$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2015 Check-out: Aug 29, 2015

King George Hotel

3 stars
View map of 334 Mason St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for King George Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
217 out of 217
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ben folds
Business
San Jose, CA
Mar 31, 2014

In town for business

Nicely situated small hotel. Clean rooms, fairly quiet for being right off of a busy street. Close to theaters, shopping eating drinking etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Roving Glass Artist
Business
Melbourne, Florida
Apr 22, 2014

King George - a Prince of a Place to Stay

Aside from a noisy late night neighbor one evening, our stay was perfect. Right in the middle of San Francisco with a bit of history, the hotel has amazingly fresh new rooms - beautifully appointed. Although it does not boast its own restaurant, it is sandwiched between two perfectly excellent eateries. A short block from cable-cars and the tony arts district of galleries, it is equally a very short distance to BART and more upscale shopping than anyone can afford in one visit. An extraordinary value, for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nailjunky
Business
Santa Cruz, CA, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Great Location!

Stayed here for New Year's. Hotel is in a great location. Near shopping and lots of restaurants. Room was very clean but very small but that is to be expected for a Boutique Hotel. The Staff was really nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had breakfast at Max's. I recommend the Crab Cake Benedict. The Crab Cake had lumps of crab meat in it, which was nice because sometimes crab cakes are more bread than meat.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scott Z
Business
northern CA
Jan 1, 2012

nice and cozy for two..

the staff were wonderful and extremely helpful with the hotel as well as the surroundings. unfortunately, we had no water and found out we we came in for the evening at 12 midnight, maintenance came immediately and could not remedy the situation. they gave us another room to shower and did not charge us for parking which would have been another $40.00. I would stay again but check the water first.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

SF is always entertaining!

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
afii58
Business
Jacksonville, FL, USA
Mar 26, 2012

great value

the hotel is quaint (old..lol) but very clean and well maintain. Staff is very helpful and friendly.Rooms are small but very clean, housekeeping was excellent..stayed 3 days. Only thing was could hear everything, everything outside, (not from other rooms), but from the street. but value and location was great, highly recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dennis.de
Business
San Diego, Kalifornien, Vereinigte Staaten
Apr 10, 2012

nice place

very nice hotel, perfect location, friendly & helpful staff, cozy rooms and nice city - little problems but nothing that influence my decision not to stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

uncle vito's pizza. good food and inexpensive.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michael W Dirt McGirt
Business
Buffalo, NY
May 16, 2012

Convenient hotel

Decent size rooms, very comfortable bed in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Rye -- it's a nice cocktail bar 4 blocks away.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
770Dave
Business
Los angeles
Jun 26, 2012

Really good

Location and very clean. At a good price I recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
True Budget Traveller
Business
Los Angeles, Ca
Sep 17, 2012

Great hotel location

I was pleasantly surprised about my stay at the hotel. My room was clean, on the small side but sufficient. The blanket was very thin though. My room window faced the alley, which was a bit noisy due to the trash dumping. The ceiling fan was great since there was no a/c. Location was fantastic and convenient. So close to Union Square shopping, Chinatown, Ferry Building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the F trolley to Fisherman's Wharf...about a 10 minute ride and cost $2 round trip. Take the trolley at Market and Powell to Pier 39.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
13twelve
Business
Brooklyn, New York
Sep 17, 2012

Convenient, quiet, average hotel.

Its a regular, reasonable priced hotel with friendly staff in a great location in San Francisco. I'd stay again and I would recommend to friends. No problems to report, an all round pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't bother getting on the cable car at the terminus, instead get on them a block or so in - getting the cable car from Union Square saves a huge wait at a terminus.

Back to menu Return to top