$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

King George Hotel

3 stars
View map of 334 Mason St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for King George Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
220 out of 220
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Columbia, MD
Aug 1, 2011

Review of King George Hotel

I just used the hotel as my 'base camp' for spending a few days in San Francisco. It was perfect - good clean room, friendly and helpful staff, great location. It'd be nice if there were two elevators, and the signal strength on the wireless internet was low, but these were very, very minor issues. I'll definitely stay at the hotel again if back in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mz Lane
Friends
Las Vegas
May 10, 2010

Great location

Could not ask for a better location,[...] the bartender was the best! Staff very friendly and helpful. coming bac

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hopeful S.F. transplants
Couples
Grand Junction, CO
Jul 10, 2010

Excellent deal

We stayed for three nights. Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent location. It was a pleasure staying here. The hotel has an international flavor as there were a lot of international travelers staying. Immediately next door are three 24-hour diners with good food. The hotel staff is efficient and keeps the room/bathroom/beds very clean. It's an older hotel so the carpets are kind of old and faded. The room was small but it was good enough for our needs. The location is fantastic - only a few blocks from Union Square. The price is fantastic too. I will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For breakfast, order the Corned Beef Hash at the diner next door. It's real corned beef and tastes great. As you walk out the front door of the hotel, the diner is located to your right.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Friends From France
Friends
France
Jun 11, 2009

Nice hotel - well located

very nice hotel with comfy rooms - a bit noisy but then again it's in the middle of the city. Very well located next to Union Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cat010983
Business
Ann Arbor
Aug 12, 2009

nice stay at a small, european-style hot

This place was great, and the staff especially were nice and helpful. It is San Francisco where real estate is costly, so don't expect huge rooms; mine was small, but still very comfortable (you might ask to Not have a corner room, as those did look smaller).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mumflower
Family
Wasilla, AK
Jun 13, 2014

Getaway

This hotel has many positives. Friendly staff, good location, very clean rooms. Staff very helpful in guiding to good restaurants and how to use local transportation. Could use a fridge in the room. Thoroughly enjoyed our time there. Would definitely recommend a stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use public transportation to save time and money.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent World Flier
Couples
Long Beach, CA
Jun 18, 2014

Perfect location

The room was small, but completely adequate for our needs. The faucet in the bathroom leaked, but was not loud or annoying. There are numerous restaurants nearby and Union Square, the Trolley, and Bart station are all a short walk away. I would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MouM2
Single
Pittsburgh
Jun 19, 2014

Great location and fair price

Very friendly staff and great location I would suggest for you to park your car in any of the parking lots that are 2 blocks away if you want overnight parking. It is cheaper than using the hotel's valet parking service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lisa52
Single
Pennsylvania
Jul 28, 2014

Excellent location for a reasonable price

This little boutique hotel was perfect for my solo trip (and first!) to San Francisco. It was close to decent restaurants, public transportation, and shopping. I am an avid walker, and I didn't really need any of the public transportation for most of my trip. It is within a mile in any direction to almost everything I wanted to see. The room was small, but very clean and pretty. There is no A/C, but it is cool in SF, so I didn't miss it. All the rooms have ceiling fans and windows that open. It has a nice little lounge, and they have complimentary coffee, tea and ice water in the mornings (no breakfast). I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ohead
Couples
Peoria, IL
Jul 14, 2014

SFO

A conveniently located boutique type hotel with comfortable rooms for a stay in The City, where you do not plan on spending time in the room. Glad we stayed there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy access to all transportation

Back to menu Return to top