Mithila Hotel ★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$65
avg/night
Rate based on
Check-in: Feb 19, 2016 Check-out: Feb 22, 2016
2.9 /5
Overall score
64%
Would recommend
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.5
1 2 3 4 5

Select your room

Room types

Show Prices Standard Double
  • Size: 118 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Economy Room
  • Size: 97 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Family Quad
  • Size: 118 sqft
  • Occupancy: 4
Show Prices Family Room
  • Size: 140 sqft
  • Occupancy: 3
Show Prices Standard Queen
  • Size: 118 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2

Overview

The Mithila Hotel is a charming European-style hotel located in the heart of downtown San Francisco; offering beautiful guest rooms, warm gracious services and excellent value surrounded near major attractions. We provide modern amenities at affordable rates. The hotel is within walking distance of Union Square, Chinatown, theaters, evening entertainment and affordable restaurants. The hotel is nestled between Union Square & Nob Hill. Therefore, you are a few blocks away from the main scene, however quiet enough where you can get a good night sleep. The hotel is situated in a nice safe neighborhood where there are other high-end hotels. The Mithila Hotel is able to accommodate the needs of the everyday business person or a traveler on a modest budget. All standard rooms come with its own private bathroom, newly refurbished and equipped with a color television, micro fridge, iron/board and a free wireless connection. There is a daily maid service every morning with complementary coffee. The cable car lines are located only four blocks from the hotel for guest exploring the greater area of the city. The hotel also books return Airport shuttles only from the hotel to airport, at $15 per person and runs every half hour. Indoor parking is available nearby at a discounted rate starting at $25 per day/night.

Recommendations for you

Guest score 3.5 / 5
$94
Guest score 3.7 / 5
$109
Guest score 3.0 / 5
$99
Guest score 2.9 / 5
$89
Guest score 3.1 / 5
$90
Guest score 3.5 / 5
$169

Amenities

Featured

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities

General

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
  • Elevators

Internet

  • WiFi

Parking

  • Parking

Reviews

2.9 /5 Overall score

64% Would recommend

  • Amenities: 2.5/5
  • Cleanliness: 3.3/5
  • Hotel staff: 3.4/5
  • Comfort: 2.8/5
  • Location: 3.7/5
  • Value: 3.5/5

Quick girls weekend

Would recommend Thu, Nov 5, 2015
The hotel was a nice location. Our only complaint was that it smelled bad at times. We couldn't tell if it was the room itself or the street below, but it wasn't unbearable. Staff was very accommodating with holding our luggage for the day/letting us check in early. Room was outdated, but clean. It was a great stay for what we paid, especially compared to other hotels in the area.

| Chicago Friends

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Hotel Stay

Would recommend Wed, Oct 14, 2015
The accommodations were pleasant enough. Entry into the unit was secure controlled by key card. Room was small but clean and well kept. TV was minimal and most stations were fuzzy. It was centurally located and close the area we needed access. Price was appropriate for San Francisco. Local restrurants were close by. We would stay there again as a safe place to spend the night.

| Harrells Couples

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Awesome Location in San Francisco

Would recommend Fri, Oct 9, 2015
Very good price, good location in the city of San Francisco. The only bad thing was I was with another person and we couldn't get 2 bath towels even when we asked for them!! Also there were lamps that didn't work and bathroom magnifying mirror that didn't work.

| N/A Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Bare bones, but Ok value for money.

Would recommend Tue, Aug 4, 2015
Good location, clean room, plenty of hot water. The room was quiet. The staff was very polite. Virtually no amenities, and the TV and its reception were very low quality with few channels to choose form (no PBS). A microwave and a refrigerator were in the room, both not plugged in, and the refrigerator door seemed partially detached. Very few electrical outlets. On balance, you get what you pay for, but you can rest here and it's close to Union Square.

| N/A Singles

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

location

Would recommend Tue, Apr 14, 2015
nice location to Polk st Van Ness and union square staff was nice room a little small but great value

| N/A Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 2 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

not bad

Would recommend Mon, Feb 10, 2014
i dont know what to say about this hotel, its pretty average, not bad, exceeded my expectations when booking a cheap motel.

| San Carlos, California Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Price equals quality

Would recommend Sat, Nov 9, 2013
Great place for a nights stay in the city. Cheapest parking around.

| San Jose, CA Friends

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Clean- comfort-great staff- cheap

