$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 21, 2015 Check-out: May 22, 2015

King George Hotel

3 stars
View map of 334 Mason St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
228 reviews
Business

My 3rd stay and not my last. Close to BART, Union Square, and Market St. Only a desk chair in a... See full review

  • Alaska flyer
  • Feb 4, 2015
Great hotel, good location

The King George hotel was very clean, quiet and comfortable. Room was small, but cozy and... See full review

  • Joseph H.
  • Jan 20, 2015
Stately boutique hotel near Union Square
Considering its name and the British flag flying out front, it's no surprise that the King George Hotel near San Francisco's Union Square district has a decidedly European flair. Decorative touches are subtle but continue this theme: chess boards in every room, coats of arms, and more. All guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access. The on-site restaurant, Winston's Bar and Lounge, even serves imported beer.
Highlights
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access
  • Hop on any one of the city's cable cars down the street
  • Union Square shopping is only a four-block walk from the hotel
Rooms

Accommodations -- 141 rooms and 12 suites in all -- vary in size and configuration but come standard with flat-screen televisions, pillow-top mattresses, MP3 docking stations and in-room safes. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access as well as nightly turndown service.

Features

The King George Hotel, a free-standing structure, dates back to 1914 and has been renovated numerous times since. It also is now a certified member of the California Green Lodging Program.

All guests have access to a nearby Club One Health Club (fees apply), a full-service facility with spa, pool and fitness center. The hotel also offers 24-hour laundry service (fees apply).

Grab a pint (what else?) at Winston's Bar & Lounge, a kitschy-but-lovable bar on the ground floor. The pub no longer serves food, but the scene is still lively on weekend nights.

Valet and self-parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/30 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (15 mi/25 km)
  • Cable car stops (3 blocks)
  • BART (6 blocks/1 km)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Union Square (3 blocks)
  • Theater District (4 blocks)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • AT&T Park (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Golden Gate Park (6 mi/10 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center in lobby
  • Intimate 500-square-foot meeting room
Policies and Fees
  • The hotel accepts reservations for guests under 18 years old given that parent/legal guardian guarantees payment for all charges. If legally emancipated, guests can present documents that prove emancipation and the ability to shoulder expenses at the hotel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed King George Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

King George Hotel Rooms

Standard Room with One Queen Bed
Standard Room One Queen bed is furnished with English Tudor furniture, writing desk, ceiling fans and a comfortable queen bed with full duvet and Scotland wool throw blankets. Each room is equipped Complimentary wireless Internet Access. Also, all rooms have private baths, remote control flat screen televisions, telephones with voice mail and data ports, safes, ironing equipment, hairdryers and electronic door locks. Non smoking. 24-hour room service and same day valet laundry service is also available.
Standard Room with Two Twin Beds
Standard Room with Two Twin Beds is furnished with English Tudor furniture, writing desk, ceiling fans and a comfortable queen bed with full duvet and Scotland wool throw blankets. Each room is equipped complimentary wireless Internet Access. Also, all rooms have private baths, remote control flat screen televisions, telephones with voice mail and data ports, safes, ironing equipment, hairdryers and electronic door locks. Non smoking. 24-hour room service and same day valet laundry service is also available.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi
  • Lands End: 2 mi

Dining

Winston's Bar & Lounge
Wine and champagne lounge serving specialty beers and appetizers Evening hours 5 pm to 10 pm Enjoy our selective bottled wines at smashing prices!

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The King George Hotel has a perfect ground level meeting room to host your business. The meeting room is equipped with complimentary high speed wireless internet access for presentations. And, an arrangement of foods & beverages are available for your working lunch or on-site event! It is truly the BEST place on Union Square to hold a meeting for 40 or less people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for King George Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 228
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mac123
Business
Connecticut
Oct 27, 2011

Not for a good night of sleep

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone who is interested in a restful night of sleep. I stayed two nights and through both of them fitfully endured the drumming of a nearby street performer until well after 3:00 a.m. The shell of the building is not tight enough to keep this type of noise from penetrating, even on one of the highest floors. The hotel staff were courteous when presented with this complaint (on both nights) but confessed that there was little that they could do. You will be happier with another choice of hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SeanDev
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Mar 9, 2012

Unbearably loud neighboring establishments

Nice staff, building cleanliness and repair is okay, but nearby bars will play very loud drums all night (3am most nights, 6am one night I was there). Impossible to sleep with the volume of that stuff. Not worth throwing away money on a hotel room you can't sleep in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Never Again St. George
Business
San Francisco
May 25, 2013

Business travel

Should be an historic site to be visited on a tour not an overnight stay. Seedy neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Business Traveler K
Business
New York, NY
Aug 6, 2009

