$174 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 18, 2014 Check-out: Jul 21, 2014

King George Hotel

3 stars
334 Mason St., San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
291 reviews
Great, old feeling hotel

I usually stay between three and only three hotels in San Francisco. The King George is among one... See full review

  • jemwatso
  • Mar 17, 2014
Walk past the fancy ones, this is the one to use!

King George Hotel is small. It is quaint. It has charm. It is clean and located a couple of block... See full review

  • RapidCycler
  • Mar 8, 2014
Stately boutique hotel near Union Square
Considering its name and the British flag flying out front, it's no surprise that the King George Hotel near San Francisco's Union Square district has a decidedly European flair. Decorative touches are subtle but continue this theme: chess boards in every room, coats of arms, and more. All guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access. The on-site restaurant, Winston's Bar and Lounge, even serves imported beer.
Highlights
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access
  • Hop on any one of the city's cable cars down the street
  • Union Square shopping is only a four-block walk from the hotel
Rooms

Accommodations -- 141 rooms and 12 suites in all -- vary in size and configuration but come standard with flat-screen televisions, pillow-top mattresses, MP3 docking stations and in-room safes. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access as well as nightly turndown service.

Features

The King George Hotel, a free-standing structure, dates back to 1914 and has been renovated numerous times since. It also is now a certified member of the California Green Lodging Program.

All guests have access to a nearby Club One Health Club (fees apply), a full-service facility with spa, pool and fitness center. The hotel also offers 24-hour laundry service (fees apply).

Grab a pint (what else?) at Winston's Bar & Lounge, a kitschy-but-lovable bar on the ground floor. The pub no longer serves food, but the scene is still lively on weekend nights.

Valet and self-parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/30 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (15 mi/25 km)
  • Cable car stops (3 blocks)
  • BART (6 blocks/1 km)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Union Square (3 blocks)
  • Theater District (4 blocks)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • AT&T Park (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Golden Gate Park (6 mi/10 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center in lobby
  • Intimate 500-square-foot meeting room

Hotel Map

37.7868 -122.4094
Area served
San Francisco, Marin, Napa, Oakland
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, Oakland International Airport
Area description
When you stay at the King George, you are close to some of San Francisco's major sightseeing and vacation spots. You are just 1 mile from Chinatown, Coit Tower and Cable Car Museum. The magnificent Pier 39, Lombard Street, Ghirardelli Square, Fisherman's Wharf are just 2 miles from the King George. Lots of shopping, fun and recreational activities await you in these areas. You can drive down to the Golden Gate Bridge, 5 miles from the King George, and enjoy its spectacular view of the city. When you stay at the King George San Francisco, you are in the heart of San Francisco's Union Square with the city's best hotspots at your fingertips. You are just a walk from Moscone Convention Center and half a block from the San Francisco Hilton. You are close to plenty of fine restaurants and eat outs, world class shopping, theatre and San Francisco's world famous cable car line to Fisherman's Wharf.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed King George Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

King George Hotel Rooms

Standard Room with One Queen Bed
Standard Room One Queen bed is furnished with English Tudor furniture, writing desk, ceiling fans and a comfortable queen bed with full duvet and Scotland wool throw blankets. Each room is equipped Complimentary wireless Internet Access. Also, all rooms have private baths, remote control flat screen televisions, telephones with voice mail and data ports, safes, ironing equipment, hairdryers and electronic door locks. Non smoking. 24-hour room service and same day valet laundry service is also available.
Standard Room with Two Twin Beds
Standard Room with Two Twin Beds is furnished with English Tudor furniture, writing desk, ceiling fans and a comfortable queen bed with full duvet and Scotland wool throw blankets. Each room is equipped complimentary wireless Internet Access. Also, all rooms have private baths, remote control flat screen televisions, telephones with voice mail and data ports, safes, ironing equipment, hairdryers and electronic door locks. Non smoking. 24-hour room service and same day valet laundry service is also available.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The King George Hotel has a perfect ground level meeting room to host your business. The meeting room is equipped with complimentary high speed wireless internet access for presentations. And, an arrangement of foods & beverages are available for your working lunch or on-site event! It is truly the BEST place on Union Square to hold a meeting for 40 or less people.

