$187 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2015 Check-out: Aug 29, 2015

King George Hotel

3 stars
View map of 334 Mason St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for King George Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
217 out of 217
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anna F.
Business
San Diego
Jan 7, 2015

family trip

the hotel elevator is a pain! Long wait.....Staff uses the same elevator for their morning cleanings. Always full also. No fun :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ryan B.
Business
N/A
Jan 6, 2015

Great holiday trip

The hotel was great. The location is perfect for getting around, it was a cute building and very comfortable. The staff was super helpful and polite to us. My only issue was the noise from other guests. You can definitely hear the rooms next to you, especially in the bathroom. Our neighbor rung in the new year a little too hard (if you know what I mean). Overall, it was a great experience and I would stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For breakfast or lunch, go to Honey Honey. The breakfast was delightful and cheap. It was only two blocks from the hotel, located on Post and Taylor. Wish we would have found it sooner than the last day, but it was worth the wait.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jessica G.
Business
N/A
Jan 6, 2015

Great place for a vacation

Clean, friendly, cozy and a great location at the right price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kevin J
Business
Fresno
Dec 29, 2014

Christmas Shopping Getaway

Very nice, European style hotel. Rooms are small by American standards but very well laid out. Excellent location. Easy access to a parking garage directly across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DC CR
Business
New York, New York
Nov 21, 2014

Good hotel

Pretty clean; easy Small. Water pressure was a little questionable. Also, no closet; the coat and shirt hangars were right above the TV. A little weird. If you just need a place to crash with some internet and TV, this is good for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Union Square is really pretty to walk by.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
HereForWork
Business
Seattle, WA
Nov 17, 2014

Run down and uncomfortable rooms, with free early morning construction noise!

I was a little wary about this place going in, but town was pretty booked so it seemed like the best of the rest. Well, my concerns were justified. Here's a small menu of the most significant cons to this place: - Rooms are falling apart. Bad peeling paint, shoddy repairs to walls and surfaces, chain bolt was missing from door (screw holes where it goes). - Beds and pillows are low quality and uncomfortable. - Thin (single pane?) windows mean you get a front-row seat to all the noise of a busy neighborhood. Trucks, cars, 3am African street drums, the works. - EARLY MORNING REMODELING NOISE FROM INSIDE THE BUILDING, at 7:45am. Really. Like sanding and sawing of the floors above, followed up with hammer drilling in concrete, and then hammering on steel in concrete. - Rickety elevator makes you find your rosary beads. - Extremely steep spiral stair not really practical for most folks. - Bad TV signal on multiple channels -- broken up picture. What other people have said is definitely true. No A/C, but I didn't need it. Fan was acceptable. Radiator looks like it would be noisy, but it was off in October. Both mornings I was there, some idiot with a hammer started making tons of noise before 8am. Then the oddest part, by 8:30/9am they would stop and it'd be quiet again. So why the heck did they feel it needed to happen right then and wake me up? The only explanation for this is poor management not putting the guests' needs ahead of their own projects. I'm pretty disappointed that the door was missing any backup security mechanism -- there's the little bolt on the digital lock, but I assume the staff can override that so what good is it. The front desk staff was extremely friendly. The location is quite central, and there is good food nearby. The rooms are pretty terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Katana-ya ramen shop across the corner is highly rated and was delicious.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chashaodan
Business
MD
Nov 13, 2014

very conveinent

Great location! Price was good. Room was ok for the price paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NWHM Runner
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Oct 20, 2014

Low rating, but I'd prob stay here again

I though this was a really cute little hotel in the heart of Union Square. Small rooms, but nice decor/touches. I really only needed somewhere to sleep and I wish that's what I could've gotten: sleep!! I get it, San Fran is a huge, bustling city. But I could not believe how awful the city noise was. We were in a room that was overlooked/was underneath an ally way and there were people partying all night there. And if there wasn't people making noise it was garbage trucks and business owners taking the trash out at all hours. Awful, awful, awful noise!!! ! We shut all the windows and even turned on the T.V. in hopes to drown out the ally way noise, but no luck! We had another member of our group who's room wasn't on the same side as ours and she didn't complain at all about noise. Request a room AWAY from that ally way! The staff was nice but they could've shown more enthusiasm for the guests...ie: smiled...even once would've been nice! There was a coffee/water table set up for guests in the morning and iced water available to us throughout the day. The price was right for the location and dates we were there and if I couldn't find anything comparable I'd stay again. IF it wasn't in that ally way!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Moua
Business
Palo Alto, CA, USA
Sep 18, 2014

Great location

Nice stay perfect location rooms small but quiet. Right in heart of Union Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Musicpipa
Business
Los Angeles
Sep 17, 2014

Jie ma!s stay

Small and average but you got what you paid for. The location is really good, close to everything. I might choose this place again for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top