$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

King George Hotel

3 stars
View map of 334 Mason St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
227 reviews
Business

My 3rd stay and not my last. Close to BART, Union Square, and Market St. Only a desk chair in a... See full review

  • Alaska flyer
  • Feb 4, 2015
Great hotel, good location

The King George hotel was very clean, quiet and comfortable. Room was small, but cozy and... See full review

  • Joseph H.
  • Jan 20, 2015
Stately boutique hotel near Union Square
Considering its name and the British flag flying out front, it's no surprise that the King George Hotel near San Francisco's Union Square district has a decidedly European flair. Decorative touches are subtle but continue this theme: chess boards in every room, coats of arms, and more. All guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access. The on-site restaurant, Winston's Bar and Lounge, even serves imported beer.
Highlights
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access
  • Hop on any one of the city's cable cars down the street
  • Union Square shopping is only a four-block walk from the hotel
Rooms

Accommodations -- 141 rooms and 12 suites in all -- vary in size and configuration but come standard with flat-screen televisions, pillow-top mattresses, MP3 docking stations and in-room safes. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access as well as nightly turndown service.

Features

The King George Hotel, a free-standing structure, dates back to 1914 and has been renovated numerous times since. It also is now a certified member of the California Green Lodging Program.

All guests have access to a nearby Club One Health Club (fees apply), a full-service facility with spa, pool and fitness center. The hotel also offers 24-hour laundry service (fees apply).

Grab a pint (what else?) at Winston's Bar & Lounge, a kitschy-but-lovable bar on the ground floor. The pub no longer serves food, but the scene is still lively on weekend nights.

Valet and self-parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/30 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (15 mi/25 km)
  • Cable car stops (3 blocks)
  • BART (6 blocks/1 km)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Union Square (3 blocks)
  • Theater District (4 blocks)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • AT&T Park (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Golden Gate Park (6 mi/10 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center in lobby
  • Intimate 500-square-foot meeting room
Policies and Fees
  • The hotel accepts reservations for guests under 18 years old given that parent/legal guardian guarantees payment for all charges. If legally emancipated, guests can present documents that prove emancipation and the ability to shoulder expenses at the hotel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed King George Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

King George Hotel Rooms

Standard Room with One Queen Bed
Standard Room One Queen bed is furnished with English Tudor furniture, writing desk, ceiling fans and a comfortable queen bed with full duvet and Scotland wool throw blankets. Each room is equipped Complimentary wireless Internet Access. Also, all rooms have private baths, remote control flat screen televisions, telephones with voice mail and data ports, safes, ironing equipment, hairdryers and electronic door locks. Non smoking. 24-hour room service and same day valet laundry service is also available.
Standard Room with Two Twin Beds
Standard Room with Two Twin Beds is furnished with English Tudor furniture, writing desk, ceiling fans and a comfortable queen bed with full duvet and Scotland wool throw blankets. Each room is equipped complimentary wireless Internet Access. Also, all rooms have private baths, remote control flat screen televisions, telephones with voice mail and data ports, safes, ironing equipment, hairdryers and electronic door locks. Non smoking. 24-hour room service and same day valet laundry service is also available.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi
  • Lands End: 2 mi

Dining

Winston's Bar & Lounge
Wine and champagne lounge serving specialty beers and appetizers Evening hours 5 pm to 10 pm Enjoy our selective bottled wines at smashing prices!

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The King George Hotel has a perfect ground level meeting room to host your business. The meeting room is equipped with complimentary high speed wireless internet access for presentations. And, an arrangement of foods & beverages are available for your working lunch or on-site event! It is truly the BEST place on Union Square to hold a meeting for 40 or less people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for King George Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 227
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
heatherS75
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Mar 8, 2012

San Francisco in a Day

We only have 2 days left in California after having spent 5 days in Napa. We decided to spend the last two days at the King George. BOY, it couldn't get any better. Our room, though on the first floor and facing a wall, was perfect. I have been to the city many times and know that value hotels, even expensive hotels, don't always have great views and are often very VERY small. This room was on the smaller side, but perfect for us. It clearly has been remodeled recently. The bathroom was beautiful and very clean. Eco friendly amenities were a nice touch. The bed was very comfortable and the desk/ overhead coffee bar perfect for cramped quarters. The staff were very helpful and quick to serve. The front desk assisted with directions and reservations to restaurants, though they also have a full time concierge to help with that. The location was also wonderful. A starbucks right around the corner, great Irish Pub, and Union Square was in spitting distance. It really was ideal for our needs. I would stay here again, anytime, with any amount of time. For the rate, you can't get any better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to the hotel was a little Chinese Ramen Noodle restaurant. YUM! Cheap and delicious. But the place is super small so be prepared to wait!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Haterissy
Business
Reno, Nevada
Oct 16, 2013

