$174 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 18, 2014 Check-out: Jul 21, 2014

King George Hotel

3 stars
334 Mason St., San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
291 reviews
Great, old feeling hotel

I usually stay between three and only three hotels in San Francisco. The King George is among one... See full review

  • jemwatso
  • Mar 17, 2014
Walk past the fancy ones, this is the one to use!

King George Hotel is small. It is quaint. It has charm. It is clean and located a couple of block... See full review

  • RapidCycler
  • Mar 8, 2014
Stately boutique hotel near Union Square
Considering its name and the British flag flying out front, it's no surprise that the King George Hotel near San Francisco's Union Square district has a decidedly European flair. Decorative touches are subtle but continue this theme: chess boards in every room, coats of arms, and more. All guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access. The on-site restaurant, Winston's Bar and Lounge, even serves imported beer.
Highlights
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access
  • Hop on any one of the city's cable cars down the street
  • Union Square shopping is only a four-block walk from the hotel
Rooms

Accommodations -- 141 rooms and 12 suites in all -- vary in size and configuration but come standard with flat-screen televisions, pillow-top mattresses, MP3 docking stations and in-room safes. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access as well as nightly turndown service.

Features

The King George Hotel, a free-standing structure, dates back to 1914 and has been renovated numerous times since. It also is now a certified member of the California Green Lodging Program.

All guests have access to a nearby Club One Health Club (fees apply), a full-service facility with spa, pool and fitness center. The hotel also offers 24-hour laundry service (fees apply).

Grab a pint (what else?) at Winston's Bar & Lounge, a kitschy-but-lovable bar on the ground floor. The pub no longer serves food, but the scene is still lively on weekend nights.

Valet and self-parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/30 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (15 mi/25 km)
  • Cable car stops (3 blocks)
  • BART (6 blocks/1 km)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Union Square (3 blocks)
  • Theater District (4 blocks)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • AT&T Park (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Golden Gate Park (6 mi/10 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center in lobby
  • Intimate 500-square-foot meeting room

Hotel Map

37.7868 -122.4094
Area served
San Francisco, Marin, Napa, Oakland
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, Oakland International Airport
Area description
When you stay at the King George, you are close to some of San Francisco's major sightseeing and vacation spots. You are just 1 mile from Chinatown, Coit Tower and Cable Car Museum. The magnificent Pier 39, Lombard Street, Ghirardelli Square, Fisherman's Wharf are just 2 miles from the King George. Lots of shopping, fun and recreational activities await you in these areas. You can drive down to the Golden Gate Bridge, 5 miles from the King George, and enjoy its spectacular view of the city. When you stay at the King George San Francisco, you are in the heart of San Francisco's Union Square with the city's best hotspots at your fingertips. You are just a walk from Moscone Convention Center and half a block from the San Francisco Hilton. You are close to plenty of fine restaurants and eat outs, world class shopping, theatre and San Francisco's world famous cable car line to Fisherman's Wharf.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed King George Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

King George Hotel Rooms

Standard Room with One Queen Bed
Standard Room One Queen bed is furnished with English Tudor furniture, writing desk, ceiling fans and a comfortable queen bed with full duvet and Scotland wool throw blankets. Each room is equipped Complimentary wireless Internet Access. Also, all rooms have private baths, remote control flat screen televisions, telephones with voice mail and data ports, safes, ironing equipment, hairdryers and electronic door locks. Non smoking. 24-hour room service and same day valet laundry service is also available.
Standard Room with Two Twin Beds
Standard Room with Two Twin Beds is furnished with English Tudor furniture, writing desk, ceiling fans and a comfortable queen bed with full duvet and Scotland wool throw blankets. Each room is equipped complimentary wireless Internet Access. Also, all rooms have private baths, remote control flat screen televisions, telephones with voice mail and data ports, safes, ironing equipment, hairdryers and electronic door locks. Non smoking. 24-hour room service and same day valet laundry service is also available.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The King George Hotel has a perfect ground level meeting room to host your business. The meeting room is equipped with complimentary high speed wireless internet access for presentations. And, an arrangement of foods & beverages are available for your working lunch or on-site event! It is truly the BEST place on Union Square to hold a meeting for 40 or less people.

Dining

Winston's Bar & Lounge
Wine and champagne lounge serving specialty beers and appetizers Evening hours 5 pm to 10 pm Enjoy our selective bottled wines at smashing prices!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (291)

Ratings and reviews for King George Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 291
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GaryC327
Clovis, CA
Aug 16, 2012

Worst hotel we have ever stayed at

The hotel building itself is ok but it is very old. Elevator is very small. 4 people and it is crowded. Rooms are small with no room to put your stuff. Not much room in the bathroom to set toiletries. Walls are thin. We could hear very clearly the guests in the room next door. Staff was very good. Parking is $35/day as an fyi. The biggest problem which is not the hotels but totally ruined our experience is the street noise and panhandling from the homeless people. We were kept awake all night by people rummaging through the trash cans and dragging around their bags full of glass bottles. We also got panhandled everytime we stepped outside. Very sad and very annoying. On that alone I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. We had a very bad experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
4
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Honolulu
Sep 16, 2010

