$106 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 8, 2014 Check-out: Oct 9, 2014

Mithila Hotel

2 stars
972 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
48 reviews
not bad

i dont know what to say about this hotel, its pretty average, not bad, exceeded my expectations... See full review

  • average 25 year old
  • Feb 10, 2014
Clean- comfort-great staff- cheap

I reserved this hotel for 1 night and stayed for 2. It was a busy weekend in SF so hotel prices... See full review

  • tammy and family
  • Nov 1, 2013
The Mithila Hotel is a charming European-style hotel located in the heart of downtown San Francisco; offering beautiful guest rooms, warm gracious services and excellent value surrounded near major attractions. We provide modern amenities at affordable rates. The hotel is within walking distance of Union Square, Chinatown, theaters, evening entertainment and affordable restaurants. The hotel is nestled between Union Square & Nob Hill. Therefore, you are a few blocks away from the main scene, however quiet enough where you can get a good night sleep. The hotel is situated in a nice safe neighborhood where there are other high-end hotels. The Mithila Hotel is able to accommodate the needs of the everyday business person or a traveler on a modest budget. All standard rooms come with its own private bathroom, newly refurbished and equipped with a color television, micro fridge, iron/board and a free wireless connection. There is a daily maid service every morning with complementary coffee. The cable car lines are located only four blocks from the hotel for guest exploring the greater area of the city. The hotel also books return Airport shuttles only from the hotel to airport, at $15 per person and runs every half hour. Indoor parking is available nearby at a discounted rate starting at $16 per day/night.

Hotel Map

37.7883 -122.4163
Area served
San Fransisco and Union Square/Nob Hill/
Nearby airports
San Fransisco International, Oakland International and San Jose International
Area description
The Mithila Hotel is conveniently located near the American Conservatory Theater, Featuring some of San Francisco's finest theater, Ruby Skye, Union Square's premier nightclub and Johnny Foleys Irish Pub; live music, good food and a great bar!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mithila Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Mithila Hotel Rooms

Standard
Mithila Hotel is able to accommodate the needs of the everyday businessperson or a traveler on a modest budget. Our rooms come in three tiers; Double, Queen and Double-Twin beds. Every room is equipped with a newly remodeled room and private bathroom, color television, and telephone for your convenience. You will receive daily maid service every morning.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.7 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.7 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.8 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.9 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.2 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.3 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (48)

Ratings and reviews for Mithila Hotel

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.4

50% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dondeivi
Business
Monterrey, NL, México
Mar 21, 2012

Price is in line with what you get

You get exactly for what you pay for, a good clean room with comfy sheets, very clean and nothing fancy. So I would rate it good, they have good location, offer good service, at a good price, want something nicer, then PAY MORE!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sutter pub is down 2 or 3 blocks on sutter st. Good service and food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
average 25 year old
San Carlos, California
Feb 10, 2014

not bad

i dont know what to say about this hotel, its pretty average, not bad, exceeded my expectations when booking a cheap motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Curly Smith
San Jose, CA
Nov 9, 2013

Price equals quality

Great place for a nights stay in the city. Cheapest parking around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tammy and family
Alaska
Nov 1, 2013

Clean- comfort-great staff- cheap

I reserved this hotel for 1 night and stayed for 2. It was a busy weekend in SF so hotel prices were extreme high. Found this hotel cheaper on its website. I would stay here again. Older hotel, but Why pay lots more for the same accomadations.. Great Staff and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fritzman
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Apr 1, 2013

Comfortable & Clean

This is a comfortable and clean hotel -- a little worse for wear and tear -- that's centrally located. It has a minimal complimentary breakfast and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bec27
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Mar 25, 2013

No complaints for the price

This hotel has everything you need to survive for a cheap stay in San Francisco. It's not a particularly fancy place, but it's clean and is in a great location. You can't expect much more for the price but would recommend overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dbrewster
Business
Sa Fransisco, CA
Feb 17, 2013

Reasonable Weekend Getaway

We stressed over choosing this hotel because of some of the previous reviews, however, we were pleased with our choice for this particular weekend. We were not wanting to spend a lot of money on the room and did not care if there were alot of frills as we were not planning to spend much time in the room. It was clean and comfortable with ample space even if it could use a little TLC on the decor. The bathroom seemed to have been updated not too long ago. There was a TV though only about 10 channels to view which worked fine for us. We were surprised that we were not able to hear a lot of noise outside the room without an airconditioner running. The staff was nice and pleasant to deal with. We did not feel unsafe and came and went at different times of the day. Since there is no airconditioning in the hotel, it would be really helpful for them to install ceiling fans or have portable fans available. We had stayed at the Hotel Union Square on a previous visit and the room there was nicer as far as the amenities and decor though it was a lot smaller. That area of the city seemed a bit nicer but there were more homeless people around there. The locaction of the Mithila was pretty convenient to the bus lines to get to Fisherman's Wharf and other areas, with just a few blocks walk. We used a shuttle service ($15 each person) to get to the airport so we would not have to mess with luggage and transfers with the bus and train. Be sure to make a trip to the Tower for great views! We would probably stay here again for the same price, just not in the warmer months unless they provided fans as it would be too warm in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Carly Friedman
Sacramento, CA
Feb 15, 2013

Inexpensive, but you get what you pay for

Stayed here for one night, and don't know if I could handle much more. The room wasn't terribly small for an economy queen. The problem, the sheet were peeling and a little threadbare, our towels had large holes in them, and the bathroom and shower were on another floor. If I had known 2 floors of rooms were to be sharing a bathroom, I would have paid $10 more to stay at a different hotel that is much nicer and has a bathroom for every 3 rooms. Overall it was quiet, and we never saw another guest, but I got the feeling the carpet hadn't been replaced in 20 years and something terrible had happened in my room due to the cracked bed side lamp and completely ruined lampshade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Civic Center, so within walking distance to bill graham auditorium and events at the Civic Center. But if walking home late, expect ladies/men of the night on every corner surrounding hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
redsam
vancouver bc
May 16, 2012

cute and quirky

Awesome location for,a great price. Small but cute with lots of character.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Will H
Dallas, TX, USA
Apr 2, 2012

Value oriented

Hotel manager was accommodating and performed an upgrade to a Queen size bed with a bit more sq ft and a private bathroom for only $7.00 (yes, this was an upsell). The original booking was for a double bed with a community bathroom with even less sq ft than the one I got. The room is approx 11'x10' with the bathroom being 5'x4'. The hotel does have thin walls, creaking stairs, an adequate breakfast. Internet is provided for free, but I did not use it. Breakfast consists of apple, lemon, and cherry pastries; mini blueberry, banana nut and poppy seed muffins; instant oatmeal, and coffee. This location is located near several restaurants in a bit more unique part of town. The latest the office will recognize a late check in is approx 12:30am, so be sure to check in before that time as the office is not staffed past midnight. The room was clean, however, the carpet needs to be steam cleaned as it shows its worn age. The bathroom looks remodeled as opposed to the rest of the room. The hotel in general, does have a slight smell. Hotel does provide a microwave and mini fridge in the room. Paint has built up over the years as it has been repainted several times without being stripped off. Cathode ray tube TV is based off Dish Network with mostly local channels on analog signal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dondeivi
Business
Monterrey, NL, México
Mar 21, 2012

Price is in line with what you get

You get exactly for what you pay for, a good clean room with comfy sheets, very clean and nothing fancy. So I would rate it good, they have good location, offer good service, at a good price, want something nicer, then PAY MORE!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sutter pub is down 2 or 3 blocks on sutter st. Good service and food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top