$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2015 Check-out: Aug 29, 2015

King George Hotel

3 stars
View map of 334 Mason St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for King George Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
217 out of 217
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
atozcats
Business
Mountain View, CA
Jul 5, 2010

Good value, especially for this location

I went to SF to visit museums, to see a show, and to try some unusual restaurants. Since the King George is only a block and a half from Union Square, it is in the heart of the part of SF that appeals to me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Busy trav
Business
San Diego
Apr 21, 2011

Handy

Can't beat the location, close to everything, and within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots within walking distance; try Max's

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Feb 8, 2011

King George

It was a nice clean older hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sue Ann & Husband
Business
Minneapolis, MN
May 8, 2010

Stay Here! It's Near To . . . Everything

Very wonderful front staff and concierge services -- like a 4 star hotel. Love being near Union Square and 1 block from Powell St. BART & MUNI train stations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

American Conservatory Theater around the corner. Eat on the top of the roof at Macy's at the Cheesecake Factory restaurant overlooking the surrounding city.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
versagal
Business
Norwalk, CT
Jun 25, 2009

Unbeatabl value for the price

Staff was very friendly and accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wisconsin
Mar 22, 2011

Great time, great deal!

One block off Union Square in a safe neighborhood, the King George Hotel treated us like royalty. We visited family, and the restaurants, diners and sights in the area served well for meeting up with them. We relaxed in the cozy hotel bar in the evening, and the staff was friendly and helpful with directions. A cash machine and computers with Internet service were handy, and, best of all, the room and bathroom were spotless! (It was a very small room, though, but we expected that for the good price in the heart of the city.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The diner across the street, the Pine-something, had the best Belgian waffle, omelets and coffee you could want.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WeatherOnMars
Business
Pasadena, CA
Dec 19, 2009

Six Nights of Comfort in a Treasure

I stayed at this hotel for six nights during a business trip to San Francisco. The room was small, but the bathroom was spacious. The closet was ample as well. The room was clean and pleasant. The hotel is centrally located near Powell St. BART, Moscone Center, and many restaurants of varying price and excellent quality. This is downtown San Francisco. There are panhandlers. There is noise at night. But the hotel is reasonably well-insulated, and I slept very pleasantly. The hotel staff was helpful, especially in dealing with the separate travel arrangements of myself and the colleague with whom I was staying. I booked early and got a nice deal, but I've paid a little less for much worse quality. I don't know what the bar and breakfast room are like.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A branch of Lori's Diner is right next door. Reasonably priced diner food with great service.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kian Hsiang
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jun 20, 2007

Great Location, nice hotel overall

We stayed for 4 nights. It will be good if they hotel has offered free breakfast. On the 2nd day morning, room service maid was terrible. She left our pillows standing on the floor against the sofa. I reckon that she must have forgotten to put them back on the bed...but knowing that while they make the bed they left them on the floor really kills me. That night I didn't want to use any pillows. Best thing is that this hotel comes with free wireless. We stayed on 7th floor and still could hear the busy traffic. Abit noisy at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Aug 9, 2007

My review of King George Hotel

Hotel George is a boutique hotel with an excellent friendly staff. The rooms are small and decorated nicly . If your lodging needs is for sleeping then this hotel is adequate having only a small bar and breakfast area. The beds were comfortable and the small and the small walk in close made luggage storeage manable with two suitcases. The bathrooms were very small but sufficient and the white tile was excellently cared for and made the bathroom appear roomy. It is convenient to the Cable cars and other public tansportation and walkable to many shopping areas as well. Although it has a small reception/ sitting lobby area, it is nicely decorated and well maintained and in fact had new carpeting installed in the lobby and throughout the main level overnight during our stay. The negatives are the smallest of the room, and early morning noise since our room was directly above an alleyway. Although it does not have parking included, across the street there is a parking garage for around $30.00 and there is hotel valet service available. Also the hotel borders O'Farrell Street which the homeless do inhabit; however, if your walk is towards Union Square, it is not a concern. It is walkable from the BART station if coming from the San Francisco Airport. There were restaurants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Shopping, and nearby restaurants especially Dottie True Blue Restaurant where the patrons line up early morning and go until 3 pm, Hotel has a small Breakfast Restaurant in Hotel

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
White Plains, NY
Oct 26, 2009

Good location, low price

Small room, but usable desk. Dated but adequate and clean. Was looking for low cost alternate to big names, and this was satisfactory. Not for big spenders, who like to pay for WiFi or hunt for a cell signal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top