$120 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Mithila Hotel

2 stars
972 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
64 reviews
not bad

i dont know what to say about this hotel, its pretty average, not bad, exceeded my expectations... See full review

  • average 25 year old
  • Feb 10, 2014
Comfortable & Clean

This is a comfortable and clean hotel -- a little worse for wear and tear -- that's centrally... See full review

  • Fritzman
  • Apr 1, 2013
The Mithila Hotel is a charming European-style hotel located in the heart of downtown San Francisco; offering beautiful guest rooms' warm gracious services and excellent value surrounded near major attractions. We are walking distance to Union Square, Chinatown, theaters and world -class restaurants. Together with our commitment to quality, you'll enjoy a high standard of hospitality reflected in the quiet elegance of our surroundings and the personal attention from our friendly staff, dedicated to making your stay an enjoyable experience. The Mithila Hotel was established in 1920 & fully restored in 1998. Restoration took nearly 2 years to complete taking care to maintain original ceiling moldings and marble flooring. The Mithila Hotel, formerly the Roy croft Hotel, is a highly regarded boutique hotel with modern amenities and affordable rates. Our family has been at this location for the last 20 years. Along the way we have changed our name once, but we have learned that the most important characteristic customers look for has not changed a friendly and welcoming staff that exudes traditional hospitality. We opened The Mithila Hotel with a simple idea: at your favorite hotel, you feel like you're coming home. You'll find warm, comfortable surroundings and friendly staff who greet you by name. Since there are only 40 rooms, you'll find peace and quiet. Parking is available offsite for fourteen dollars. What does The Mithila Hotel do better than any other hotel? We steadily attend to all of your needs in a relaxed atmosphere. We know you need a nice umbrella when it rains, an idea for a cozy and affordable restaurant, directions to Fisherman's Wharf. No problem. Everything you need is handled without a charge and without a fuss. It's a pleasure to serve you.

Hotel Map

37.7883 -122.4163
Area served
San Fransisco and Union Square/Nob Hill/
Nearby airports
San Fransisco International, Oakland International and San Jose International
Area description
The Mithila Hotel is conveniently located near the American Conservatory Theater, Featuring some of San Francisco's finest theater, Ruby Skye, Union Square's premier nightclub and Johnny Foleys Irish Pub; live music, good food and a great bar!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mithila Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Mithila Hotel Rooms

Standard
Mithila Hotel is able to accommodate the needs of the everyday businessperson or a traveler on a modest budget. Our rooms come in three tiers; Double, Queen and Double-Twin beds. Every room is equipped with a newly remodeled room and private bathroom, color television, international direct phone lines, and data port lines for your convenience. You will receive daily maid service every morning.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Free breakfast
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.7 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.7 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.8 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.9 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.2 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.3 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (64)

Ratings and reviews for Mithila Hotel

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.5

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Claro
Frisco, TX, USA
Oct 13, 2011

Mithila Hotel Review 10/10-10/12, 2011

That place stinks. As soon as I walk in the door of the hotel, it smelled like somebody peed. I questioned the guy, what that smell was and he told he just ordered some food. I wondered to myself what kind of food does he eat. I almost tuned around and walked out. I said I already paid for this and it is just a place to sleep and freshen up. Most of the time I won't be around the place anyway. But it was a bad experience overall. Never going back there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Carly Friedman
Sacramento, CA
Feb 15, 2013

Inexpensive, but you get what you pay for

Stayed here for one night, and don't know if I could handle much more. The room wasn't terribly small for an economy queen. The problem, the sheet were peeling and a little threadbare, our towels had large holes in them, and the bathroom and shower were on another floor. If I had known 2 floors of rooms were to be sharing a bathroom, I would have paid $10 more to stay at a different hotel that is much nicer and has a bathroom for every 3 rooms. Overall it was quiet, and we never saw another guest, but I got the feeling the carpet hadn't been replaced in 20 years and something terrible had happened in my room due to the cracked bed side lamp and completely ruined lampshade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Civic Center, so within walking distance to bill graham auditorium and events at the Civic Center. But if walking home late, expect ladies/men of the night on every corner surrounding hotel

Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Concord,CA
Jan 15, 2011

Horrible

Horrible there was no bathroom they offered a community restrooms and shower. It looked like I was staying in some dirty halfway house. I will never go here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
seriously happier to sleep in my car
Nor-Cal
Jul 11, 2010

Happier to sleep in my car then here!

you could get over all the rinky-dink stuff if the staff were friendly. upon check in i was told if each guest didnt have id we couldnt stay there. when i went to makesure before checking in the guy tells me it wont matter because "i will lose my money anyway" then charges $20 deposit for 1 set of keys when the doorhandles are so messed up it takes a few minutes to open them. after 2 days of being told "i dont know" when asking how to call out they say theres a $10 charge & $1 per min. parking costs too. i had $100 charged to my card by the hotel overdrawing my account & the guy at the front desk couldnt tell me why! oh & they will pull the blinds down & ignor you if standup for yourself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

dont stay here, it was 1 thing after another until i could no longer enjoy what should have been my vacation!

Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, Ca
Jul 14, 2011

Buyer Beware

The hotel was very good at letting us check in early, but the room we got was terrible. For $73 we got a double bed and a sink. The toilet and closet sized shower were on a different floor. There were also a ton of flies in the lobby. The "breakfast" they offer is a joke, mini muffins and bad coffee do not a breakfast make. The beds were hard and the hotel is on the edge of a bad part of town. Also, the toilet never really flushed properly. I travel a lot, hostels, hotels, the occasional park bench- and what matters is getting what you pay for- and for $73 a night I expect a bathroom that works and that is attached to the room. Oh, you can also here everything going on in the other rooms and the hallway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Millenium, an upscale vegan(ish) restaurant was just a few block away. Truly a gem of SF

Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
East Bay
Sep 23, 2009

The San Francisco

Worst experience in a hotel EVER!!! Upon my arrival, the front door on my room was coming off its hinges and wouldnt close properly. The owner/manager was rude and lacked customer service skills. Would not recomend this hotel to my worst enemy. Dont even know why Orbitz has them listed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
rhiannon
Business
Anchorage, AK
Apr 29, 2007

Good Location

The rooms are small. If you are looking for a bed and shower for a lower price, this is a good place, and good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Less than a mile away from great shopping off of powell street.

Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Delawuis
Cape Cod, MA
Oct 28, 2009

more like a hostel than a hotel

Upon arrival we were met with a very strong cooking odor in a small, cramped area. The rugs are dirty and stained. The staff was nice enough to allow early check-in, brought extra pillows, called us a taxi, but this place is for the young adventerous traveller versus a couple looking for a place to relax after a day of walking about the city. The lighting in the rooms is horrid. It's a well-worn property, but reasonably clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
hendroneworleans
lousiana
Feb 17, 2010

very close to everything like chinatown

we are traveling to chinatown , that,s interesting place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

good location

Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wynne
Los Altos,CA
Feb 7, 2011

So far so good

I stayed in this hotel for one night. (1 shared bad + shared bath room)The room was clean and tidy, but the bath room was far away from my room, which was one stair below. They provided free internet service and this is good. However, the place was noisy. I couldn't fall asleep until 4am because people in another room turned on the TV and talked very loudly. It is okay if you just want a bed to sleep for one night because the price is cheap and reasonable, but I don't recommend it if you stay for a longer period.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

the hotel is quite near to china town and union square, just have to walk around 10-15 mins.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search