helpful - I had to have two packages delivered to me while in SF and they held them at the desk, then brought them up to my room. And, tragically, when I came down with violent food poisoning after eating out on Thursday evening, they were extremely helpful about trying to make me as comfortable as possible. I thought that this hotel was a good value for what it was (though, to be honest, the much nicer Vertigo Hotel is only $20/night more expensive.) If I need a cheap place to stay in SF again, I'll more than willingly consider the Mithila Hotel for my needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get your basic food needs at the Sutter Market next door to this hotel, the rooms have microwaves and fridges in them, so you can save some $$ by eating in your room if you're traveling on a budget.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
alwaysontheroad
Business
brooklyn
Nov 9, 2010

walls too thin

the place has some good charm and is in a good spot. but the walls are just way too thin. the mattress felt like it was two pallets with a sheet over it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

indian restaurant around the corner rocks

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
swordxaxe
Business
Visalia, ca
Oct 26, 2010

Mithila

[...] The free breakfast they offer is just instant oatmeal and some pastry. Too bad, I thought the hotel itself was kind of nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 12, 2008

Not business or family friendly

They have several rooms with shared bathroom. I do not recommned this to anyone as a single female, I id not feel secure using hte shared bathroom. I got an upgrade on night two for addiotnal money and the room was adequate, but there are no frills. Bare essentials, no amenities, bad TV reception. Internet was comlementary, but slow. Steep stair case, poor continental breakfast, old, but overall clean. For backpackers, this is a great stop, for all other clients, not really sutible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

About six blocks from Union Square, and China Town. Good restaurants within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top