Would recommend Fri, Nov 1, 2013
I reserved this hotel for 1 night and stayed for 2. It was a busy weekend in SF so hotel prices were extreme high. Found this hotel cheaper on its website. I would stay here again. Older hotel, but Why pay lots more for the same accomadations.. Great Staff and location.

| Alaska Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Reasonable Weekend Getaway

Would recommend Sun, Feb 17, 2013
We stressed over choosing this hotel because of some of the previous reviews, however, we were pleased with our choice for this particular weekend. We were not wanting to spend a lot of money on the room and did not care if there were alot of frills as we were not planning to spend much time in the room. It was clean and comfortable with ample space even if it could use a little TLC on the decor. The bathroom seemed to have been updated not too long ago. There was a TV though only about 10 channels to view which worked fine for us. We were surprised that we were not able to hear a lot of noise outside the room without an airconditioner running. The staff was nice and pleasant to deal with. We did not feel unsafe and came and went at different times of the day. Since there is no airconditioning in the hotel, it would be really helpful for them to install ceiling fans or have portable fans available. We had stayed at the Hotel Union Square on a previous visit and the room there was nicer as far as the amenities and decor though it was a lot smaller. That area of the city seemed a bit nicer but there were more homeless people around there. The locaction of the Mithila was pretty convenient to the bus lines to get to Fisherman's Wharf and other areas, with just a few blocks walk. We used a shuttle service ($15 each person) to get to the airport so we would not have to mess with luggage and transfers with the bus and train. Be sure to make a trip to the Tower for great views! We would probably stay here again for the same price, just not in the warmer months unless they provided fans as it would be too warm in the room.

| Sa Fransisco, CA Business

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Inexpensive, but you get what you pay for

Would not recommend Fri, Feb 15, 2013
Stayed here for one night, and don't know if I could handle much more. The room wasn't terribly small for an economy queen. The problem, the sheet were peeling and a little threadbare, our towels had large holes in them, and the bathroom and shower were on another floor. If I had known 2 floors of rooms were to be sharing a bathroom, I would have paid $10 more to stay at a different hotel that is much nicer and has a bathroom for every 3 rooms. Overall it was quiet, and we never saw another guest, but I got the feeling the carpet hadn't been replaced in 20 years and something terrible had happened in my room due to the cracked bed side lamp and completely ruined lampshade.

Nightlife hint

Short walk to Civic Center, so within walking distance to bill graham auditorium and events at the Civic Center. But if walking home late, expect ladies/men of the night on every corner surrounding hotel

| Sacramento, CA Couples

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 1 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Top hotels

Nearby points of interest

Grace Cathedral 0.3 mi
Kertesz Gallery 0.4 mi
Civic Centre 0.4 mi
Union Square 0.5 mi
Cable Car Museum 0.5 mi
Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption 0.6 mi
Haas Lilienthal House 0.6 mi
San Francisco City Hall 0.6 mi
Old St Mary's Cathedral 0.6 mi
Lafayette Park 0.7 mi
Toomey Tourell Gallery 0.7 mi
Konko Church of San Francisco 0.7 mi
Octagon House 0.7 mi
St Patrick's Church 0.7 mi
Japantown 0.7 mi
San Francisco Symphony 0.8 mi
Pioneer's Monument 0.8 mi
Don Soker Gallery 0.8 mi
Chinatown 0.8 mi
Japan Center 0.8 mi
SoMa 0.8 mi
Cartoon Art Museum 0.8 mi
San Francisco Museum of Modern Art 0.9 mi
Transamerica Pyramid 0.9 mi
Moscone Center 0.9 mi
871 Fine Arts 1 mi
Lombard Street 1 mi
Coit Tower 1.1 mi
Ghirardelli Square 1.2 mi
North Beach 1.3 mi
Ferry Building 1.3 mi
Hyde Street Pier 1.4 mi
Wax Museum Entertainment Complex 1.4 mi
Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum 1.4 mi
San Francisco Experience 1.4 mi
Port of San Francisco 1.4 mi
Aquarium of the Bay 1.4 mi
Underwater World 1.4 mi
Musee Mecanique 1.4 mi
Pier 39 1.5 mi
ATT Park 1.5 mi
Wyland Gallery 1.5 mi
Walter Adams Gallery 1.7 mi
Mission Dolores 1.7 mi
Mission Delores 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

$65
avg/night
Choose dates
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 19, 2016 Check-out: Feb 22, 2016