$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

King George Hotel

3 stars
View map of 334 Mason St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for King George Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
220 out of 220
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Haterissy
Couples
Reno, Nevada
Oct 16, 2013

Amazing Weekend Trip

I have nothing negative to say about this hotel. Yes, the rooms are a bit on the small side, so if you are looking for a place to lounge around in all day, you can pay three times as much at any of the other hotels on this block to do just that. We came to explore the city and this was a great place to spend the night. Everything was clean, the beds were comfortable, staff was friendly, check-in was a breeze, and I didn't hear a peep from the room next door. We will definitely come back to King George Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant next door serves delicious food. The seafood crepes are to die for.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Destrehan, LA
Feb 22, 2011

Great Location

Centrally located and within easy walking distance to many sights and tourist attractions. Our first time to SF and enjoyed being in center of town. I was concerned about other postings complaining about the thinness of the walls and they are true. Bring earplugs, especially for the noise in the hallways from those late nighters. Room was small but comfortable. Staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
San Francisco
Nov 18, 2009

King George Hotel

Within walking distance to shopping district, financial district, and has a friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Biz trvler
Business
LA, CA
Jul 2, 2010

Perfectly fine

Small, old, and charming. The hotel has a great location, and worked out well for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kuleto's and other nice restaurants are right nearby.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
grimdog
Family
canyon country, ca
Jan 8, 2010

great location

great rooms (bathrooms) are a little on the small side,the unexpected "false" fire alarm was quite a shock due to the painters fixing the building. but over all the stay was decent for the price but the location is unmatched and great. the staff is very helpful and willing to go the extra mile, we would stay here again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

next to the cable car turnaround that takes you all over the city, very convenient.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Newburyport, MA
Dec 9, 2009

perfectly fine

The hotel is on the older side, there is only one small elevator for staff and guests, and the room was very small, however, it is very well maintained,the staff is very helpful, and it is in a great location. Futhermore, the price we got from [...] was fantastic. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Roaming Educator
Single
New York City
Jul 29, 2010

Overnight stay

The hotel is well located, on the edge of the Tenderloin District, within easy walk of SoMA, Union Square and other major areas of interest. The room was clean and comfortable, if a bit small. The only issue I had with the room was that I was located on the third floor on an air shaft overlooking the building next door. That building's ventilation system created a rather annoying low hum that made sleeping difficult. ASk for a room on a higher floor and you should have a fine stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Be sure to grabe a drink and some great seafood at the Ferry Building around sunset.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
grampabc
Family
Standish, Maine
Jul 31, 2009

Reasonable place to stay

It was located for easy access to transportation. We did a lot of sight seeing. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Two things we found to be a problem was the cleanliness of the bathroom and the use of the elevator by staff. We brought the cleanliness issue to the attention oif the staff and they corrected the issue immediately!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Best way to see the sights is to use a tour.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Cincinnati, OH
Jul 23, 2009

good location

Hotel was in a good location, easy access to cable cars and all neighborhoods. The service we received was excellent as well. It is an older hotel, so the room was pretty small and looked old, but it was just fine for the price. I would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Just take the cable cars all the way to either Bay St. or Hyde St. to get to Fisherman's Wharf.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JimmyP
Guangzhou, China
Sep 27, 2011

There are better values in SF

Room was clean, but small, to be expected in historic hotel. Coffee maker on an old dresser in the closet was less than attractive. Location was close to Union Sq, but on the wrong side, a block from the Tenderloin. No bar or restaurant on site, had to leave the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Honolulu, HI
Oct 13, 2009

Like I was in Europe.

The hotel reminded me of the hotels I've stayed in in Europe. The halls seem like a dormitory or apt. The rooms are very cute and decorative, but very small compared to the average American room. The staff was friendly, except had a little problem with them recording our late check out request. The hotel grew on us and became home. It was conveniently close to the Cable Car line and to many 24 hour restaurants. I probably would not stay there again, but it was a nice memory.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top