$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 13, 2015 Check-out: Jun 14, 2015

King George Hotel

3 stars
View map of 334 Mason St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for King George Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
240 out of 240
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Creative Iatrogenist
Business
Denver
Apr 9, 2014

Great location, nothing special otherwise, but acceptable

GREAT location. Reasonably priced for the location. Desk staff needed prodding to honor the actual reservation for a king bed and sent me to a queen room first. Rooms are small. Acceptable for one person; would be tight quarters for two. Elevator (not plural) is ancient, small, and slow. Morning coffee/tea downstairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kelly AJ
Business
Los Angeles
Apr 28, 2014

Money well spent

This hotel was ok.... Clean and in the center of town. It was easily accessible from the Bart station. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

I really enjoyed the music at John Colin Lounge. It was a bit of old and new school hip hop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo, NY
Aug 12, 2009

Good location

There was a conference to attend in the West Bay and I decided to stay in San Francisco. The location of the hotel was good, only 5 minutes walk to the BART station to take the train. But the room is outdated and not very clean, but good value for a discount price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Father in trip
Business
Moscow, Russia
Aug 29, 2009

Contradictory impression

I and 10-years old dauther visited San Francisco as a tourist. All I need from hotel is a bed and parking. But the bed in the center of small room made me feel tight. Instead of other motels I stay during trip parking in this hotel is not free and inconvenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
GDL, MX
Nov 23, 2009

noisy but with a great location

it is a very noisy hotel, however the location is perfect, close to the bart station and the public transportation to go to SFO's landmarks, everything was good except for all the noise you can hear from other rooms..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The cheesecake factory restaurant at the macy's building offers great prices and a superb view of union square

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wine Country Tour
Business
Orlando, Fl
May 24, 2010

Great Location

We were there for one week touring San Francisco and wine country. It was great experience. Room was too small, dated but for the time that we were spending in the room it was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lefty Odoul's restaurant and piano bar, a short distant from the hotel was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Lake City
Jun 14, 2011

Can't Complain

The hotel was decent. It was a fine accomodation for what I needed which was a comfortable reliable place to stay. The hotel was located in such an area that I was able to walk many places and cabs were inexpensive. One downside is that with the convenience of Union Square catering to tourists, many of the convenient stores are expensive (I bought a bottle of champagne on the corner for $20, which I paid $7 for at Safeway). The area is a tourists trap and there is an overwhelming amount of homeless people begging at nearly every trun within a block radius or so. The hotel staff was friendly, but I didn't require much. The room was small, but I expected that. It wasn't the most fabulous hotel, but it was better than a Holiday Inn or Motel 6. It is perfectly fine, but if you need something more fancy, the Westin St. Francis is acorss the street. I got the feeling this hotel was standard issue for the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of great food around, and 24 hour diners just s stone throw away - one next door and another directly across the street. I ate quite well and for not much money in the area on a few ocassions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LA native
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 24, 2011

Not bad not great.

The staff is incredible nice and very helpful. The internet connection didn't wok well and the elevator wasn't working. Other than that everything was status quo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SF Party Girl
Business
Rohnert Park
Jun 4, 2012

Quiant Hotel in SF

The King George is a cute little place with its Brittish charm, but I got an unpleasant surprise when I opened the door and saw how small our (2 twin bed) room was. The pictures online must not have made that clear. Otherwise our stay was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dr K Conference Traveler
Business
Lynch Station, VA
Jun 4, 2012

Good for the money

Easy access to the conference center and the staff were very accommodating and gracious. Our room the first night was beside the elevator and on the front street -- definitely too noisy if you are from a quiet town. Spoke to the front desk person and he readily moved us to a room away from the elevator and front street for our next five nights, upgrading us in the process at no additional cost. Free access to computers and a printer in the lobby was very convenient for printing out driving directions for the next part of our vacation. The downside was the smell of urine and constant presence of begging homeless people on the street, but that was typical of this entire area of town. Even with that, still felt safe walking around at night due to the constant volume of tourists in the area. Very convenient to the trolley and several bus stops too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You don't need to go to the trolley turnaround and wait in the long line to hop on the trolley. Buy your passport at the turnaround if you are going to ride the trolley several times (one way trip $6; unlimited passport ~$26) then go up a stop or two and hop on the trolley there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top