$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 21, 2015 Check-out: May 22, 2015

King George Hotel

3 stars
View map of 334 Mason St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for King George Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
228 out of 228
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LF55
Business
Houston, TX
Nov 1, 2012

Lovely hotel

Preftect location and confortable stay. A quaint nice hotel with a British flavor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The wandering man
Business
NYC
Oct 24, 2010

The right spot, old fashioned style

Closely located to all shops. The hotel is very old and it needs some refurbishing. The staff is ok. Dining places very close by. A good place for a decent price. Not much more than that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Mostly chinese with an imperial touch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SDSkippy
Business
San Diego, CA
Sep 5, 2012

Eh... Could be better...

The bathroom had mold, the bed was uncomfortable and the toilet seat was wobbly. On the bright side, there were no bed bugs. It is San Francisco, so I expected the rooms to be expensive and get less for what I paid for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dingdong1981
Business
Seattle, WA
Oct 16, 2012

Old, small, dingy

Was expecting a very nice place but was instead confronted with a very strange experience. The one elevator for the nine floors was extremely slow and sometimes took up to ten minutes. I tried taking the spiral staircase once but it is pretty dizzying from nine floors up. Staff though very friendly, had great difficulty with the English language. Rooms are Very small without air conditioning or water pressure. Clearly the building is very old and there probably is not much that can be done.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AliSac
Business
Sacramento, CA
Nov 19, 2012

good location, average hotel

This is what we should have expected at this price - a small room with thin walls, but clean and in a great location. If you don't want to spend too much time in the hotel room itself, this is a fine place. The bathroom was nice - airy and bright.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Getting a cab in this area is really tough at busy times - plan ahead if you have to be somewhere at a certain time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JordiBombon
Business
Mexico City
May 12, 2013

Good location for the price

The hotel is old and not very clean, it is in a good location, I rather look for a cleaner hotel next time in San Francisco and with better comfort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 7, 2007

Okay for business

King George Hotel somewhat comfortable. It was too noisy for what I am use to. Other than that, the staff was professional and helpful in providing a list of restaurant around the area. For business, this would be a good hotel to stay in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are restaurants and shopping all around. Including small markets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GradeA
Business
San Jose, CA
Aug 22, 2010

Quaint and Convenient, but Noisy

This was a great choice hotel for the convenience. There are a lot of things close by including 24hour diners, convenience stores, bars, union square, parking lot. My wife and were looking for an affordable hotel for the evening for a reunion and some shopping the next day, and in that respects, The King George Hotel fit that bill. Unfortunately, the old style windows has little insulation to the LOUD city noises. We could hear everything on the street from the 5th floor. It was a restless night as party goers, dump trunks, car alarms, and emergency vehicles went on with their business!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Jun 29, 2009

Shop around before you stay here.

This hotel is almost 100 years old and in need of some attention. It was clean and cheep. It would not be my first choice. On a budget it is ok. I would forgive this hotel if it were in europe. ( it is not!) The staff is very friendly and helpful. the hotel has one elevator that you have too wait so long for that they have chairs to sit in on every landing, while you wait for the car to arrive at your floor. I walked up and down eight flights on the narrow staircase several times during my stay. Two can not pass on the staircase it is so narrow and steep. The bed was hard and the sheets thin. Still it was cheep and much cleaner than I had expected from the reviews. I would not be afraid to stay there again if I had too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

you may want to look into Parking other than the hotel parking across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
las vegas,nv
Oct 6, 2009

IT'S O.K.

The hotel location was good! The staff was friendly as well. We paid $100 for the room on a special rate, and would not want to pay too much more for the room. Would stay again w/that rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu
Sep 16, 2010

The King George Hotel

Great central location. Close to restaurants, downtown shopping, BART. Very nice staff. Walking distance to a fitness center. Next time would request a room opposite from the alley on the south side. The alley echoed with noise to the wee hours of the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lori's Cafe right next door, easy location and good food for breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top