$189 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2014 Check-out: Jul 29, 2014

King George Hotel

3 stars
334 Mason St., San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
296 reviews
Perfect spot

The staff is friendly and outgoing. It's a perfect small hotel close to everything. It is older so... See full review

  • Jewels58
  • Jul 25, 2014
Great, old feeling hotel

I usually stay between three and only three hotels in San Francisco. The King George is among one... See full review

  • jemwatso
  • Mar 17, 2014
Stately boutique hotel near Union Square
Considering its name and the British flag flying out front, it's no surprise that the King George Hotel near San Francisco's Union Square district has a decidedly European flair. Decorative touches are subtle but continue this theme: chess boards in every room, coats of arms, and more. All guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access. The on-site restaurant, Winston's Bar and Lounge, even serves imported beer.
Highlights
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access
  • Hop on any one of the city's cable cars down the street
  • Union Square shopping is only a four-block walk from the hotel
Rooms

Accommodations -- 141 rooms and 12 suites in all -- vary in size and configuration but come standard with flat-screen televisions, pillow-top mattresses, MP3 docking stations and in-room safes. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access as well as nightly turndown service.

Features

The King George Hotel, a free-standing structure, dates back to 1914 and has been renovated numerous times since. It also is now a certified member of the California Green Lodging Program.

All guests have access to a nearby Club One Health Club (fees apply), a full-service facility with spa, pool and fitness center. The hotel also offers 24-hour laundry service (fees apply).

Grab a pint (what else?) at Winston's Bar & Lounge, a kitschy-but-lovable bar on the ground floor. The pub no longer serves food, but the scene is still lively on weekend nights.

Valet and self-parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/30 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (15 mi/25 km)
  • Cable car stops (3 blocks)
  • BART (6 blocks/1 km)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Union Square (3 blocks)
  • Theater District (4 blocks)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • AT&T Park (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Golden Gate Park (6 mi/10 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center in lobby
  • Intimate 500-square-foot meeting room

King George Hotel Rooms

Standard Room with One Queen Bed
Standard Room One Queen bed is furnished with English Tudor furniture, writing desk, ceiling fans and a comfortable queen bed with full duvet and Scotland wool throw blankets. Each room is equipped Complimentary wireless Internet Access. Also, all rooms have private baths, remote control flat screen televisions, telephones with voice mail and data ports, safes, ironing equipment, hairdryers and electronic door locks. Non smoking. 24-hour room service and same day valet laundry service is also available.
Standard Room with Two Twin Beds
Standard Room with Two Twin Beds is furnished with English Tudor furniture, writing desk, ceiling fans and a comfortable queen bed with full duvet and Scotland wool throw blankets. Each room is equipped complimentary wireless Internet Access. Also, all rooms have private baths, remote control flat screen televisions, telephones with voice mail and data ports, safes, ironing equipment, hairdryers and electronic door locks. Non smoking. 24-hour room service and same day valet laundry service is also available.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed King George Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7868 -122.4094
Area served
San Francisco, Marin, Napa, Oakland
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, Oakland International Airport
Area description
When you stay at the King George, you are close to some of San Francisco's major sightseeing and vacation spots. You are just 1 mile from Chinatown, Coit Tower and Cable Car Museum. The magnificent Pier 39, Lombard Street, Ghirardelli Square, Fisherman's Wharf are just 2 miles from the King George. Lots of shopping, fun and recreational activities await you in these areas. You can drive down to the Golden Gate Bridge, 5 miles from the King George, and enjoy its spectacular view of the city. When you stay at the King George San Francisco, you are in the heart of San Francisco's Union Square with the city's best hotspots at your fingertips. You are just a walk from Moscone Convention Center and half a block from the San Francisco Hilton. You are close to plenty of fine restaurants and eat outs, world class shopping, theatre and San Francisco's world famous cable car line to Fisherman's Wharf.

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The King George Hotel has a perfect ground level meeting room to host your business. The meeting room is equipped with complimentary high speed wireless internet access for presentations. And, an arrangement of foods & beverages are available for your working lunch or on-site event! It is truly the BEST place on Union Square to hold a meeting for 40 or less people.

