$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 13, 2015 Check-out: Jun 14, 2015

King George Hotel

3 stars
View map of 334 Mason St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for King George Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
241 out of 241
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ray and Steve
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 26, 2012

Good stay.

Our stay was overall good. A little confusion with our room key at first (walked in on a couple) but quickly sorted out. We received an apology that felt sincere and the problem was fixed immediately. The walls could've been thicker, too much noise from outside and neighbors could be heard, not unbearable just too much for my taste. I would recommend this hotel to a friend. The color scheme of the whole could use some modernization.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dany R
Business
New York City
Oct 2, 2012

Great Value Hotel

Clean hotel in a great location close to lots of transportation. The rooms are nothing special, but they get the job done and the staff was friendly. The elevator was slow, but no big deal really. Overall, this place is great in the essentials but doesn't offer too much beyond that. But for the price you're paying, there is nothing to complain about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RebeccaWH.
Business
Arcadia, CA
Oct 26, 2012

Great location, decent hotel.

nothing fancy, small rooms, but clean and great location. very nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TCRunner
Business
Visalia, CA
Oct 25, 2012

Made for a good Marathon Weekend Trip

The staff was very courteous and helpful. I especially liked the protein bars and gatorade they had set out on race morning, that was a really special touch. I did not like that our room was TINY-I mean barely enough room to walk around the queen bed and the ceilings were LOW, like i could put my whole hand, palm and all, on the ceiling and I'm only 5'7". Although, the bathroom was spacious and the toiletries were nice. There was also a candy dish but all it had were empty wrappers-weird. Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to stay very close to Union Square, but who isn't too tall or wanting to do much more than sleep in their hotel room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Willis Goldbeck
Business
Washington DC
Feb 17, 2013

Good short term alternative

Perfect location and affordability make this a good selection. Staff very nice. Hot water only part of the time and heat which would not turn off or down were two problems that detracted from an otherwise fine experience. My recommendation, below, would depend on learning that these problems had been fixed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mama Mary
Business
Seattle, WA
Feb 17, 2013

Family getaway

overall the hotel is convenient to all the shops n restaurants. The room was clean n beds were comfortable enough. Just remind the maid service not to make too much noise early in the morning. They may not realize some people like to sleep at 8 a.m. afterall it is holiday. Thanks but the hotel is a thumbs up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CCalifornia Traveler
Business
Merced, California
Apr 2, 2013

Great Location, not for those who like Peace & Quiet

This is an old property, almost a hundred years old in fact according the the hotel's guide book. Lobby is well decorated. Elevator & stairs are extra small by today's standards but add to the charm of the place if you seek that antique feel. The room was very small compared to modern standards. The bathroom was average both in size and overall appearance. The heating system is an old fashion charming furnace, there is no air conditioning in this hotel or central control system. The room had a nice ceiling fan. You could open several windows in the room and bathroom for fresh air but be prepared for street noise that is constant and 24/7. Two 24/7 diner type restaurants in the block and a 24/7 parking garage mean constant noise at this property both from pedestrians and motor vehicles even when the rooms windows were closed. Staff was helpful and professional. No breakfast, only coffee is offered. 24/7 room service consists of food from a diner next door delivered via the front desk to your room. Overall a good value for the location only a block off Union Square, just don't expect hours of uninterrupted restful calm at this property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lefty O'Doul's bar and restaurant is just around the corner on Geary Street - Serves up tasty traditional American / Irish food and great drinks for a moderate price.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ruggero battan
Business
grand rapids, mi
Jun 20, 2013

staff great

old facility; very nice staff; very noisy street. recommend for budget traveler or friend that likes old places with a flavor of old

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

colibri: great mexican food: reserve

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
QinVA
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
Aug 21, 2013

King George

OLD building. Decorating is pretty bad, unmatched thrift store furnishings. Horrendous rug design and color considering the lime green walls with hard-to-describe-color at the top and ceiling. The sheets and towels were crisp and clean, and the natural soaps were very nice. Filthy window streaked with pigeon droppings opened out onto a corrugated tin roof also covered with pigeon droppings - and cooing pigeons, and a never-ending loud fan/compressor noise from a large roof-top AC unit. I guess it was for an adjacent building because the rooms here are NOT air conditioned. The dust from pigeon droppings is especially bad for humans, so we didn't open the window after we saw it. We didn't spend any extra time there. It's not the kind of environment you want to languish in. It was convenient to the location we needed to be in for two days. I don't know if the $200.00+/night is a bargain for the area, but if it was here at home the room would be less than <$100.00/ night room. I'll look for something different next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

This area is west of Union Square, not far from the Tenderloin. Panhandlers, are abundant. Lots of people sleeping on the sidewalks. Shoes, socks, feces, urine, etc are not unusual on the sidewalks also. If you need to catch a bus to the North Beach in the morning, forget it until after 10 am or later. I had a 10 am appointment and ended up walking because the buses were jammed going north. Leave extra time for such things If you don't have to be in this area for some reason. There are modern hotels in the North Beach area for less than $100.00 a night more, that you will enjoy being in, and everything else is better there: the restaurants, bakeries, environment, transportation options, attractions, etc, etc. If you're going to be there a week or more, look into the condos for rent at less than $160.00 a night for the week on Telegraph Hill. We stayed at 52 Sonoma in July, and it put King George to shame.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
King George Devotee
Business
Howell, MI
Sep 25, 2013

Union Square Location

This charming hotel is just a block off Union Square where everything seems to be happening! The hotel is old, the rooms are small, the bathroom is TINY,,but the room is clean, there's enough space to be comfortable, and the staff was very pleasant and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top