$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

King George Hotel

3 stars
View map of 334 Mason St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for King George Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
220 out of 220
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
heatherS75
Couples
Miami, FL, USA
Mar 8, 2012

San Francisco in a Day

We only have 2 days left in California after having spent 5 days in Napa. We decided to spend the last two days at the King George. BOY, it couldn't get any better. Our room, though on the first floor and facing a wall, was perfect. I have been to the city many times and know that value hotels, even expensive hotels, don't always have great views and are often very VERY small. This room was on the smaller side, but perfect for us. It clearly has been remodeled recently. The bathroom was beautiful and very clean. Eco friendly amenities were a nice touch. The bed was very comfortable and the desk/ overhead coffee bar perfect for cramped quarters. The staff were very helpful and quick to serve. The front desk assisted with directions and reservations to restaurants, though they also have a full time concierge to help with that. The location was also wonderful. A starbucks right around the corner, great Irish Pub, and Union Square was in spitting distance. It really was ideal for our needs. I would stay here again, anytime, with any amount of time. For the rate, you can't get any better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to the hotel was a little Chinese Ramen Noodle restaurant. YUM! Cheap and delicious. But the place is super small so be prepared to wait!

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Johnny Air
Business
Salt Lake City
Jun 21, 2015

Business trip

My only gripe is that there was no bedside lamp. It's pretty cold with just a ceiling light.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Linh L.
Business
N/A
Jun 7, 2015

business trip

Hotel is in a good location close to cable cars and Bart. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was comfortable and clean. Sheets were a little scratchy. Bathroom was tiny. Room faced a wall and had no view. Older hotel but appeared to be recently remodeled. Free Wi-Fi was nice and worked well. Only stayed 1 night so don't know what long term stay would be like. Didn't see a pool or gym but didn't actively search for them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ted R.
Couples
Roseville
Jun 4, 2015

Good value for money

The front desk was friendly but it's an old hotel, they're trying to renovate it but it still shows it's age. Overall it's okay, good value for money and good location in union square

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pasquale V.
Couples
N/A
May 26, 2015

Great Trip to San Fran!

It was a last minute booking and the hotel was extremely accommodating! We will definitely stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dinara S.
Couples
Silver Spring
Apr 15, 2015

Great location

Great location, friendly stuff. Bathroom was a bit small, but other than that a nice hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Have vacation will travel
Friends
Austin
Mar 4, 2015

small but clean

The hotel room was very small, but it was very clean. We didn't spend much time in the room, but I liked it. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jean 816
Couples
Kansas City
Feb 23, 2015

Perfect for us

The hotel location can't be beat. For us, the hotel was perfect as we did not have children or guests. The room was quite small and there was little storage for clothing, etc. But we were able to use the first floor area for the work we wanted to do. Internet access was terrific and there were plenty of tables and chairs on which to work. Everything we needed for food or supplies was located nearby. We were attending a conference that was less than two blocks away. There was plenty of opportunity to take walks, shop, listen to music, enjoy the sights. It was great for us! Staff was usually helpful, some were just excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anna F.
Single
San Diego
Feb 4, 2015

Family

Staff great. Room very small. The worst: ELEVATOR. Small, busy all the time, staff uses same elevator to do maintenance, cleanings carts, sheets and all kind...very nice staff, however, unwanted trips to the basement!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alaska flyer
Business
Anchorage
Feb 4, 2015

Business

My 3rd stay and not my last. Close to BART, Union Square, and Market St. Only a desk chair in a small room, but good internet, clean & comfortable older hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
What a shinning face
Single
La puente
Jan 25, 2015

Good location but the beds are too small

The air conditioning is broke and the beds are too small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top