$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

King George Hotel

3 stars
View map of 334 Mason St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for King George Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
220 out of 220
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
heatherS75
Couples
Miami, FL, USA
Mar 8, 2012

San Francisco in a Day

We only have 2 days left in California after having spent 5 days in Napa. We decided to spend the last two days at the King George. BOY, it couldn't get any better. Our room, though on the first floor and facing a wall, was perfect. I have been to the city many times and know that value hotels, even expensive hotels, don't always have great views and are often very VERY small. This room was on the smaller side, but perfect for us. It clearly has been remodeled recently. The bathroom was beautiful and very clean. Eco friendly amenities were a nice touch. The bed was very comfortable and the desk/ overhead coffee bar perfect for cramped quarters. The staff were very helpful and quick to serve. The front desk assisted with directions and reservations to restaurants, though they also have a full time concierge to help with that. The location was also wonderful. A starbucks right around the corner, great Irish Pub, and Union Square was in spitting distance. It really was ideal for our needs. I would stay here again, anytime, with any amount of time. For the rate, you can't get any better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to the hotel was a little Chinese Ramen Noodle restaurant. YUM! Cheap and delicious. But the place is super small so be prepared to wait!

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jewels58
Couples
San Diego, CA
Jul 25, 2014

Perfect spot

The staff is friendly and outgoing. It's a perfect small hotel close to everything. It is older so there is no a/c. Other then that, great experience. Will definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dare bear
Couples
Tampa
Jul 22, 2014

Awesome stay

Great location and great staff. And the room was big.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pocholo Traveler
Single
Cincinnati, Ohio
Jul 16, 2014

great location, great staff, okay room

The hotel location is great but the room is quite basic. There was no desk and no chair in the room so it was difficult working on my computer as I had to do that while sitting in bed. It was also hard to hang out with another person in the room, again because the room was basically just the bed and a small dresser that also holds the TV. However I should say that the staff was very nice and accommodated my questions and small requests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Mason next door

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ohead
Couples
Peoria, IL
Jul 14, 2014

SFO

A conveniently located boutique type hotel with comfortable rooms for a stay in The City, where you do not plan on spending time in the room. Glad we stayed there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy access to all transportation

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LarrySDSU
Business
San Diego, CA
Jul 12, 2014

Great location, but need some upgrade

For a hotel with a great location and at a reasonable price, King George is a top choice. The staff is friendly and helpful. It also offers free WIFI. The room is small but clean. You are a short walk from the Union Square. I would like to see a few changes. First, it would be good if they have some AC in the room. I know that most of the times you don't need AC in SF, but it does get warm from time to time, particularly for rooms facing west. A ceiling fan might not be enough. Second, the windows need better sound prove, particularly for rooms on the lower floors. Mason Street can get really noisy at night. Finally, the decor in the rooms need some upgrade (although they are rolling out new room styles as I am typing).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the Bart or use Uber if you don't want to walk. Driving is a pain since parking is impossible. Taxi can be difficult to come by and quite expensive.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alldrin
Business
New York
Jun 22, 2014

Good stay for business

Check in took less than a minute, the room was good and clean, but rather small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
What a shinning face
Family
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 20, 2014

Under expectation

The hotel doesn't have parking lot. You got to pay $35 to park at the building across the street. The bed is so small, smaller than a twin size.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MouM2
Single
Pittsburgh
Jun 19, 2014

Great location and fair price

Very friendly staff and great location I would suggest for you to park your car in any of the parking lots that are 2 blocks away if you want overnight parking. It is cheaper than using the hotel's valet parking service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kritter Kitty
Couples
San Francisco
Jun 19, 2014

Goor location, if size doesn't matter

It's a great location, close to bigger hotels twice the price. But they put me in what was probably the smallest hotel room I've ever been in. Also, the walls were paper thin. Still, it's clean, centrally located, and priced well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cbbarthe
Friends
Chino, CA
Jun 19, 2014

Close to public transportation

The hotel is one street over from Union Square and local shopping. And access to public transportation and bus tours is handy. The rooms are small but newly remodeled and very clean. Since it is a busy city there is a fair share of street noise that you would except. We enjoyed a nice glass wine in their bar after a busy day touring the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top