$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

King George Hotel

3 stars
334 Mason St., San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
202 reviews
Perfect spot

The staff is friendly and outgoing. It's a perfect small hotel close to everything. It is older so... See full review

  • Jewels58
  • Jul 25, 2014
Great, old feeling hotel

I usually stay between three and only three hotels in San Francisco. The King George is among one... See full review

  • jemwatso
  • Mar 17, 2014
Stately boutique hotel near Union Square
Considering its name and the British flag flying out front, it's no surprise that the King George Hotel near San Francisco's Union Square district has a decidedly European flair. Decorative touches are subtle but continue this theme: chess boards in every room, coats of arms, and more. All guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access. The on-site restaurant, Winston's Bar and Lounge, even serves imported beer.
Highlights
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access
  • Hop on any one of the city's cable cars down the street
  • Union Square shopping is only a four-block walk from the hotel
Rooms

Accommodations -- 141 rooms and 12 suites in all -- vary in size and configuration but come standard with flat-screen televisions, pillow-top mattresses, MP3 docking stations and in-room safes. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access as well as nightly turndown service.

Features

The King George Hotel, a free-standing structure, dates back to 1914 and has been renovated numerous times since. It also is now a certified member of the California Green Lodging Program.

All guests have access to a nearby Club One Health Club (fees apply), a full-service facility with spa, pool and fitness center. The hotel also offers 24-hour laundry service (fees apply).

Grab a pint (what else?) at Winston's Bar & Lounge, a kitschy-but-lovable bar on the ground floor. The pub no longer serves food, but the scene is still lively on weekend nights.

Valet and self-parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/30 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (15 mi/25 km)
  • Cable car stops (3 blocks)
  • BART (6 blocks/1 km)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Union Square (3 blocks)
  • Theater District (4 blocks)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • AT&T Park (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Golden Gate Park (6 mi/10 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center in lobby
  • Intimate 500-square-foot meeting room
Policies and Fees
  • The hotel accepts reservations for guests under 18 years old given that parent/legal guardian guarantees payment for all charges. If legally emancipated, guests can present documents that prove emancipation and the ability to shoulder expenses at the hotel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.7868 -122.4094
Area served
San Francisco, Marin, Napa, Oakland
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, Oakland International Airport
Area description
When you stay at the King George, you are close to some of San Francisco's major sightseeing and vacation spots. You are just 1 mile from Chinatown, Coit Tower and Cable Car Museum. The magnificent Pier 39, Lombard Street, Ghirardelli Square, Fisherman's Wharf are just 2 miles from the King George. Lots of shopping, fun and recreational activities await you in these areas. You can drive down to the Golden Gate Bridge, 5 miles from the King George, and enjoy its spectacular view of the city. When you stay at the King George San Francisco, you are in the heart of San Francisco's Union Square with the city's best hotspots at your fingertips. You are just a walk from Moscone Convention Center and half a block from the San Francisco Hilton. You are close to plenty of fine restaurants and eat outs, world class shopping, theatre and San Francisco's world famous cable car line to Fisherman's Wharf.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed King George Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

King George Hotel Rooms

Standard Room with One Queen Bed
Standard Room One Queen bed is furnished with English Tudor furniture, writing desk, ceiling fans and a comfortable queen bed with full duvet and Scotland wool throw blankets. Each room is equipped Complimentary wireless Internet Access. Also, all rooms have private baths, remote control flat screen televisions, telephones with voice mail and data ports, safes, ironing equipment, hairdryers and electronic door locks. Non smoking. 24-hour room service and same day valet laundry service is also available.
Standard Room with Two Twin Beds
Standard Room with Two Twin Beds is furnished with English Tudor furniture, writing desk, ceiling fans and a comfortable queen bed with full duvet and Scotland wool throw blankets. Each room is equipped complimentary wireless Internet Access. Also, all rooms have private baths, remote control flat screen televisions, telephones with voice mail and data ports, safes, ironing equipment, hairdryers and electronic door locks. Non smoking. 24-hour room service and same day valet laundry service is also available.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi

Dining

Winston's Bar & Lounge
Wine and champagne lounge serving specialty beers and appetizers Evening hours 5 pm to 10 pm Enjoy our selective bottled wines at smashing prices!

