$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 21, 2015 Check-out: May 22, 2015

King George Hotel

3 stars
View map of 334 Mason St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for King George Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
240 out of 240
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Quarterly Visiter
Business
Hoboken, NJ
Dec 14, 2012

Great place to stay

I've stayed here three times for a week at a time each. The internet isn't the best, but it is free. Shower hot water was flakey on me in 1 of the rooms, but has been fine in the other 2 I've stayed in. Other than that everything has been great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JimmyP
Business
Guangzhou, China
Sep 27, 2011

There are better values in SF

Room was clean, but small, to be expected in historic hotel. Coffee maker on an old dresser in the closet was less than attractive. Location was close to Union Sq, but on the wrong side, a block from the Tenderloin. No bar or restaurant on site, had to leave the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, HI
Oct 13, 2009

Like I was in Europe.

The hotel reminded me of the hotels I've stayed in in Europe. The halls seem like a dormitory or apt. The rooms are very cute and decorative, but very small compared to the average American room. The staff was friendly, except had a little problem with them recording our late check out request. The hotel grew on us and became home. It was conveniently close to the Cable Car line and to many 24 hour restaurants. I probably would not stay there again, but it was a nice memory.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jul 13, 2009

"Convenient to everything"

This hotel is similar to several others in the Union Square area but, with probably the smallest of rooms. But, oh the good price. Paid a super competitive price for this hotel in the heart of the action. The hotel, as with others in this area of downtown SF, is super convenient to everything. Inexpensive cab ride to ballpark or a 30 minute walk. Cable cars and Chinatown within a couple of blocks. Restaurants, bookstore, a zillion shops all within steps. Even caught a bus 3 short blocks away and for a couple of bucks was taken to Haight Ashbury District for some exploring and an interesting self quided walking tour. Staff friendly. Clean rooms. Shower worked better than some I've had in $200 a night hotels. You're going to get the big city noise but, to me that's part of the fun. If you're a light sleeper better try somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Catch the cable car on Powell one block up from the turnaround (end of the line). Avoids the long lines at the Powell and Market starting point.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tee1380
Business
New York, NY
Nov 3, 2010

Awesome location and Great service!

I stayed at the King George for my vacation trip in SF. My stay included lots of sightseeing, eating and drinking. I wished the rooms were bigger and the hotel was more modern. This trip was one of the best ones because it was so easy to get to the whole city from the hotel. The staff was super helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AYSE ERCETIN
Business
Turkey
Nov 8, 2010

great location but very small room

San Francisco was the second stop of our trip from Turkey to USA during the whole month of July. The weather was very cold, we shivered in the afternoon in San Francisco. The location of our hotel was good but the room was very small. Comparing the rooms we stayed at 5 different hotels in different parts of USA, our room in this hotel was the worst one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is very close to Union Square where most of the great shops are found, if you are interested in shopping. From this hotel, transportation is also easy because the bus stops are within a very short walking distance. However, if there will be a next time, I will prefer a hotel with a larger room. The room was really very small.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern California
May 21, 2009

Great Hotel

Had a problem with room door malfunction. Staff immediately took care of it with apologies. Upgraded me at no charge. First class service. Hotel seemed very old world charmy. Was a little older than i expected, but nice. Would stay there again. Parking a little difficult in this area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Parker Co.
Sep 7, 2010

unbeatable location for the price

for location u couldn't beat the rate

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kritter Kitty
Business
San Francisco
Jun 19, 2014

Goor location, if size doesn't matter

It's a great location, close to bigger hotels twice the price. But they put me in what was probably the smallest hotel room I've ever been in. Also, the walls were paper thin. Still, it's clean, centrally located, and priced well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cbbarthe
Business
Chino, CA
Jun 19, 2014

Close to public transportation

The hotel is one street over from Union Square and local shopping. And access to public transportation and bus tours is handy. The rooms are small but newly remodeled and very clean. Since it is a busy city there is a fair share of street noise that you would except. We enjoyed a nice glass wine in their bar after a busy day touring the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alldrin
Business
New York
Jun 22, 2014

Good stay for business

Check in took less than a minute, the room was good and clean, but rather small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top