$174 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 18, 2014 Check-out: Jul 21, 2014

King George Hotel

3 stars
334 Mason St., San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
291 reviews
Great, old feeling hotel

I usually stay between three and only three hotels in San Francisco. The King George is among one... See full review

  • jemwatso
  • Mar 17, 2014
Walk past the fancy ones, this is the one to use!

King George Hotel is small. It is quaint. It has charm. It is clean and located a couple of block... See full review

  • RapidCycler
  • Mar 8, 2014
Stately boutique hotel near Union Square
Considering its name and the British flag flying out front, it's no surprise that the King George Hotel near San Francisco's Union Square district has a decidedly European flair. Decorative touches are subtle but continue this theme: chess boards in every room, coats of arms, and more. All guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access. The on-site restaurant, Winston's Bar and Lounge, even serves imported beer.
Highlights
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access
  • Hop on any one of the city's cable cars down the street
  • Union Square shopping is only a four-block walk from the hotel
Rooms

Accommodations -- 141 rooms and 12 suites in all -- vary in size and configuration but come standard with flat-screen televisions, pillow-top mattresses, MP3 docking stations and in-room safes. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access as well as nightly turndown service.

Features

The King George Hotel, a free-standing structure, dates back to 1914 and has been renovated numerous times since. It also is now a certified member of the California Green Lodging Program.

All guests have access to a nearby Club One Health Club (fees apply), a full-service facility with spa, pool and fitness center. The hotel also offers 24-hour laundry service (fees apply).

Grab a pint (what else?) at Winston's Bar & Lounge, a kitschy-but-lovable bar on the ground floor. The pub no longer serves food, but the scene is still lively on weekend nights.

Valet and self-parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/30 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (15 mi/25 km)
  • Cable car stops (3 blocks)
  • BART (6 blocks/1 km)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Union Square (3 blocks)
  • Theater District (4 blocks)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • AT&T Park (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Golden Gate Park (6 mi/10 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center in lobby
  • Intimate 500-square-foot meeting room

King George Hotel Rooms

Standard Room with One Queen Bed
Standard Room One Queen bed is furnished with English Tudor furniture, writing desk, ceiling fans and a comfortable queen bed with full duvet and Scotland wool throw blankets. Each room is equipped Complimentary wireless Internet Access. Also, all rooms have private baths, remote control flat screen televisions, telephones with voice mail and data ports, safes, ironing equipment, hairdryers and electronic door locks. Non smoking. 24-hour room service and same day valet laundry service is also available.
Standard Room with Two Twin Beds
Standard Room with Two Twin Beds is furnished with English Tudor furniture, writing desk, ceiling fans and a comfortable queen bed with full duvet and Scotland wool throw blankets. Each room is equipped complimentary wireless Internet Access. Also, all rooms have private baths, remote control flat screen televisions, telephones with voice mail and data ports, safes, ironing equipment, hairdryers and electronic door locks. Non smoking. 24-hour room service and same day valet laundry service is also available.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed King George Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7868 -122.4094
Area served
San Francisco, Marin, Napa, Oakland
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, Oakland International Airport
Area description
When you stay at the King George, you are close to some of San Francisco's major sightseeing and vacation spots. You are just 1 mile from Chinatown, Coit Tower and Cable Car Museum. The magnificent Pier 39, Lombard Street, Ghirardelli Square, Fisherman's Wharf are just 2 miles from the King George. Lots of shopping, fun and recreational activities await you in these areas. You can drive down to the Golden Gate Bridge, 5 miles from the King George, and enjoy its spectacular view of the city. When you stay at the King George San Francisco, you are in the heart of San Francisco's Union Square with the city's best hotspots at your fingertips. You are just a walk from Moscone Convention Center and half a block from the San Francisco Hilton. You are close to plenty of fine restaurants and eat outs, world class shopping, theatre and San Francisco's world famous cable car line to Fisherman's Wharf.

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The King George Hotel has a perfect ground level meeting room to host your business. The meeting room is equipped with complimentary high speed wireless internet access for presentations. And, an arrangement of foods & beverages are available for your working lunch or on-site event! It is truly the BEST place on Union Square to hold a meeting for 40 or less people.

Dining

Winston's Bar & Lounge
Wine and champagne lounge serving specialty beers and appetizers Evening hours 5 pm to 10 pm Enjoy our selective bottled wines at smashing prices!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (291)

Ratings and reviews for King George Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
291 out of 291
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LF55
Business
Houston, TX
Nov 1, 2012

Lovely hotel

Preftect location and confortable stay. A quaint nice hotel with a British flavor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Millington, NJ
Aug 18, 2010

King George Hotel, San Francisco

A super value in a great location, near delicious and good-value dining and all kinds of public transportation: BART, Caltrain, Golden Gate Transit, Muni, including the Old F Line streetcars. Rooms are small, but typical of boutique hotels. Staff are friendly and helpful. Free WiFi is easily set up in your room, and communal computers in the lobby provide free printing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Millington, NJ
Aug 18, 2010