Dining

Winston's Bar & Lounge
Wine and champagne lounge serving specialty beers and appetizers Evening hours 5 pm to 10 pm Enjoy our selective bottled wines at smashing prices!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (296)

Ratings and reviews for King George Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 296
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
Jul 7, 2007

Great staff

The King George was close to Union Square, the train and the trolley - 3 necessary destinations for 1st time travelers to San Francisco. Though there were a lot of panhandlers around the hotel, the hotel itself was a wonderful oasis. The staff was overly hospitable and helpful and the rooms were vintage and impeccably clean. They did run really small (its a hotel in a very old building) and I knew everything our next door neighbors did and said because the wall are very thin. But it was still a very nice place to stay and most likely I will stay there again. Note: 2 people will get the rare twin bed room but if you have 3 people - you'll have to upgrade to 2 double beds which aren't much bigger.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Most tours pick up from Union Square. A short walk from the hotel beats going all the way to Fisherman's Wharf.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
huesped
Portland, Oregon
May 27, 2013

Excellent option at a reasonable price

The room was immaculate and comfortable. Location is perfect to enjoy city life. I will stay there again..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
Jul 7, 2007

Great staff

The King George was close to Union Square, the train and the trolley - 3 necessary destinations for 1st time travelers to San Francisco. Though there were a lot of panhandlers around the hotel, the hotel itself was a wonderful oasis. The staff was overly hospitable and helpful and the rooms were vintage and impeccably clean. They did run really small (its a hotel in a very old building) and I knew everything our next door neighbors did and said because the wall are very thin. But it was still a very nice place to stay and most likely I will stay there again. Note: 2 people will get the rare twin bed room but if you have 3 people - you'll have to upgrade to 2 double beds which aren't much bigger.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Most tours pick up from Union Square. A short walk from the hotel beats going all the way to Fisherman's Wharf.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Antonio, TX
Jul 26, 2009

Great Hotel, Great Price

Very clean, only one block off of union square and one block from the cable care pickup. Very quiet. Friently and helpful staff. Great stay for a great price. It was exactly what we needed for our trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Omaha
Jun 11, 2010

Kink George

We really enjoyed our trip to San Francisco. Our stay at the King George was fantastic. It is very clean, quiet, and the location is great. Very good places to eat are close by. San Francisco is a spectacular city to visit. We are planning our next trip back to the city. We will certainly stay at the King George again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Antonio, TX
Jul 26, 2009

Great Hotel, Great Price

Very clean, only one block off of union square and one block from the cable care pickup. Very quiet. Friently and helpful staff. Great stay for a great price. It was exactly what we needed for our trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Omaha
Jun 11, 2010

Kink George

We really enjoyed our trip to San Francisco. Our stay at the King George was fantastic. It is very clean, quiet, and the location is great. Very good places to eat are close by. San Francisco is a spectacular city to visit. We are planning our next trip back to the city. We will certainly stay at the King George again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Vegas, NV
Jul 7, 2011

Great location at a good price

While the King George Hotel's best feature may be its location right near Union Square, theaters and great restaurants, it was itself a pleasant surprise. I got a very good airfare/hotel deal and was surprised at what a nice hotel it was. It was clean, the staff was friendly and because it is in an old building, it had a lot of atmosphere. The rooms are small, but for me that matters little since I tend not to linger in hotel rooms. This hotel had what I wanted in the staff, rooms and location. It was also a very green hotel, which is a nice benefit. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

In addition to nearby theater, shopping and restaurants, I wanted to get out and enjoy the beautiful weather. Just up the street from the hotel was a place to rent bikes called Blazing Saddles for my ride across the Golden Gate bridge to Sausalito.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Norwalk, CT
Oct 27, 2009

Great locaton in a superb city

We were positively surprised by this gem in the middle of San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kansas City
Apr 5, 2010

Great place for the money

The great location made up for the small, noisy room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Within walking distance to several restaurants, bars, a huge mall with 200+ shops and restaurants, Chinatown, and many more destinations.

Back to menu Return to top