$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2015 Check-out: Aug 29, 2015

King George Hotel

3 stars
View map of 334 Mason St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
217 reviews
Great trip!

The hotel was very nice and located close to Union Square and all the shopping and cable cars. And... See full review

  • Love Chicago Mag Mile
  • Jul 15, 2015
Great hotel

I liked it - top floor room and super price for Union Square and the front desk people were helpful... See full review

  • thomas w.
  • Jul 12, 2015
Considering its name and the British flag flying out front, it's no surprise that the King George Hotel near San Francisco's Union Square district has a decidedly European flair. Decorative touches are subtle but continue this theme: chess boards in every room, coats of arms, and more. All guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access. The on-site restaurant, Winston's Bar and Lounge, even serves imported beer.
Rooms

Accommodations -- 141 rooms and 12 suites in all -- vary in size and configuration but come standard with flat-screen televisions, pillow-top mattresses, MP3 docking stations and in-room safes. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access as well as nightly turndown service.

Property features

The King George Hotel, a free-standing structure, dates back to 1914 and has been renovated numerous times since. It also is now a certified member of the California Green Lodging Program.

All guests have access to a nearby Club One Health Club (fees apply), a full-service facility with spa, pool and fitness center. The hotel also offers 24-hour laundry service (fees apply).

Grab a pint (what else?) at Winston's Bar & Lounge, a kitschy-but-lovable bar on the ground floor. The pub no longer serves food, but the scene is still lively on weekend nights.

Valet and self-parking are available (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access
  • Hop on any one of the city's cable cars down the street
  • Union Square shopping is only a four-block walk from the hotel
Nearby attractions
  • Union Square (3 blocks)
  • Theater District (4 blocks)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • AT&T Park (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Golden Gate Park (6 mi/10 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center in lobby
  • Intimate 500-square-foot meeting room
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/30 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (15 mi/25 km)
  • Cable car stops (3 blocks)
  • BART (6 blocks/1 km)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Policies
  • The hotel accepts reservations for guests under 18 years old given that parent/legal guardian guarantees payment for all charges. If legally emancipated, guests can present documents that prove emancipation and the ability to shoulder expenses at the hotel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed King George Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

King George Hotel Rooms

Standard Room with One Queen Bed
Standard Room One Queen bed is furnished with English Tudor furniture, writing desk, ceiling fans and a comfortable queen bed with full duvet and Scotland wool throw blankets. Each room is equipped Complimentary wireless Internet Access. Also, all rooms have private baths, remote control flat screen televisions, telephones with voice mail and data ports, safes, ironing equipment, hairdryers and electronic door locks. Non smoking. 24-hour room service and same day valet laundry service is also available.
Standard Room with Two Twin Beds
Standard Room with Two Twin Beds is furnished with English Tudor furniture, writing desk, ceiling fans and a comfortable queen bed with full duvet and Scotland wool throw blankets. Each room is equipped complimentary wireless Internet Access. Also, all rooms have private baths, remote control flat screen televisions, telephones with voice mail and data ports, safes, ironing equipment, hairdryers and electronic door locks. Non smoking. 24-hour room service and same day valet laundry service is also available.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi
  • Lands End: 2 mi

Dining

Winston's Bar & Lounge
Wine and champagne lounge serving specialty beers and appetizers Evening hours 5 pm to 10 pm Enjoy our selective bottled wines at smashing prices!

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The King George Hotel has a perfect ground level meeting room to host your business. The meeting room is equipped with complimentary high speed wireless internet access for presentations. And, an arrangement of foods & beverages are available for your working lunch or on-site event! It is truly the BEST place on Union Square to hold a meeting for 40 or less people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for King George Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 217
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GradeA
Business
San Jose, CA
Aug 22, 2010

Quaint and Convenient, but Noisy

This was a great choice hotel for the convenience. There are a lot of things close by including 24hour diners, convenience stores, bars, union square, parking lot. My wife and were looking for an affordable hotel for the evening for a reunion and some shopping the next day, and in that respects, The King George Hotel fit that bill. Unfortunately, the old style windows has little insulation to the LOUD city noises. We could hear everything on the street from the 5th floor. It was a restless night as party goers, dump trunks, car alarms, and emergency vehicles went on with their business!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SF Party Girl
Business
Rohnert Park
Jun 4, 2012

