$188 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 26, 2015 Check-out: Aug 29, 2015

King George Hotel

3 stars
View map of 334 Mason St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for King George Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
217 out of 217
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Quarterly Visiter
Business
Hoboken, NJ
Dec 14, 2012

Great place to stay

I've stayed here three times for a week at a time each. The internet isn't the best, but it is free. Shower hot water was flakey on me in 1 of the rooms, but has been fine in the other 2 I've stayed in. Other than that everything has been great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jul 13, 2009

"Convenient to everything"

This hotel is similar to several others in the Union Square area but, with probably the smallest of rooms. But, oh the good price. Paid a super competitive price for this hotel in the heart of the action. The hotel, as with others in this area of downtown SF, is super convenient to everything. Inexpensive cab ride to ballpark or a 30 minute walk. Cable cars and Chinatown within a couple of blocks. Restaurants, bookstore, a zillion shops all within steps. Even caught a bus 3 short blocks away and for a couple of bucks was taken to Haight Ashbury District for some exploring and an interesting self quided walking tour. Staff friendly. Clean rooms. Shower worked better than some I've had in $200 a night hotels. You're going to get the big city noise but, to me that's part of the fun. If you're a light sleeper better try somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Catch the cable car on Powell one block up from the turnaround (end of the line). Avoids the long lines at the Powell and Market starting point.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tee1380
Business
New York, NY
Nov 3, 2010

Awesome location and Great service!

I stayed at the King George for my vacation trip in SF. My stay included lots of sightseeing, eating and drinking. I wished the rooms were bigger and the hotel was more modern. This trip was one of the best ones because it was so easy to get to the whole city from the hotel. The staff was super helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AYSE ERCETIN
Business
Turkey
Nov 8, 2010

great location but very small room

San Francisco was the second stop of our trip from Turkey to USA during the whole month of July. The weather was very cold, we shivered in the afternoon in San Francisco. The location of our hotel was good but the room was very small. Comparing the rooms we stayed at 5 different hotels in different parts of USA, our room in this hotel was the worst one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is very close to Union Square where most of the great shops are found, if you are interested in shopping. From this hotel, transportation is also easy because the bus stops are within a very short walking distance. However, if there will be a next time, I will prefer a hotel with a larger room. The room was really very small.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern California
May 21, 2009

Great Hotel

Had a problem with room door malfunction. Staff immediately took care of it with apologies. Upgraded me at no charge. First class service. Hotel seemed very old world charmy. Was a little older than i expected, but nice. Would stay there again. Parking a little difficult in this area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Parker Co.
Sep 7, 2010

unbeatable location for the price

for location u couldn't beat the rate

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kritter Kitty
Business
San Francisco
Jun 19, 2014

Goor location, if size doesn't matter

It's a great location, close to bigger hotels twice the price. But they put me in what was probably the smallest hotel room I've ever been in. Also, the walls were paper thin. Still, it's clean, centrally located, and priced well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cbbarthe
Business
Chino, CA
Jun 19, 2014

Close to public transportation

The hotel is one street over from Union Square and local shopping. And access to public transportation and bus tours is handy. The rooms are small but newly remodeled and very clean. Since it is a busy city there is a fair share of street noise that you would except. We enjoyed a nice glass wine in their bar after a busy day touring the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alldrin
Business
New York
Jun 22, 2014

Good stay for business

Check in took less than a minute, the room was good and clean, but rather small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LarrySDSU
Business
San Diego, CA
Jul 12, 2014

Great location, but need some upgrade

For a hotel with a great location and at a reasonable price, King George is a top choice. The staff is friendly and helpful. It also offers free WIFI. The room is small but clean. You are a short walk from the Union Square. I would like to see a few changes. First, it would be good if they have some AC in the room. I know that most of the times you don't need AC in SF, but it does get warm from time to time, particularly for rooms facing west. A ceiling fan might not be enough. Second, the windows need better sound prove, particularly for rooms on the lower floors. Mason Street can get really noisy at night. Finally, the decor in the rooms need some upgrade (although they are rolling out new room styles as I am typing).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the Bart or use Uber if you don't want to walk. Driving is a pain since parking is impossible. Taxi can be difficult to come by and quite expensive.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pocholo Traveler
Business
Cincinnati, Ohio
Jul 16, 2014

great location, great staff, okay room

The hotel location is great but the room is quite basic. There was no desk and no chair in the room so it was difficult working on my computer as I had to do that while sitting in bed. It was also hard to hang out with another person in the room, again because the room was basically just the bed and a small dresser that also holds the TV. However I should say that the staff was very nice and accommodated my questions and small requests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Mason next door

Back to menu Return to top