King George Hotel, San Francisco

A super value in a great location, near delicious and good-value dining and all kinds of public transportation: BART, Caltrain, Golden Gate Transit, Muni, including the Old F Line streetcars. Rooms are small, but typical of boutique hotels. Staff are friendly and helpful. Free WiFi is easily set up in your room, and communal computers in the lobby provide free printing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Port Orchard, Wa
Aug 8, 2010

King George Hotel

Everyone was friendly, the rooms were clean and the hotel was in a good location. I would recommend this hotel to others and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lefty O'Doulls has great food for a good price right around the corner from the hotel.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Port Orchard, Wa
Aug 8, 2010

King George Hotel

Everyone was friendly, the rooms were clean and the hotel was in a good location. I would recommend this hotel to others and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lefty O'Doulls has great food for a good price right around the corner from the hotel.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Roaming Educator
New York City
Jul 29, 2010

Overnight stay

The hotel is well located, on the edge of the Tenderloin District, within easy walk of SoMA, Union Square and other major areas of interest. The room was clean and comfortable, if a bit small. The only issue I had with the room was that I was located on the third floor on an air shaft overlooking the building next door. That building's ventilation system created a rather annoying low hum that made sleeping difficult. ASk for a room on a higher floor and you should have a fine stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Be sure to grabe a drink and some great seafood at the Ferry Building around sunset.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Roaming Educator
New York City
Jul 29, 2010

Overnight stay

The hotel is well located, on the edge of the Tenderloin District, within easy walk of SoMA, Union Square and other major areas of interest. The room was clean and comfortable, if a bit small. The only issue I had with the room was that I was located on the third floor on an air shaft overlooking the building next door. That building's ventilation system created a rather annoying low hum that made sleeping difficult. ASk for a room on a higher floor and you should have a fine stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Be sure to grabe a drink and some great seafood at the Ferry Building around sunset.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fay and Jason Thrifty Travelers
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 27, 2010

Absolutely Lovely Hotel Great Location

The King George was a great choice. The price is perfect, the location is awesome. The hotel is old, so small rooms were expected, but they do very well fitting in the necessities. The best thing was the staff. They were very friendly and extremely helpful. We stayed 9 nights here and were put in the smallest room our first night. Upon check-in they told us we could switch to a bigger room the next day if we would like. They held our bags and moved them into the new room for us while we were out. Also, when we checked out, they held our bags all day until we needed to leave for our flight. It really was a great vacation and the King George played a huge part in that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do not drive or get a car in San Francisco. Parking is outrageous. Most hotels do not have parking and if they do its between $30 and $60 per night. We walked everywhere, took public transit which is fantastic, and only rented a car one day to travel to wine country.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fay and Jason Thrifty Travelers
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 27, 2010

Absolutely Lovely Hotel Great Location

The King George was a great choice. The price is perfect, the location is awesome. The hotel is old, so small rooms were expected, but they do very well fitting in the necessities. The best thing was the staff. They were very friendly and extremely helpful. We stayed 9 nights here and were put in the smallest room our first night. Upon check-in they told us we could switch to a bigger room the next day if we would like. They held our bags and moved them into the new room for us while we were out. Also, when we checked out, they held our bags all day until we needed to leave for our flight. It really was a great vacation and the King George played a huge part in that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do not drive or get a car in San Francisco. Parking is outrageous. Most hotels do not have parking and if they do its between $30 and $60 per night. We walked everywhere, took public transit which is fantastic, and only rented a car one day to travel to wine country.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hopeful S.F. transplants
Grand Junction, CO
Jul 10, 2010

Excellent deal

We stayed for three nights. Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent location. It was a pleasure staying here. The hotel has an international flavor as there were a lot of international travelers staying. Immediately next door are three 24-hour diners with good food. The hotel staff is efficient and keeps the room/bathroom/beds very clean. It's an older hotel so the carpets are kind of old and faded. The room was small but it was good enough for our needs. The location is fantastic - only a few blocks from Union Square. The price is fantastic too. I will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For breakfast, order the Corned Beef Hash at the diner next door. It's real corned beef and tastes great. As you walk out the front door of the hotel, the diner is located to your right.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hopeful S.F. transplants
Grand Junction, CO
Jul 10, 2010

Excellent deal

We stayed for three nights. Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent location. It was a pleasure staying here. The hotel has an international flavor as there were a lot of international travelers staying. Immediately next door are three 24-hour diners with good food. The hotel staff is efficient and keeps the room/bathroom/beds very clean. It's an older hotel so the carpets are kind of old and faded. The room was small but it was good enough for our needs. The location is fantastic - only a few blocks from Union Square. The price is fantastic too. I will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For breakfast, order the Corned Beef Hash at the diner next door. It's real corned beef and tastes great. As you walk out the front door of the hotel, the diner is located to your right.

Back to menu Return to top