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The King George Hotel has a perfect ground level meeting room to host your business. The meeting room is equipped with complimentary high speed wireless internet access for presentations. And, an arrangement of foods & beverages are available for your working lunch or on-site event! It is truly the BEST place on Union Square to hold a meeting for 40 or less people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (202)

Ratings and reviews for King George Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
202 out of 202
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
heatherS75
Miami, FL, USA
Mar 8, 2012

San Francisco in a Day

We only have 2 days left in California after having spent 5 days in Napa. We decided to spend the last two days at the King George. BOY, it couldn't get any better. Our room, though on the first floor and facing a wall, was perfect. I have been to the city many times and know that value hotels, even expensive hotels, don't always have great views and are often very VERY small. This room was on the smaller side, but perfect for us. It clearly has been remodeled recently. The bathroom was beautiful and very clean. Eco friendly amenities were a nice touch. The bed was very comfortable and the desk/ overhead coffee bar perfect for cramped quarters. The staff were very helpful and quick to serve. The front desk assisted with directions and reservations to restaurants, though they also have a full time concierge to help with that. The location was also wonderful. A starbucks right around the corner, great Irish Pub, and Union Square was in spitting distance. It really was ideal for our needs. I would stay here again, anytime, with any amount of time. For the rate, you can't get any better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to the hotel was a little Chinese Ramen Noodle restaurant. YUM! Cheap and delicious. But the place is super small so be prepared to wait!

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Willis Goldbeck
Business
Washington DC
Feb 17, 2013

Good short term alternative

Perfect location and affordability make this a good selection. Staff very nice. Hot water only part of the time and heat which would not turn off or down were two problems that detracted from an otherwise fine experience. My recommendation, below, would depend on learning that these problems had been fixed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
palmdale
Aug 4, 2009

good service

very thin wallsz, you could hear everything

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mama Mary
Seattle, WA
Feb 17, 2013

Family getaway

overall the hotel is convenient to all the shops n restaurants. The room was clean n beds were comfortable enough. Just remind the maid service not to make too much noise early in the morning. They may not realize some people like to sleep at 8 a.m. afterall it is holiday. Thanks but the hotel is a thumbs up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ray and Steve
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 26, 2012

Good stay.

Our stay was overall good. A little confusion with our room key at first (walked in on a couple) but quickly sorted out. We received an apology that felt sincere and the problem was fixed immediately. The walls could've been thicker, too much noise from outside and neighbors could be heard, not unbearable just too much for my taste. I would recommend this hotel to a friend. The color scheme of the whole could use some modernization.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
First Timers from Chicago
Chicago, Illinois
Aug 7, 2014

Good location, best price

Pretty good location downtown without being too noisy - close to Union Square shopping and restaurants, easy to jump on cable cars, and easy to walk to Fisherman's Wharf, Chinatown, and other neighborhoods. We had a recently renovated room which was nice - You don't need A/C in San Francisco so don't worry. I do wish the bathroom had a fan and the shower curtain didn't wrap around the tub completely. Staff was friendly and helpful, answering all of our touristy questions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use Uber to get around the city, not traditional cabs - most drivers know the King George hotel and it's easy to get anywhere in the city from its location.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AYSE ERCETIN
Turkey
Nov 8, 2010

great location but very small room

San Francisco was the second stop of our trip from Turkey to USA during the whole month of July. The weather was very cold, we shivered in the afternoon in San Francisco. The location of our hotel was good but the room was very small. Comparing the rooms we stayed at 5 different hotels in different parts of USA, our room in this hotel was the worst one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is very close to Union Square where most of the great shops are found, if you are interested in shopping. From this hotel, transportation is also easy because the bus stops are within a very short walking distance. However, if there will be a next time, I will prefer a hotel with a larger room. The room was really very small.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
stephen Moore
wood-ridge,new jersey
May 12, 2014

Adequate

Good location. It worked for me as I just needed a place to sleep and like a warm room. Clean but no Air Conditioning

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lori's diner next door is great

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ARML
California
Jun 10, 2014

Perfect Location

Very friendly staffs. Perfect location. Extremely small rooms which is expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern California
May 21, 2009

Great Hotel

Had a problem with room door malfunction. Staff immediately took care of it with apologies. Upgraded me at no charge. First class service. Hotel seemed very old world charmy. Was a little older than i expected, but nice. Would stay there again. Parking a little difficult in this area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TCRunner
Visalia, CA
Oct 25, 2012

Made for a good Marathon Weekend Trip

The staff was very courteous and helpful. I especially liked the protein bars and gatorade they had set out on race morning, that was a really special touch. I did not like that our room was TINY-I mean barely enough room to walk around the queen bed and the ceilings were LOW, like i could put my whole hand, palm and all, on the ceiling and I'm only 5'7". Although, the bathroom was spacious and the toiletries were nice. There was also a candy dish but all it had were empty wrappers-weird. Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to stay very close to Union Square, but who isn't too tall or wanting to do much more than sleep in their hotel room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top

Change search