Amazing Weekend Trip

I have nothing negative to say about this hotel. Yes, the rooms are a bit on the small side, so if you are looking for a place to lounge around in all day, you can pay three times as much at any of the other hotels on this block to do just that. We came to explore the city and this was a great place to spend the night. Everything was clean, the beds were comfortable, staff was friendly, check-in was a breeze, and I didn't hear a peep from the room next door. We will definitely come back to King George Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant next door serves delicious food. The seafood crepes are to die for.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
hekimay
Business
Dallas, Texas
Nov 29, 2013

Great location!

We didn't expect too much of this hotel, after all we booked it for its perfect location and price. However, this is beyond our expectation! Only one block away from union square, and two 24 hr restaurants around, and complimentary wifi! The room was clean and shampoo provided was very ideal! Love it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Toejam
Business
Los Angeles
Oct 31, 2009

You get more than what you pay for

Reserved a queen size bed, found the room to be extremely small for my liking, called the front desk and they gladly moved me to a double full no questions asked and didnt charge me extra. My room was facing the street via an alley so it was alittle noisy during party hours.Room was clean,tv's are new, safe in the room,small quiet bar in the back of the hotel. its a good value and in a great location, will stay there again. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
travels quite often
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Sep 25, 2011

Great hotel in a great location

Why pay the high prices of most hotels in the Union Square area when you can book King George Hotel! It is the perfect location, clean, comfortable and an excellent staff. We would not choose anything else for our next trip to San Francisco!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach Blanket Babylon!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 29, 2007

Good Hotel

The King George Hotel was a good place to stay. The hotel is very centrally located to transportation, shopping and dining. The room was very small, but very neat and tidy. The walls are very thin, but if your neighbors are quiet, then it's not bad. There's only one elevator, which is slow and really small. King George has its own small bar/restaurant that provides dining for breakfast and happy hour. Tea is served on weekends. All of these are nice. The price for the hotel may have been a little too high, but we'd definitely stay there again because of its location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping is within a 5 city block radius.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 17, 2008

My review of King George Hotel

The King George Hotel is a nice centrally located hotel. All major retail locations are just a short walk. All other attractions are just a short cab ride away. The hotel is reasonably priced for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location for all major shopping locations. Easy walk to stores.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Duke1990
Business
Wilmington NC
Aug 30, 2010

Great place to stay in San Francisco

Great hotel and staff was wonderful. I upgraded to a king room for a few dollars more but did not realy need to do that because the double bed rooms were just as nice. May room did not have the upgraded flat lcd tv as some to the other rooms and i felt like not got what i paid for in some way. Asked at front desk and the reason given was my room was not renovated yet. So I paid for the upgrade on the room and they gave me a none renovated room. Wow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are there for more than 3 days and need to get around the city buy a multiple muni pass 3 or 7 day it is very cost effective. access to cable cars street cars and bus system aswell as subway but not BAER system.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Australia
Dec 21, 2009

What more could you ask for

The hotel is a small, friendly, efficient hotel. All staff were extremely pleasant but reception were particularly welcoming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent mexican restaurant just around the corner, great coffee shop right next door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springfield, IL
Mar 2, 2008

EASY COMFORT

We enjoyed a one minute check-in and quick access to our room. Public parking was available through the hotel or at two adjacent lots.The decor was contemporary and colorful without being too bright or generic. The king bed had great sheets and comfortable pillows.The room seemed to be a great temperature with out useing the heater and it was great to be able to open the window for fresh air and daylight. The rooms are not soundproof but the noise from adjoining rooms was not disturbing.The location is very close to Union Square and many restaurants and theatres.I especially liked that we could leave our fourth floor room and be on the street in one minute. Friendly and smiling staff was another plus. Check out was even quicker than our arrival and that was at 12:00 when checkout was due.No waiting,no fuss and comfy room and bed !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

One block up is the Comedy College and students put on shows fri-sat evenings at 7 and 9 for $5-10.Shows are fun and casaul,free popcorn and BYOB or dollar sodas and water.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top