$175 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 21, 2015 Check-out: Jun 22, 2015

King George Hotel

3 stars
View map of 334 Mason St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for King George Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
241 out of 241
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Quarterly Visiter
Business
Hoboken, NJ
Dec 14, 2012

Great place to stay

I've stayed here three times for a week at a time each. The internet isn't the best, but it is free. Shower hot water was flakey on me in 1 of the rooms, but has been fine in the other 2 I've stayed in. Other than that everything has been great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
stephen Moore
Business
wood-ridge,new jersey
May 12, 2014

Adequate

Good location. It worked for me as I just needed a place to sleep and like a warm room. Clean but no Air Conditioning

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lori's diner next door is great

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
palmdale
Aug 4, 2009

good service

very thin wallsz, you could hear everything

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
R. duke
Business
san diego
Apr 10, 2011

good location good people

The staff was friendly. good location. Good food next store, even better bars and hot-spots within a couple blocks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Destrehan, LA
Feb 22, 2011

Great Location

Centrally located and within easy walking distance to many sights and tourist attractions. Our first time to SF and enjoyed being in center of town. I was concerned about other postings complaining about the thinness of the walls and they are true. Bring earplugs, especially for the noise in the hallways from those late nighters. Room was small but comfortable. Staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Nov 18, 2009

King George Hotel

Within walking distance to shopping district, financial district, and has a friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Biz trvler
Business
LA, CA
Jul 2, 2010

Perfectly fine

Small, old, and charming. The hotel has a great location, and worked out well for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kuleto's and other nice restaurants are right nearby.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
grimdog
Business
canyon country, ca
Jan 8, 2010

great location

great rooms (bathrooms) are a little on the small side,the unexpected "false" fire alarm was quite a shock due to the painters fixing the building. but over all the stay was decent for the price but the location is unmatched and great. the staff is very helpful and willing to go the extra mile, we would stay here again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

next to the cable car turnaround that takes you all over the city, very convenient.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newburyport, MA
Dec 9, 2009

perfectly fine

The hotel is on the older side, there is only one small elevator for staff and guests, and the room was very small, however, it is very well maintained,the staff is very helpful, and it is in a great location. Futhermore, the price we got from [...] was fantastic. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Roaming Educator
Business
New York City
Jul 29, 2010

Overnight stay

The hotel is well located, on the edge of the Tenderloin District, within easy walk of SoMA, Union Square and other major areas of interest. The room was clean and comfortable, if a bit small. The only issue I had with the room was that I was located on the third floor on an air shaft overlooking the building next door. That building's ventilation system created a rather annoying low hum that made sleeping difficult. ASk for a room on a higher floor and you should have a fine stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Be sure to grabe a drink and some great seafood at the Ferry Building around sunset.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
grampabc
Business
Standish, Maine
Jul 31, 2009

Reasonable place to stay

It was located for easy access to transportation. We did a lot of sight seeing. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Two things we found to be a problem was the cleanliness of the bathroom and the use of the elevator by staff. We brought the cleanliness issue to the attention oif the staff and they corrected the issue immediately!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Best way to see the sights is to use a tour.

Back to menu Return to top