$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2015 Check-out: Aug 29, 2015

King George Hotel

3 stars
View map of 334 Mason St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for King George Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
217 out of 217
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Illinois
Jun 9, 2009

Great location

It was the perfect location for my first trip to San Francisco, easy walking distance to everything, and the restaurant next door became my favorite for breakfast. (Dining options rate a 5 because of hotel's proximity to many great restaurants.) The hotel was clean, the staff was friendly and helpful. Although my room was at the back of the hotel, street noise did wake me during the night so I had to close the window. But I would recommend the hotel to anyone. I gave it only four stars because I couldn't give it four-and-a-half, and there's always room for improvement, right?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 21, 2010

Great location

King George was very clean and convenient to Union Square and many attractions in the city. The rooms are faily small, but well appointed. It is not a full service hotel, but it is a teriffic value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great convenience to an exciting area of the city.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nyc
Mar 10, 2011

great hotel

great hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Jonses
Business
Denver, Colorado
Sep 8, 2009

King George

We spent three nights in King George while visiting San Francisco. We found the area of the town around the hotel to be noisy at night, and close to some not-so-safe areas of town. However, we slept through the noise, and with a city map and our travel book we did not "stumble into" any bad neighborhoods near the hotel. The hotel itself is in a touristy few blocks of town, which lack some S.F. authenticity but are very safe. The hotel's location is farther from Fisherman's Wharf and Alcatraz, etc., than other, higher priced hotels, but if you like to walk, it is about 30 minutes and you receive a rich walking tour of the north side of town with amazing views (if you don't mind hills). Additionally, we were actually closer than the expensive wharf "tourist" hotels to many other interesting parts of town, including the museum area, Union Square, Haight-Ashbury, Alamo Square, and Golden Gate Park. There are lots of art galleries and very high end shopping two blocks away in Union Square. Chinatown is about a ten minute walk north. The hotel is simple but clean inside. The decor in the room and lobby is old fashioned and charming. The hotel is not fancy but it was neat, comfortable, safe and quiet (noise from outside notwithstanding). There is a charge to use the internet on their computers. There is cable car and city transport access nearby. The staff and conceierge is helpful for arranging transport and other things. There is a bar with a happy hour. Overall, we liked the hotel for all the reasons above. There were some drawbacks, but for the price, we were very happy and would stay there again in the future. It would be considered a 3/5 star hotel based on its luxury, amenities, etc., but we gave it 4 stars for the reasons above. It might not be the best hotel or area if you have young children along, however. We would recommend it to younger trsvellers, or any age travelers who might enjoy a S.F. experience that is a mix of tourist atractions and some more authentic, eclectic aspects of town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Avon, CT
Sep 9, 2009

Great Euro-style hotel

This hotel has a nice, Euro-style feel to it and was great for a four-night stay in San Francisco. Located in the Union Square area, it is centrally located to most attractions in the city and within walking distance of the subway, rail, bus, street car and cable car systems that take you everywhere else. Rooms were on the smaller side due to its european style, but they were clean and neat and had decent bedding. Beware it appeared there is no air-conditioning although we didn't need it while we were there. The rooms are slightly noisy since the doors were thin and we had to keep the windows open to compensate for no air conditioning (busy neighborhood). The hotel amenities are also slightly lacking (breakfast not included, no public computers available), but the staff was very friendly and willing to answer any questions you had. Not sure if they had a parking option although there was an unaffiliated lot across the street. For the area, I would say definitely a good place for the money since some similar hotels go for a decent amount more than what we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to use the BART (Bay Area Rapid Transit) when coming in from San Francisco airport to save since from what I understand cabs can be really expensive. Also there are a bunch of diners (including Lori's nextdoor) that are in the area and Walgreens where you can pick up stuff you need. Probably the best place to pick up food/snacks would be if you came across a Luckies grocery store (at Fulton & Masonic, off Route 5 bus) or something else. Also pick up a MUNI multi-day pass if you intend on using the public transportation (bus, streetcars, cable cars, subway) a lot over multiple days. We used a 3-day pass for $18. One place these can be bought is at the visitor's center at the powell street station. I think one-ways on most of the public transit options are $2 to $5 and note BART is separate from MUNI (San Fran Municipal Trans Agency).

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jkmackie
Business
providence ri
Apr 25, 2010

excellent value

The rooms may be on the small side but the hotel is quaint, clean and nicely decorated. The best part about the king george is the staff, everyone we spoke to was friendly and helpful and went above and beyond. The location is close to transportion, restaurants, and shopping which was great. The only downside, and it is no fault of the king george, is after dark the area has a considerable number of vagrants which can be intimidating but there are plenty of other tourists around as long as you are not too far off ther beaten track.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to info center and get city passes. They are good for a ton of museums and attractions and allow you unlimited muni bus, trolly and cable cars all over the city

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisiana
Jul 6, 2010

Nice stay

Nice historic hotel to visit San Francisco. Close to BART station (direct to the airport). Rooms are cosy and neat, though walls can be a little thin depending on your neighbors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Cable Car Barn & Museum (Free and instructive)

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Apr 18, 2010

Surprising good for the price

Surprisingly clean and hospitable for the price. Unexpected pluses where Q-tips, cotton balls, and a jar of mints in the room that were all refilled each day. Room was small, but quaint. Concierge and staff with knowledgeable and helpful. Would recommend the hotel and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 15, 2009

Great Location but a little small

Great location. 3 to 4 blocks away from the powell BART. It's a little small, but def worth the stay for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bloomington
Jun 12, 2009

Great location for the price

The hotel was located in a great spot. Close to everything. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top