$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 27, 2015 Check-out: Feb 28, 2015

King George Hotel

3 stars
View map of 334 Mason St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
225 reviews
Business

My 3rd stay and not my last. Close to BART, Union Square, and Market St. Only a desk chair in a... See full review

  • Alaska flyer
  • Feb 4, 2015
Great hotel, good location

The King George hotel was very clean, quiet and comfortable. Room was small, but cozy and... See full review

  • Joseph H.
  • Jan 20, 2015
Stately boutique hotel near Union Square
Considering its name and the British flag flying out front, it's no surprise that the King George Hotel near San Francisco's Union Square district has a decidedly European flair. Decorative touches are subtle but continue this theme: chess boards in every room, coats of arms, and more. All guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access. The on-site restaurant, Winston's Bar and Lounge, even serves imported beer.
Highlights
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access
  • Hop on any one of the city's cable cars down the street
  • Union Square shopping is only a four-block walk from the hotel
Rooms

Accommodations -- 141 rooms and 12 suites in all -- vary in size and configuration but come standard with flat-screen televisions, pillow-top mattresses, MP3 docking stations and in-room safes. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access as well as nightly turndown service.

Features

The King George Hotel, a free-standing structure, dates back to 1914 and has been renovated numerous times since. It also is now a certified member of the California Green Lodging Program.

All guests have access to a nearby Club One Health Club (fees apply), a full-service facility with spa, pool and fitness center. The hotel also offers 24-hour laundry service (fees apply).

Grab a pint (what else?) at Winston's Bar & Lounge, a kitschy-but-lovable bar on the ground floor. The pub no longer serves food, but the scene is still lively on weekend nights.

Valet and self-parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/30 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (15 mi/25 km)
  • Cable car stops (3 blocks)
  • BART (6 blocks/1 km)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Union Square (3 blocks)
  • Theater District (4 blocks)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • AT&T Park (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Golden Gate Park (6 mi/10 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center in lobby
  • Intimate 500-square-foot meeting room
Policies and Fees
  • The hotel accepts reservations for guests under 18 years old given that parent/legal guardian guarantees payment for all charges. If legally emancipated, guests can present documents that prove emancipation and the ability to shoulder expenses at the hotel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed King George Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

King George Hotel Rooms

Standard Room with One Queen Bed
Standard Room One Queen bed is furnished with English Tudor furniture, writing desk, ceiling fans and a comfortable queen bed with full duvet and Scotland wool throw blankets. Each room is equipped Complimentary wireless Internet Access. Also, all rooms have private baths, remote control flat screen televisions, telephones with voice mail and data ports, safes, ironing equipment, hairdryers and electronic door locks. Non smoking. 24-hour room service and same day valet laundry service is also available.
Standard Room with Two Twin Beds
Standard Room with Two Twin Beds is furnished with English Tudor furniture, writing desk, ceiling fans and a comfortable queen bed with full duvet and Scotland wool throw blankets. Each room is equipped complimentary wireless Internet Access. Also, all rooms have private baths, remote control flat screen televisions, telephones with voice mail and data ports, safes, ironing equipment, hairdryers and electronic door locks. Non smoking. 24-hour room service and same day valet laundry service is also available.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi
  • Lands End: 2 mi

Dining

Winston's Bar & Lounge
Wine and champagne lounge serving specialty beers and appetizers Evening hours 5 pm to 10 pm Enjoy our selective bottled wines at smashing prices!

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The King George Hotel has a perfect ground level meeting room to host your business. The meeting room is equipped with complimentary high speed wireless internet access for presentations. And, an arrangement of foods & beverages are available for your working lunch or on-site event! It is truly the BEST place on Union Square to hold a meeting for 40 or less people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (225)

Ratings and reviews for King George Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 225
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anna F.
Business
San Diego
Feb 4, 2015

Family

Staff great. Room very small. The worst: ELEVATOR. Small, busy all the time, staff uses same elevator to do maintenance, cleanings carts, sheets and all kind...very nice staff, however, unwanted trips to the basement!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
What a shinning face
Business
La puente
Jan 25, 2015

Good location but the beds are too small

The air conditioning is broke and the beds are too small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pound7
Business
new york
Jan 12, 2015

Nice room in Union Square at this price

If the price is right, I would choose this hotel first. Because of the location, old fashioned lobby, and English logo, I was attracted and wanted to stay at this hotel for some time. After New Year 2014/15, the price was low and I had my chance. I was not disappointed. I judge Hotels in this order : 1) Bed was firm, and quality bedding, 2) Window opened, 3) No smell in room, clean, not cluttered 4) Small hotel and I could take stairs up and down, 5) Good size for room type, and 6) Coffee maker so I could make tea, 6) Has a bathtub

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lisa52
Business
Pennsylvania
Jul 28, 2014

Excellent location for a reasonable price

This little boutique hotel was perfect for my solo trip (and first!) to San Francisco. It was close to decent restaurants, public transportation, and shopping. I am an avid walker, and I didn't really need any of the public transportation for most of my trip. It is within a mile in any direction to almost everything I wanted to see. The room was small, but very clean and pretty. There is no A/C, but it is cool in SF, so I didn't miss it. All the rooms have ceiling fans and windows that open. It has a nice little lounge, and they have complimentary coffee, tea and ice water in the mornings (no breakfast). I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pocholo Traveler
Business
Cincinnati, Ohio
Jul 16, 2014

great location, great staff, okay room

The hotel location is great but the room is quite basic. There was no desk and no chair in the room so it was difficult working on my computer as I had to do that while sitting in bed. It was also hard to hang out with another person in the room, again because the room was basically just the bed and a small dresser that also holds the TV. However I should say that the staff was very nice and accommodated my questions and small requests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Mason next door

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MouM2
Business
Pittsburgh
Jun 19, 2014

Great location and fair price

Very friendly staff and great location I would suggest for you to park your car in any of the parking lots that are 2 blocks away if you want overnight parking. It is cheaper than using the hotel's valet parking service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
stephen Moore
Business
wood-ridge,new jersey
May 12, 2014

Adequate

Good location. It worked for me as I just needed a place to sleep and like a warm room. Clean but no Air Conditioning

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lori's diner next door is great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kelly AJ
Business
Los Angeles
Apr 28, 2014

Money well spent

This hotel was ok.... Clean and in the center of town. It was easily accessible from the Bart station. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

I really enjoyed the music at John Colin Lounge. It was a bit of old and new school hip hop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ben folds
Business
San Jose, CA
Mar 31, 2014

In town for business

Nicely situated small hotel. Clean rooms, fairly quiet for being right off of a busy street. Close to theaters, shopping eating drinking etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alaska flyer
Business
Anchorage
Jan 30, 2014

Well located

Good value. Hotel is older and room was very small and would be quite crowded if I were not alone. My second, but not may last stay. Like the location and free Internet. They are renovating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top