$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

King George Hotel

3 stars
View map of 334 Mason St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for King George Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
227 out of 227
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LF55
Business
Houston, TX
Nov 1, 2012

Lovely hotel

Preftect location and confortable stay. A quaint nice hotel with a British flavor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anna F.
Business
San Diego
Jan 7, 2015

family trip

the hotel elevator is a pain! Long wait.....Staff uses the same elevator for their morning cleanings. Always full also. No fun :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ryan B.
Business
N/A
Jan 6, 2015

Great holiday trip

The hotel was great. The location is perfect for getting around, it was a cute building and very comfortable. The staff was super helpful and polite to us. My only issue was the noise from other guests. You can definitely hear the rooms next to you, especially in the bathroom. Our neighbor rung in the new year a little too hard (if you know what I mean). Overall, it was a great experience and I would stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For breakfast or lunch, go to Honey Honey. The breakfast was delightful and cheap. It was only two blocks from the hotel, located on Post and Taylor. Wish we would have found it sooner than the last day, but it was worth the wait.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jessica G.
Business
N/A
Jan 6, 2015

Great place for a vacation

Clean, friendly, cozy and a great location at the right price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kevin J
Business
Fresno
Dec 29, 2014

Christmas Shopping Getaway

Very nice, European style hotel. Rooms are small by American standards but very well laid out. Excellent location. Easy access to a parking garage directly across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Marion A.
Business
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

Not what i expected

The room was TOO small and it was dirty. I felt like i was staying in a motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anita C.
Business
Chapel Hill
Dec 24, 2014

Okay trip

room was small but at very convenient location. price was a little bit high

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Marion A.
Business
N/A
Dec 16, 2014

Not what i expected

The room was TOO small and it was dirty. I felt like i was staying in a motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TerryM
Business
Vancouver, Canada
Nov 20, 2014

A great find

This is not a luxurious hotel but it is true value for money and perfectly located in the heart of the city, close to transit, restaurants and all the amenities. The rooms are a good size, clean and quiet if you ask for a room back from the street. I will definitely stay here again and would highly recommend this hotel for anyone on a budget but wanting somewhere clean, central and close to transit (just a few blocks to BART, light rail, buses and the cable cars).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Much cheaper than a cab and more convenient than the hotel shuttle, use BART from the airport (check discount return fares) and go directly downtown. If you have roll-on luggage, the hotel is about a ten minute walk from the Powell Street station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
HereForWork
Business
Seattle, WA
Nov 17, 2014

Run down and uncomfortable rooms, with free early morning construction noise!

I was a little wary about this place going in, but town was pretty booked so it seemed like the best of the rest. Well, my concerns were justified. Here's a small menu of the most significant cons to this place: - Rooms are falling apart. Bad peeling paint, shoddy repairs to walls and surfaces, chain bolt was missing from door (screw holes where it goes). - Beds and pillows are low quality and uncomfortable. - Thin (single pane?) windows mean you get a front-row seat to all the noise of a busy neighborhood. Trucks, cars, 3am African street drums, the works. - EARLY MORNING REMODELING NOISE FROM INSIDE THE BUILDING, at 7:45am. Really. Like sanding and sawing of the floors above, followed up with hammer drilling in concrete, and then hammering on steel in concrete. - Rickety elevator makes you find your rosary beads. - Extremely steep spiral stair not really practical for most folks. - Bad TV signal on multiple channels -- broken up picture. What other people have said is definitely true. No A/C, but I didn't need it. Fan was acceptable. Radiator looks like it would be noisy, but it was off in October. Both mornings I was there, some idiot with a hammer started making tons of noise before 8am. Then the oddest part, by 8:30/9am they would stop and it'd be quiet again. So why the heck did they feel it needed to happen right then and wake me up? The only explanation for this is poor management not putting the guests' needs ahead of their own projects. I'm pretty disappointed that the door was missing any backup security mechanism -- there's the little bolt on the digital lock, but I assume the staff can override that so what good is it. The front desk staff was extremely friendly. The location is quite central, and there is good food nearby. The rooms are pretty terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Katana-ya ramen shop across the corner is highly rated and was delicious.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chashaodan
Business
MD
Nov 13, 2014

very conveinent

Great location! Price was good. Room was ok for the price paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top