$100 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

Mithila Hotel

2 stars
972 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
48 reviews
not bad

i dont know what to say about this hotel, its pretty average, not bad, exceeded my expectations... See full review

  • average 25 year old
  • Feb 10, 2014
Clean- comfort-great staff- cheap

I reserved this hotel for 1 night and stayed for 2. It was a busy weekend in SF so hotel prices... See full review

  • tammy and family
  • Nov 1, 2013
The Mithila Hotel is a charming European-style hotel located in the heart of downtown San Francisco; offering beautiful guest rooms, warm gracious services and excellent value surrounded near major attractions. We provide modern amenities at affordable rates. The hotel is within walking distance of Union Square, Chinatown, theaters, evening entertainment and affordable restaurants. The hotel is nestled between Union Square & Nob Hill. Therefore, you are a few blocks away from the main scene, however quiet enough where you can get a good night sleep. The hotel is situated in a nice safe neighborhood where there are other high-end hotels. The Mithila Hotel is able to accommodate the needs of the everyday business person or a traveler on a modest budget. All standard rooms come with its own private bathroom, newly refurbished and equipped with a color television, micro fridge, iron/board and a free wireless connection. There is a daily maid service every morning with complementary coffee. The cable car lines are located only four blocks from the hotel for guest exploring the greater area of the city. The hotel also books return Airport shuttles only from the hotel to airport, at $15 per person and runs every half hour. Indoor parking is available nearby at a discounted rate starting at $16 per day/night.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mithila Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Mithila Hotel Rooms

Standard
Mithila Hotel is able to accommodate the needs of the everyday businessperson or a traveler on a modest budget. Our rooms come in three tiers; Double, Queen and Double-Twin beds. Every room is equipped with a newly remodeled room and private bathroom, color television, and telephone for your convenience. You will receive daily maid service every morning.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.7 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.7 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.8 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.9 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.2 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.3 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (48)

Ratings and reviews for Mithila Hotel

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.4

50% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Editor on a Mission
Business
Chicago, IL
Dec 5, 2010

Fine budget hotel

So, I was a little concerned after booking this hotel for my recent trip to San Francisco, as all the reviews seemed rather negative. However, I found the hotel to be just fine for what it was: a cheap place to stay. Additionally, the staff was friendly and helpful - I had to have two packages delivered to me while in SF and they held them at the desk, then brought them up to my room. And, tragically, when I came down with violent food poisoning after eating out on Thursday evening, they were extremely helpful about trying to make me as comfortable as possible. I thought that this hotel was a good value for what it was (though, to be honest, the much nicer Vertigo Hotel is only $20/night more expensive.) If I need a cheap place to stay in SF again, I'll more than willingly consider the Mithila Hotel for my needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get your basic food needs at the Sutter Market next door to this hotel, the rooms have microwaves and fridges in them, so you can save some $$ by eating in your room if you're traveling on a budget.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vineetsahu87
Business
Lake Mary, FL
Dec 3, 2010

Not the Best Not the worst

The rooms of the hotel were ok. I would say they were the best. But the location of the hotel is in the downtown so it close to many restaurants and places to hand out. The only problem was parking. After paying so much for the hotel no free parking was a turn off. It hard to find a parking spot in the downtown and you have to eventually park at public parking for which you will have to pay extra.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
alwaysontheroad
Business
brooklyn
Nov 9, 2010

walls too thin

the place has some good charm and is in a good spot. but the walls are just way too thin. the mattress felt like it was two pallets with a sheet over it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

indian restaurant around the corner rocks

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
swordxaxe
Business
Visalia, ca
Oct 26, 2010

Mithila

[...] The free breakfast they offer is just instant oatmeal and some pastry. Too bad, I thought the hotel itself was kind of nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
King Hi-gul
Business
Perris, ca
Oct 10, 2010

Cheap but nice hotel!

The parking is terrible, the police wanted to tow my car when i was inside checking in. u just have to make sure you have you hazards on and don't stay to long in the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Alcatraz. Its awesome

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
seriously happier to sleep in my car
Business
Nor-Cal
Jul 11, 2010

Happier to sleep in my car then here!

you could get over all the rinky-dink stuff if the staff were friendly. upon check in i was told if each guest didnt have id we couldnt stay there. when i went to makesure before checking in the guy tells me it wont matter because "i will lose my money anyway" then charges $20 deposit for 1 set of keys when the doorhandles are so messed up it takes a few minutes to open them. after 2 days of being told "i dont know" when asking how to call out they say theres a $10 charge & $1 per min. parking costs too. i had $100 charged to my card by the hotel overdrawing my account & the guy at the front desk couldnt tell me why! oh & they will pull the blinds down & ignor you if standup for yourself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

dont stay here, it was 1 thing after another until i could no longer enjoy what should have been my vacation!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Winters, ca
Jul 1, 2010

Mithila Hotel review

It was a nice Hotel. Rooms were small, but you get what you paid for. If your expecting the basics at a good price then this is your ideal Hotel. If you expecting more bang for your buck then your interests might fit somewhere else. would've been nice for more television channels, and better furniture would've been a nice touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

expect a decent work out if your walking towards anything.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PHAMiLE
Business
Fountain Valley
Jun 13, 2010

San Fransico Trip

The hotel kind of smells but its ok but service is the best there. The front tell was very helpful and if your looking for a cheap place in sf this is the place its in the middle of everwhere union square, japan town, and chinatown great location didnt have to drive at all

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

So where i went was Pier 39, Union square, chinatown, and japantwon.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveller from CA
Business
San Diego, CA
Jun 2, 2010

Mithila Hotel

The rooms were small and have just one double bed. A $15 extra charge at checkout is applied to children during checkout even though no extra services are provided (no extra bed or anything).[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Downtown/WHARF explorer
Business
Madison, WI
Jun 1, 2010

small, ancient, but clean w/great staff

-The staff was super helpful, especially with coordinating cab rides to the airport or around town. -No handicap access. Elevator isn't accessible until after you climb about 10 steps (also very inconvenient for heavy or lots of luggage). -Use of actual (metal)keys do not fit into doorway very well. -Room and bathroom are both very small. There is no storage for your stuff, so space is cramped for even one person. Two people is difficult. -Double bed is smaller than standard double beds in homes/other hotels. -Rooms have fairly hollow walls, but luckily the demographic of people who stay in this small hotel are typically quiet. -If I had the choice, I would probably stay here because it was far cheaper than other options. But, I would pay up to $30/night more for a better hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to 47 bus, which runs both to downtown and fisherman's wharf.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top