Quiant Hotel in SF

The King George is a cute little place with its Brittish charm, but I got an unpleasant surprise when I opened the door and saw how small our (2 twin bed) room was. The pictures online must not have made that clear. Otherwise our stay was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TCRunner
Business
Visalia, CA
Oct 25, 2012

Made for a good Marathon Weekend Trip

The staff was very courteous and helpful. I especially liked the protein bars and gatorade they had set out on race morning, that was a really special touch. I did not like that our room was TINY-I mean barely enough room to walk around the queen bed and the ceilings were LOW, like i could put my whole hand, palm and all, on the ceiling and I'm only 5'7". Although, the bathroom was spacious and the toiletries were nice. There was also a candy dish but all it had were empty wrappers-weird. Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to stay very close to Union Square, but who isn't too tall or wanting to do much more than sleep in their hotel room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ARML
Business
California
Jun 10, 2014

Perfect Location

Very friendly staffs. Perfect location. Extremely small rooms which is expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
R. duke
Business
san diego
Apr 10, 2011

good location good people

The staff was friendly. good location. Good food next store, even better bars and hot-spots within a couple blocks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, HI
Oct 13, 2009

Like I was in Europe.

The hotel reminded me of the hotels I've stayed in in Europe. The halls seem like a dormitory or apt. The rooms are very cute and decorative, but very small compared to the average American room. The staff was friendly, except had a little problem with them recording our late check out request. The hotel grew on us and became home. It was conveniently close to the Cable Car line and to many 24 hour restaurants. I probably would not stay there again, but it was a nice memory.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jul 13, 2009

"Convenient to everything"

This hotel is similar to several others in the Union Square area but, with probably the smallest of rooms. But, oh the good price. Paid a super competitive price for this hotel in the heart of the action. The hotel, as with others in this area of downtown SF, is super convenient to everything. Inexpensive cab ride to ballpark or a 30 minute walk. Cable cars and Chinatown within a couple of blocks. Restaurants, bookstore, a zillion shops all within steps. Even caught a bus 3 short blocks away and for a couple of bucks was taken to Haight Ashbury District for some exploring and an interesting self quided walking tour. Staff friendly. Clean rooms. Shower worked better than some I've had in $200 a night hotels. You're going to get the big city noise but, to me that's part of the fun. If you're a light sleeper better try somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Catch the cable car on Powell one block up from the turnaround (end of the line). Avoids the long lines at the Powell and Market starting point.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tee1380
Business
New York, NY
Nov 3, 2010

Awesome location and Great service!

I stayed at the King George for my vacation trip in SF. My stay included lots of sightseeing, eating and drinking. I wished the rooms were bigger and the hotel was more modern. This trip was one of the best ones because it was so easy to get to the whole city from the hotel. The staff was super helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cbbarthe
Business
Chino, CA
Jun 19, 2014

Close to public transportation

The hotel is one street over from Union Square and local shopping. And access to public transportation and bus tours is handy. The rooms are small but newly remodeled and very clean. Since it is a busy city there is a fair share of street noise that you would except. We enjoyed a nice glass wine in their bar after a busy day touring the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NWHM Runner
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Oct 20, 2014

Low rating, but I'd prob stay here again

I though this was a really cute little hotel in the heart of Union Square. Small rooms, but nice decor/touches. I really only needed somewhere to sleep and I wish that's what I could've gotten: sleep!! I get it, San Fran is a huge, bustling city. But I could not believe how awful the city noise was. We were in a room that was overlooked/was underneath an ally way and there were people partying all night there. And if there wasn't people making noise it was garbage trucks and business owners taking the trash out at all hours. Awful, awful, awful noise!!! ! We shut all the windows and even turned on the T.V. in hopes to drown out the ally way noise, but no luck! We had another member of our group who's room wasn't on the same side as ours and she didn't complain at all about noise. Request a room AWAY from that ally way! The staff was nice but they could've shown more enthusiasm for the guests...ie: smiled...even once would've been nice! There was a coffee/water table set up for guests in the morning and iced water available to us throughout the day. The price was right for the location and dates we were there and if I couldn't find anything comparable I'd stay again. IF it wasn't in that ally way!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top