The King George Hotel

Great central location. Close to restaurants, downtown shopping, BART. Very nice staff. Walking distance to a fitness center. Next time would request a room opposite from the alley on the south side. The alley echoed with noise to the wee hours of the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lori's Cafe right next door, easy location and good food for breakfast.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Itchy Parents
Oak Park, Illinois
Sep 2, 2009

Going buggie in San Francisco

Noise from the city street could be heard from the 4th floor even in a room away from the street. Lost sleep. One of the first things I noticed was a small stain on the sheet of a drop of blood. Now I know it was the blood sucked from a guest by BED BUGS. On the second night I saw and felt the bed bugs! After we told them about the bed bugs, they washed all our clothes, gave me money for Benedryl cream, and changed our room to the 2nd floor. Now my husband and I have a big medical bill and have to take a 5 day course of steroids and itch! San Francisco is one of the top ten cities tourist visit in the world and has lots of visitors from around the world. So those bugs could have come from any continent carrying any disease! We have heard that the bed bug problem is spreading, much higher and wide spread than ever, and after we returned home we learned it is especially buggie in San Francisco. We came on Wednesday to take our 19 year old to the Academy of Art University. Luckily she says she was not bitten. She moved out of the hotel into her dorm on Friday morning. We left on Sunday. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Bathroom and LED flat screen TV was nice. No view out window. The restaurants surrounding the hotel were very expensive; the hotel only provided tea & coffee, not even a continental breakfast. Disappointing. When you pay $4.99 at a restaurant for a glass of orange juice, it spoils your appetite. Hotel had no fridge for doggie bags for overpriced over sized meals. The Pinecrest Diner nearby the hotel had good food and was very popular for breakfast. Prices started at $9.95. But the hotel was close to the dorm and transportation and lots of Walgreens for dorm supplies and Benedryl. It was in walking distance to Chinatown and the Union Plaza with its visitors center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

If you see small red stains on the sheets, run for your life. The bed bugs have a great nightlife.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Itchy Parents
Oak Park, Illinois
Sep 2, 2009

Going buggie in San Francisco

Noise from the city street could be heard from the 4th floor even in a room away from the street. Lost sleep. One of the first things I noticed was a small stain on the sheet of a drop of blood. Now I know it was the blood sucked from a guest by BED BUGS. On the second night I saw and felt the bed bugs! After we told them about the bed bugs, they washed all our clothes, gave me money for Benedryl cream, and changed our room to the 2nd floor. Now my husband and I have a big medical bill and have to take a 5 day course of steroids and itch! San Francisco is one of the top ten cities tourist visit in the world and has lots of visitors from around the world. So those bugs could have come from any continent carrying any disease! We have heard that the bed bug problem is spreading, much higher and wide spread than ever, and after we returned home we learned it is especially buggie in San Francisco. We came on Wednesday to take our 19 year old to the Academy of Art University. Luckily she says she was not bitten. She moved out of the hotel into her dorm on Friday morning. We left on Sunday. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Bathroom and LED flat screen TV was nice. No view out window. The restaurants surrounding the hotel were very expensive; the hotel only provided tea & coffee, not even a continental breakfast. Disappointing. When you pay $4.99 at a restaurant for a glass of orange juice, it spoils your appetite. Hotel had no fridge for doggie bags for overpriced over sized meals. The Pinecrest Diner nearby the hotel had good food and was very popular for breakfast. Prices started at $9.95. But the hotel was close to the dorm and transportation and lots of Walgreens for dorm supplies and Benedryl. It was in walking distance to Chinatown and the Union Plaza with its visitors center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

If you see small red stains on the sheets, run for your life. The bed bugs have a great nightlife.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Honolulu
Sep 16, 2010

The King George Hotel

Great central location. Close to restaurants, downtown shopping, BART. Very nice staff. Walking distance to a fitness center. Next time would request a room opposite from the alley on the south side. The alley echoed with noise to the wee hours of the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lori's Cafe right next door, easy location and good food for breakfast.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The wandering man
NYC
Oct 24, 2010

The right spot, old fashioned style

Closely located to all shops. The hotel is very old and it needs some refurbishing. The staff is ok. Dining places very close by. A good place for a decent price. Not much more than that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Mostly chinese with an imperial touch.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
grimdog
canyon country, ca
Jan 8, 2010

great location

great rooms (bathrooms) are a little on the small side,the unexpected "false" fire alarm was quite a shock due to the painters fixing the building. but over all the stay was decent for the price but the location is unmatched and great. the staff is very helpful and willing to go the extra mile, we would stay here again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

next to the cable car turnaround that takes you all over the city, very convenient.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
grampabc
Standish, Maine
Jul 31, 2009

Reasonable place to stay

It was located for easy access to transportation. We did a lot of sight seeing. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Two things we found to be a problem was the cleanliness of the bathroom and the use of the elevator by staff. We brought the cleanliness issue to the attention oif the staff and they corrected the issue immediately!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Best way to see the sights is to use a tour.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vacation once a month
Garden grove,California
Apr 7, 2014

Good night rest

Room very clean. Parking is bad because you have to park across the hotel. Overall good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vacation once a month
Garden grove,California
Apr 7, 2014

Need that special something

Yes, parking is $35 a night across the street. Queen size bed seems like twin size. Nothing to buy from hotel for memory. Really small space, clean but old and ghetto like. Bottom line price, go for other hotel around $200 for bigger room and bed with $7 parking or less.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top