Dining

Winston's Bar & Lounge
Wine and champagne lounge serving specialty beers and appetizers Evening hours 5 pm to 10 pm Enjoy our selective bottled wines at smashing prices!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (291)

Ratings and reviews for King George Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 291
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Millington, NJ
Aug 18, 2010

King George Hotel, San Francisco

A super value in a great location, near delicious and good-value dining and all kinds of public transportation: BART, Caltrain, Golden Gate Transit, Muni, including the Old F Line streetcars. Rooms are small, but typical of boutique hotels. Staff are friendly and helpful. Free WiFi is easily set up in your room, and communal computers in the lobby provide free printing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gup
san diego, ca
Nov 16, 2009

FANTASTIC HOTEL

This is just a fantastic hotel! From the minute we walked in we were treated so well. Very nice lobby, very friendly, baby crib for the room was no prob, hot towels delivered to the room, roomservice reasonably priced and quick, clean, comfortable room, very quaint SF style hotel. Could not be happier with this place. We paid $69 a night and got a great deal, but honestly I would have been ok paying much more than that for the service we got. Concierge is great, helped with tourist info, airport rides, etc. All of this and a great location, safe, good area, close to union square and cable car pickups.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Millington, NJ
Aug 18, 2010

King George Hotel, San Francisco

A super value in a great location, near delicious and good-value dining and all kinds of public transportation: BART, Caltrain, Golden Gate Transit, Muni, including the Old F Line streetcars. Rooms are small, but typical of boutique hotels. Staff are friendly and helpful. Free WiFi is easily set up in your room, and communal computers in the lobby provide free printing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gup
san diego, ca
Nov 16, 2009

FANTASTIC HOTEL

This is just a fantastic hotel! From the minute we walked in we were treated so well. Very nice lobby, very friendly, baby crib for the room was no prob, hot towels delivered to the room, roomservice reasonably priced and quick, clean, comfortable room, very quaint SF style hotel. Could not be happier with this place. We paid $69 a night and got a great deal, but honestly I would have been ok paying much more than that for the service we got. Concierge is great, helped with tourist info, airport rides, etc. All of this and a great location, safe, good area, close to union square and cable car pickups.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ontario, CA
May 28, 2007

great location

St. George hotel was right in the heart of Union Square, within walking distance to transportation, dining, shopping. Room was very small, 2 twin beds just fit, but we only used it to sleep in so that was fine. Shower pressure and temperature were great, however I kept hitting my foot on the edge of the tub when I used the sink. Closet space was small but sufficient for me and my daughter. Bartender was friendly with great local stories. Girl at desk, was great. She felt like an old friend. My daughter showed her some of her purchases and she complimented her clothes and purse. They held our bags on the last day since our plane was leaving at night. Bart station was within walking distance and a breeze to get to and from the airport

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't try to get on the trolley at the powell st station, long,long lines. we went to the powell and geary st one block away from hotel and got right on. Buy passes, there are so many hills it was great to be able to jump on evenif for only one block. Dinner very expensive at restaurants with a view but lunch was reasonable.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chico, CA
Nov 30, 2009

Great Service

Everything was great, perfect location, lots of bars, shopping, and Eateries with in walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Lefty O'Douls Great Resturant/Sports Bar

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ontario, CA
May 28, 2007

great location

St. George hotel was right in the heart of Union Square, within walking distance to transportation, dining, shopping. Room was very small, 2 twin beds just fit, but we only used it to sleep in so that was fine. Shower pressure and temperature were great, however I kept hitting my foot on the edge of the tub when I used the sink. Closet space was small but sufficient for me and my daughter. Bartender was friendly with great local stories. Girl at desk, was great. She felt like an old friend. My daughter showed her some of her purchases and she complimented her clothes and purse. They held our bags on the last day since our plane was leaving at night. Bart station was within walking distance and a breeze to get to and from the airport

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't try to get on the trolley at the powell st station, long,long lines. we went to the powell and geary st one block away from hotel and got right on. Buy passes, there are so many hills it was great to be able to jump on evenif for only one block. Dinner very expensive at restaurants with a view but lunch was reasonable.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chico, CA
Nov 30, 2009

Great Service

Everything was great, perfect location, lots of bars, shopping, and Eateries with in walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Lefty O'Douls Great Resturant/Sports Bar

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
True Budget Traveller
Los Angeles, Ca
Sep 17, 2012

Great hotel location

I was pleasantly surprised about my stay at the hotel. My room was clean, on the small side but sufficient. The blanket was very thin though. My room window faced the alley, which was a bit noisy due to the trash dumping. The ceiling fan was great since there was no a/c. Location was fantastic and convenient. So close to Union Square shopping, Chinatown, Ferry Building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the F trolley to Fisherman's Wharf...about a 10 minute ride and cost $2 round trip. Take the trolley at Market and Powell to Pier 39.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
nyc
Mar 10, 2011

great hotel

great hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top