BED BUGS. (But otherwise nice staff)

I got eaten alive by bedbugs on my one night stay here. I checked out early from a two night stay to change hotels. Hotel Mgmt promised to refund the night via orbitz, but I haven't seen this yet. Hopefully soon. This hotel was very cheap compared to other hotels in the neighborhood of Union Square. Room was clean, very tiny and hotel seemed very busy. Concierge was very nice. No air conditioning in the room, tiny TV, but full cable including Discovery Channel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlottesville, Virginia
Sep 28, 2009

Would not recommend to friend

I was supposed to have a king bed with a nonsmoking room. They put me in a room with two full size beds with plenty of extra ash trays. I woke up several times to the smell of tobacco smoke and I don't smoke. There was no airconditioning in my room. It was close to Union square so sirens all night long. Across street from parking garage. Would not stay there again, nor would I recommend it. There were many beggars just outside the hotel as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

In the middle of Union Square so all kinds of restaurants and shopping. I liked John's Grill.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cross country tour
Business
Toronto, Canada
Apr 10, 2010

Stay clear of the King George Hotel SF

Where to start. When checking in we were advised that there were only smoking rooms available but we would be staying in "the best room" there. If that was the best room I would hate to see what a normal room looks like. [...]The room itself was very run down, cigarette burns in the curtains and very old (not the good boutique old, the old beds and furniture haven't been replaced in 20 years). We couldn't get cold water in the washroom sink- hot water would come and go when running the cold. We called the front desk, they sent a maintenance guy who came up, looked at it and said he would leave a note for them to fix it. This was night one, it wasn't fixed by night 4. There is only one very old elevator in this hotel and the maids take it over for several hours in the morning instead of letting guest (customers) use it first and when you are on the 9th floor, stairs really aren't an option. There were no accessible power outlets for our phone, camera, or laptop chargers- we had to reach under the bed to access the outlet. On the second day I asked to speak with the guest service manager, was given a card to fill out which I handed in to the front desk who said they would pass it on. I followed up two more times and the manager didn't get back to me at all. They obviously do not care about guest satisfaction at the King George Hotel. For our last two nights in San Francisco we transferred to the Larkspur hotel a few blocks up, got a better rate and is 100% better- both staff, cleanliness, modernness and we even get free breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jimmyneab
Business
Vancouver
Jan 21, 2015

not so good location

Not such a good location, you get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SDSkippy
Business
San Diego, CA
Sep 5, 2012

Eh... Could be better...

The bathroom had mold, the bed was uncomfortable and the toilet seat was wobbly. On the bright side, there were no bed bugs. It is San Francisco, so I expected the rooms to be expensive and get less for what I paid for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 7, 2007

Okay for business

King George Hotel somewhat comfortable. It was too noisy for what I am use to. Other than that, the staff was professional and helpful in providing a list of restaurant around the area. For business, this would be a good hotel to stay in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are restaurants and shopping all around. Including small markets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
HereForWork
Business
Seattle, WA
Nov 17, 2014

Run down and uncomfortable rooms, with free early morning construction noise!

I was a little wary about this place going in, but town was pretty booked so it seemed like the best of the rest. Well, my concerns were justified. Here's a small menu of the most significant cons to this place: - Rooms are falling apart. Bad peeling paint, shoddy repairs to walls and surfaces, chain bolt was missing from door (screw holes where it goes). - Beds and pillows are low quality and uncomfortable. - Thin (single pane?) windows mean you get a front-row seat to all the noise of a busy neighborhood. Trucks, cars, 3am African street drums, the works. - EARLY MORNING REMODELING NOISE FROM INSIDE THE BUILDING, at 7:45am. Really. Like sanding and sawing of the floors above, followed up with hammer drilling in concrete, and then hammering on steel in concrete. - Rickety elevator makes you find your rosary beads. - Extremely steep spiral stair not really practical for most folks. - Bad TV signal on multiple channels -- broken up picture. What other people have said is definitely true. No A/C, but I didn't need it. Fan was acceptable. Radiator looks like it would be noisy, but it was off in October. Both mornings I was there, some idiot with a hammer started making tons of noise before 8am. Then the oddest part, by 8:30/9am they would stop and it'd be quiet again. So why the heck did they feel it needed to happen right then and wake me up? The only explanation for this is poor management not putting the guests' needs ahead of their own projects. I'm pretty disappointed that the door was missing any backup security mechanism -- there's the little bolt on the digital lock, but I assume the staff can override that so what good is it. The front desk staff was extremely friendly. The location is quite central, and there is good food nearby. The rooms are pretty terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Katana-ya ramen shop across the corner is highly rated and was delicious.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top