$118 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 5, 2015

Mithila Hotel

2 stars
View map of 972 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94107

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Mithila Hotel

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
2.3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.3

45% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lexington, KY
Jul 22, 2011

good place

It is a good place. My mom and I lived there for five days. We had a very good time. It is clean and the staff is friendly. They cleaned the room on time every day. And the price is cheap!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It loaces near Union Square. Thus the distance from the hotel to bus station, bart station, and stores are all very short. It is a very good place.

Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MidMo
Business
Rolla, MO
Jul 16, 2011

The good, the bad, and the really ugly

Attended major international exhibition and conference at Moscone Center. It is necessary to ring a doorbell to enter after hours. The front desk is out of view on the second floor. A guest let me in and I walked up stairs until I found the desk (no signs). After check in I was shown how to use the bird cage elevator and went up to the fourth floor. My room was technically OK with a nice bathroom (new ceramic tile, tub, toilet and basin with new fixtures). Furnishings were worn, but drawers looked unused. TV had NBC, CNN, ESPN and a couple of local stations. The room was quiet. Breakfast was minimal, no juices or milk. One single factor spoiled the whole thing, the carpet. The stairs and hall carpets were very dirty. The room carpet was the worst I have ever seen, with many holes through to the flooring and a one foot diameter spot of something crusty, brown and dried (hopefully nothing worse than gravy). As I was leaving to check out someone had been ringing at the front door during the time it took me to go from the fourth floor down to the desk and then down to the entrance. It was an Asian couple with their son trying to get in. As with me, I was the departing guest opening the door for arriving guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Lori's Diner (a 50s style diner) at Sutter and Powell was a find for me. Service was fast and food was very good at reasonable prices.

Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, Ca
Jul 14, 2011

Buyer Beware

The hotel was very good at letting us check in early, but the room we got was terrible. For $73 we got a double bed and a sink. The toilet and closet sized shower were on a different floor. There were also a ton of flies in the lobby. The "breakfast" they offer is a joke, mini muffins and bad coffee do not a breakfast make. The beds were hard and the hotel is on the edge of a bad part of town. Also, the toilet never really flushed properly. I travel a lot, hostels, hotels, the occasional park bench- and what matters is getting what you pay for- and for $73 a night I expect a bathroom that works and that is attached to the room. Oh, you can also here everything going on in the other rooms and the hallway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Millenium, an upscale vegan(ish) restaurant was just a few block away. Truly a gem of SF

Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chico, CA
Apr 4, 2011

no bueno

room was way to small! had no good channels! it had a bad smell to it. it made us just want to leave and go stay in our car!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Concord,CA
Jan 15, 2011

Horrible

Horrible there was no bathroom they offered a community restrooms and shower. It looked like I was staying in some dirty halfway house. I will never go here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Jan 9, 2011

A lot better than people are letting on

I stayed here with 2 girlfiends to celebrate a birthday. We decided to stay here because it was the cheapest hotel we could find in the city that was close to the club we were going to. We decided to ignore the bad reviews and I'm glad we did. The room was clean, equipped with a blow dryer, iron, microwave, and fridge, which is more than a lot of other, more expensive hotels. They also offer a free continental breakfast, which was a lot better than I expected. The man at the front desk was nice and really helpful. Overall I was surprisingly happy with the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Market, Bar, and restaurant all a few feet away.

Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san jose CA
Jan 1, 2011

Mithila Hotel in SF

We booked a room for NYE. So the price was doubled. It's very much like a motel 6. Central heating for the entire building so it's very cold. phone doesn't work so if you need something, you have to walk to the front desk or call from your cell phone. Perks: free wifi and cheap over night parking especially for downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Editor on a Mission
Business
Chicago, IL
Dec 5, 2010

Fine budget hotel

So, I was a little concerned after booking this hotel for my recent trip to San Francisco, as all the reviews seemed rather negative. However, I found the hotel to be just fine for what it was: a cheap place to stay. Additionally, the staff was friendly and helpful - I had to have two packages delivered to me while in SF and they held them at the desk, then brought them up to my room. And, tragically, when I came down with violent food poisoning after eating out on Thursday evening, they were extremely helpful about trying to make me as comfortable as possible. I thought that this hotel was a good value for what it was (though, to be honest, the much nicer Vertigo Hotel is only $20/night more expensive.) If I need a cheap place to stay in SF again, I'll more than willingly consider the Mithila Hotel for my needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get your basic food needs at the Sutter Market next door to this hotel, the rooms have microwaves and fridges in them, so you can save some $$ by eating in your room if you're traveling on a budget.

Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vineetsahu87
Business
Lake Mary, FL
Dec 3, 2010

Not the Best Not the worst

The rooms of the hotel were ok. I would say they were the best. But the location of the hotel is in the downtown so it close to many restaurants and places to hand out. The only problem was parking. After paying so much for the hotel no free parking was a turn off. It hard to find a parking spot in the downtown and you have to eventually park at public parking for which you will have to pay extra.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
alwaysontheroad
Business
brooklyn
Nov 9, 2010

walls too thin

the place has some good charm and is in a good spot. but the walls are just way too thin. the mattress felt like it was two pallets with a sheet over it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

indian restaurant around the corner rocks

Back to menu Return to top