$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

King George Hotel

3 stars
View map of 334 Mason St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for King George Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
227 out of 227
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Winter Park, Fl
Jul 28, 2009

LOVED IT!

Very quaint, LOTS of great food all around. Small, not full of amenites, so if that is what you like, this would not be it. Room was very clean and staff VERY friendly and helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 7, 2007

Great staff

The King George was close to Union Square, the train and the trolley - 3 necessary destinations for 1st time travelers to San Francisco. Though there were a lot of panhandlers around the hotel, the hotel itself was a wonderful oasis. The staff was overly hospitable and helpful and the rooms were vintage and impeccably clean. They did run really small (its a hotel in a very old building) and I knew everything our next door neighbors did and said because the wall are very thin. But it was still a very nice place to stay and most likely I will stay there again. Note: 2 people will get the rare twin bed room but if you have 3 people - you'll have to upgrade to 2 double beds which aren't much bigger.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Most tours pick up from Union Square. A short walk from the hotel beats going all the way to Fisherman's Wharf.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Toejam
Business
Los Angeles
Oct 31, 2009

You get more than what you pay for

Reserved a queen size bed, found the room to be extremely small for my liking, called the front desk and they gladly moved me to a double full no questions asked and didnt charge me extra. My room was facing the street via an alley so it was alittle noisy during party hours.Room was clean,tv's are new, safe in the room,small quiet bar in the back of the hotel. its a good value and in a great location, will stay there again. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
travels quite often
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Sep 25, 2011

Great hotel in a great location

Why pay the high prices of most hotels in the Union Square area when you can book King George Hotel! It is the perfect location, clean, comfortable and an excellent staff. We would not choose anything else for our next trip to San Francisco!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach Blanket Babylon!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 29, 2007

Good Hotel

The King George Hotel was a good place to stay. The hotel is very centrally located to transportation, shopping and dining. The room was very small, but very neat and tidy. The walls are very thin, but if your neighbors are quiet, then it's not bad. There's only one elevator, which is slow and really small. King George has its own small bar/restaurant that provides dining for breakfast and happy hour. Tea is served on weekends. All of these are nice. The price for the hotel may have been a little too high, but we'd definitely stay there again because of its location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping is within a 5 city block radius.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 17, 2008

My review of King George Hotel

The King George Hotel is a nice centrally located hotel. All major retail locations are just a short walk. All other attractions are just a short cab ride away. The hotel is reasonably priced for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location for all major shopping locations. Easy walk to stores.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Millington, NJ
Aug 18, 2010

King George Hotel, San Francisco

A super value in a great location, near delicious and good-value dining and all kinds of public transportation: BART, Caltrain, Golden Gate Transit, Muni, including the Old F Line streetcars. Rooms are small, but typical of boutique hotels. Staff are friendly and helpful. Free WiFi is easily set up in your room, and communal computers in the lobby provide free printing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Duke1990
Business
Wilmington NC
Aug 30, 2010

Great place to stay in San Francisco

Great hotel and staff was wonderful. I upgraded to a king room for a few dollars more but did not realy need to do that because the double bed rooms were just as nice. May room did not have the upgraded flat lcd tv as some to the other rooms and i felt like not got what i paid for in some way. Asked at front desk and the reason given was my room was not renovated yet. So I paid for the upgrade on the room and they gave me a none renovated room. Wow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are there for more than 3 days and need to get around the city buy a multiple muni pass 3 or 7 day it is very cost effective. access to cable cars street cars and bus system aswell as subway but not BAER system.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gup
Business
san diego, ca
Nov 16, 2009

FANTASTIC HOTEL

This is just a fantastic hotel! From the minute we walked in we were treated so well. Very nice lobby, very friendly, baby crib for the room was no prob, hot towels delivered to the room, roomservice reasonably priced and quick, clean, comfortable room, very quaint SF style hotel. Could not be happier with this place. We paid $69 a night and got a great deal, but honestly I would have been ok paying much more than that for the service we got. Concierge is great, helped with tourist info, airport rides, etc. All of this and a great location, safe, good area, close to union square and cable car pickups.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Australia
Dec 21, 2009

What more could you ask for

The hotel is a small, friendly, efficient hotel. All staff were extremely pleasant but reception were particularly welcoming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent mexican restaurant just around the corner, great coffee shop right next door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top