$188 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2014 Check-out: Jul 29, 2014

King George Hotel

3 stars
334 Mason St., San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
294 reviews
Great, old feeling hotel

I usually stay between three and only three hotels in San Francisco. The King George is among one... See full review

  • jemwatso
  • Mar 17, 2014
Walk past the fancy ones, this is the one to use!

King George Hotel is small. It is quaint. It has charm. It is clean and located a couple of block... See full review

  • RapidCycler
  • Mar 8, 2014
Stately boutique hotel near Union Square
Considering its name and the British flag flying out front, it's no surprise that the King George Hotel near San Francisco's Union Square district has a decidedly European flair. Decorative touches are subtle but continue this theme: chess boards in every room, coats of arms, and more. All guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access. The on-site restaurant, Winston's Bar and Lounge, even serves imported beer.
Highlights
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access
  • Hop on any one of the city's cable cars down the street
  • Union Square shopping is only a four-block walk from the hotel
Rooms

Accommodations -- 141 rooms and 12 suites in all -- vary in size and configuration but come standard with flat-screen televisions, pillow-top mattresses, MP3 docking stations and in-room safes. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access as well as nightly turndown service.

Features

The King George Hotel, a free-standing structure, dates back to 1914 and has been renovated numerous times since. It also is now a certified member of the California Green Lodging Program.

All guests have access to a nearby Club One Health Club (fees apply), a full-service facility with spa, pool and fitness center. The hotel also offers 24-hour laundry service (fees apply).

Grab a pint (what else?) at Winston's Bar & Lounge, a kitschy-but-lovable bar on the ground floor. The pub no longer serves food, but the scene is still lively on weekend nights.

Valet and self-parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/30 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (15 mi/25 km)
  • Cable car stops (3 blocks)
  • BART (6 blocks/1 km)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Union Square (3 blocks)
  • Theater District (4 blocks)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • AT&T Park (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Golden Gate Park (6 mi/10 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center in lobby
  • Intimate 500-square-foot meeting room

Hotel Map

37.7868 -122.4094
Area served
San Francisco, Marin, Napa, Oakland
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, Oakland International Airport
Area description
When you stay at the King George, you are close to some of San Francisco's major sightseeing and vacation spots. You are just 1 mile from Chinatown, Coit Tower and Cable Car Museum. The magnificent Pier 39, Lombard Street, Ghirardelli Square, Fisherman's Wharf are just 2 miles from the King George. Lots of shopping, fun and recreational activities await you in these areas. You can drive down to the Golden Gate Bridge, 5 miles from the King George, and enjoy its spectacular view of the city. When you stay at the King George San Francisco, you are in the heart of San Francisco's Union Square with the city's best hotspots at your fingertips. You are just a walk from Moscone Convention Center and half a block from the San Francisco Hilton. You are close to plenty of fine restaurants and eat outs, world class shopping, theatre and San Francisco's world famous cable car line to Fisherman's Wharf.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed King George Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

King George Hotel Rooms

Standard Room with One Queen Bed
Standard Room One Queen bed is furnished with English Tudor furniture, writing desk, ceiling fans and a comfortable queen bed with full duvet and Scotland wool throw blankets. Each room is equipped Complimentary wireless Internet Access. Also, all rooms have private baths, remote control flat screen televisions, telephones with voice mail and data ports, safes, ironing equipment, hairdryers and electronic door locks. Non smoking. 24-hour room service and same day valet laundry service is also available.
Standard Room with Two Twin Beds
Standard Room with Two Twin Beds is furnished with English Tudor furniture, writing desk, ceiling fans and a comfortable queen bed with full duvet and Scotland wool throw blankets. Each room is equipped complimentary wireless Internet Access. Also, all rooms have private baths, remote control flat screen televisions, telephones with voice mail and data ports, safes, ironing equipment, hairdryers and electronic door locks. Non smoking. 24-hour room service and same day valet laundry service is also available.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The King George Hotel has a perfect ground level meeting room to host your business. The meeting room is equipped with complimentary high speed wireless internet access for presentations. And, an arrangement of foods & beverages are available for your working lunch or on-site event! It is truly the BEST place on Union Square to hold a meeting for 40 or less people.

Dining

Winston's Bar & Lounge
Wine and champagne lounge serving specialty beers and appetizers Evening hours 5 pm to 10 pm Enjoy our selective bottled wines at smashing prices!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (294)

Ratings and reviews for King George Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
294 out of 294
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SeanDev
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Mar 9, 2012

Unbearably loud neighboring establishments

Nice staff, building cleanliness and repair is okay, but nearby bars will play very loud drums all night (3am most nights, 6am one night I was there). Impossible to sleep with the volume of that stuff. Not worth throwing away money on a hotel room you can't sleep in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GaryC327
Clovis, CA
Aug 16, 2012

Worst hotel we have ever stayed at

The hotel building itself is ok but it is very old. Elevator is very small. 4 people and it is crowded. Rooms are small with no room to put your stuff. Not much room in the bathroom to set toiletries. Walls are thin. We could hear very clearly the guests in the room next door. Staff was very good. Parking is $35/day as an fyi. The biggest problem which is not the hotels but totally ruined our experience is the street noise and panhandling from the homeless people. We were kept awake all night by people rummaging through the trash cans and dragging around their bags full of glass bottles. We also got panhandled everytime we stepped outside. Very sad and very annoying. On that alone I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. We had a very bad experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
4
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mac123
Business
Connecticut
Oct 27, 2011

Not for a good night of sleep

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone who is interested in a restful night of sleep. I stayed two nights and through both of them fitfully endured the drumming of a nearby street performer until well after 3:00 a.m. The shell of the building is not tight enough to keep this type of noise from penetrating, even on one of the highest floors. The hotel staff were courteous when presented with this complaint (on both nights) but confessed that there was little that they could do. You will be happier with another choice of hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Fi
Europe
Jun 29, 2011

The only thing good is the location

The location of the hotel was great however our stay was awful. When we arrived on the Friday morning the elevators were not working and had not been fixed when we left on the Monday. This meant we had to walk up the narrow winding stairs to our room. The rooms are tiny and it was difficult to get to sleep as you can hear the noise of other rooms plumbing while in your own room. The pipes are very noisey. The curtains in our room would not pull closed for us so we mentioned it to the staff. When we arrived back later, the curtains were pinned together with a safety pin, stil leaving a gap allowing sunlight in in the early hours of the morning. The staff were nice but overall we did not enjoy our stay. We loved San Fran but hated the hotel and feel we did not get value for our money at all. I would only recommend staying there for one night only.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Business Traveler K
Business
New York, NY
Aug 6, 2009

BED BUGS. (But otherwise nice staff)

I got eaten alive by bedbugs on my one night stay here. I checked out early from a two night stay to change hotels. Hotel Mgmt promised to refund the night via orbitz, but I haven't seen this yet. Hopefully soon. This hotel was very cheap compared to other hotels in the neighborhood of Union Square. Room was clean, very tiny and hotel seemed very busy. Concierge was very nice. No air conditioning in the room, tiny TV, but full cable including Discovery Channel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cross country tour
Business
Toronto, Canada
Apr 10, 2010

Stay clear of the King George Hotel SF

Where to start. When checking in we were advised that there were only smoking rooms available but we would be staying in "the best room" there. If that was the best room I would hate to see what a normal room looks like. [...]The room itself was very run down, cigarette burns in the curtains and very old (not the good boutique old, the old beds and furniture haven't been replaced in 20 years). We couldn't get cold water in the washroom sink- hot water would come and go when running the cold. We called the front desk, they sent a maintenance guy who came up, looked at it and said he would leave a note for them to fix it. This was night one, it wasn't fixed by night 4. There is only one very old elevator in this hotel and the maids take it over for several hours in the morning instead of letting guest (customers) use it first and when you are on the 9th floor, stairs really aren't an option. There were no accessible power outlets for our phone, camera, or laptop chargers- we had to reach under the bed to access the outlet. On the second day I asked to speak with the guest service manager, was given a card to fill out which I handed in to the front desk who said they would pass it on. I followed up two more times and the manager didn't get back to me at all. They obviously do not care about guest satisfaction at the King George Hotel. For our last two nights in San Francisco we transferred to the Larkspur hotel a few blocks up, got a better rate and is 100% better- both staff, cleanliness, modernness and we even get free breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sprite
Toronto Canada
Aug 19, 2009

My time at the King George

This hotel in functional but is not fancy. It has hardly any basic amenities. There is no pool. the rooms are particularly small. The hotel has no places to eat on site. The lobby is small and the 1 elevator won't be be able to accommodate a large family in one shot. Maid service must be requested everyday or it's done every other day - under the pretense of saving the environment through not over cleaning. Towels are cleaned only if they are left on the floor and the linens are changed only if you leave the their "sign" on the bed. Finally the view from my Window was a wall. The walls were paper thin so that you could hear any and all noise in the hallways. Enough Said.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cross country tour
Business
Toronto, Canada
Apr 10, 2010

Stay clear of the King George Hotel SF

Where to start. When checking in we were advised that there were only smoking rooms available but we would be staying in "the best room" there. If that was the best room I would hate to see what a normal room looks like. [...]The room itself was very run down, cigarette burns in the curtains and very old (not the good boutique old, the old beds and furniture haven't been replaced in 20 years). We couldn't get cold water in the washroom sink- hot water would come and go when running the cold. We called the front desk, they sent a maintenance guy who came up, looked at it and said he would leave a note for them to fix it. This was night one, it wasn't fixed by night 4. There is only one very old elevator in this hotel and the maids take it over for several hours in the morning instead of letting guest (customers) use it first and when you are on the 9th floor, stairs really aren't an option. There were no accessible power outlets for our phone, camera, or laptop chargers- we had to reach under the bed to access the outlet. On the second day I asked to speak with the guest service manager, was given a card to fill out which I handed in to the front desk who said they would pass it on. I followed up two more times and the manager didn't get back to me at all. They obviously do not care about guest satisfaction at the King George Hotel. For our last two nights in San Francisco we transferred to the Larkspur hotel a few blocks up, got a better rate and is 100% better- both staff, cleanliness, modernness and we even get free breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Business Traveler K
Business
New York, NY
Aug 6, 2009

BED BUGS. (But otherwise nice staff)

I got eaten alive by bedbugs on my one night stay here. I checked out early from a two night stay to change hotels. Hotel Mgmt promised to refund the night via orbitz, but I haven't seen this yet. Hopefully soon. This hotel was very cheap compared to other hotels in the neighborhood of Union Square. Room was clean, very tiny and hotel seemed very busy. Concierge was very nice. No air conditioning in the room, tiny TV, but full cable including Discovery Channel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sprite
Toronto Canada
Aug 19, 2009

My time at the King George

This hotel in functional but is not fancy. It has hardly any basic amenities. There is no pool. the rooms are particularly small. The hotel has no places to eat on site. The lobby is small and the 1 elevator won't be be able to accommodate a large family in one shot. Maid service must be requested everyday or it's done every other day - under the pretense of saving the environment through not over cleaning. Towels are cleaned only if they are left on the floor and the linens are changed only if you leave the their "sign" on the bed. Finally the view from my Window was a wall. The walls were paper thin so that you could hear any and all noise in the hallways. Enough Said.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top