$167 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2015 Check-out: Aug 29, 2015

King George Hotel

3 stars
View map of 334 Mason St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for King George Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
217 out of 217
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Parker Co.
Sep 7, 2010

unbeatable location for the price

for location u couldn't beat the rate

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
east meadow,ny
Sep 1, 2010

Location great, parking sucks

went to every tourist attraction there was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe mason. Great food, service, and hot waitresses!

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Duke1990
Business
Wilmington NC
Aug 30, 2010

Great place to stay in San Francisco

Great hotel and staff was wonderful. I upgraded to a king room for a few dollars more but did not realy need to do that because the double bed rooms were just as nice. May room did not have the upgraded flat lcd tv as some to the other rooms and i felt like not got what i paid for in some way. Asked at front desk and the reason given was my room was not renovated yet. So I paid for the upgrade on the room and they gave me a none renovated room. Wow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are there for more than 3 days and need to get around the city buy a multiple muni pass 3 or 7 day it is very cost effective. access to cable cars street cars and bus system aswell as subway but not BAER system.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Melemel
Business
Sunrise, FL
Aug 23, 2010

Great find

This was a great deal. Great location in Union Square. The rooms were very clean, the hotel staff was friendly and while it was a bit noisy at the beginning of the night, it quickly quieted down and we had a restful sleep. Walking distance to alot of the tourist attractions including the Powell/Mason cable car and BART.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Alot of different and great restaurants just a short walk from the hotel. There was a 24 hr diner on the corner where we had a good breakfast.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GradeA
Business
San Jose, CA
Aug 22, 2010

Quaint and Convenient, but Noisy

This was a great choice hotel for the convenience. There are a lot of things close by including 24hour diners, convenience stores, bars, union square, parking lot. My wife and were looking for an affordable hotel for the evening for a reunion and some shopping the next day, and in that respects, The King George Hotel fit that bill. Unfortunately, the old style windows has little insulation to the LOUD city noises. We could hear everything on the street from the 5th floor. It was a restless night as party goers, dump trunks, car alarms, and emergency vehicles went on with their business!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Millington, NJ
Aug 18, 2010

King George Hotel, San Francisco

A super value in a great location, near delicious and good-value dining and all kinds of public transportation: BART, Caltrain, Golden Gate Transit, Muni, including the Old F Line streetcars. Rooms are small, but typical of boutique hotels. Staff are friendly and helpful. Free WiFi is easily set up in your room, and communal computers in the lobby provide free printing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Port Orchard, Wa
Aug 8, 2010

King George Hotel

Everyone was friendly, the rooms were clean and the hotel was in a good location. I would recommend this hotel to others and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lefty O'Doulls has great food for a good price right around the corner from the hotel.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Roaming Educator
Business
New York City
Jul 29, 2010

Overnight stay

The hotel is well located, on the edge of the Tenderloin District, within easy walk of SoMA, Union Square and other major areas of interest. The room was clean and comfortable, if a bit small. The only issue I had with the room was that I was located on the third floor on an air shaft overlooking the building next door. That building's ventilation system created a rather annoying low hum that made sleeping difficult. ASk for a room on a higher floor and you should have a fine stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Be sure to grabe a drink and some great seafood at the Ferry Building around sunset.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fay and Jason Thrifty Travelers
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 27, 2010

Absolutely Lovely Hotel Great Location

The King George was a great choice. The price is perfect, the location is awesome. The hotel is old, so small rooms were expected, but they do very well fitting in the necessities. The best thing was the staff. They were very friendly and extremely helpful. We stayed 9 nights here and were put in the smallest room our first night. Upon check-in they told us we could switch to a bigger room the next day if we would like. They held our bags and moved them into the new room for us while we were out. Also, when we checked out, they held our bags all day until we needed to leave for our flight. It really was a great vacation and the King George played a huge part in that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do not drive or get a car in San Francisco. Parking is outrageous. Most hotels do not have parking and if they do its between $30 and $60 per night. We walked everywhere, took public transit which is fantastic, and only rented a car one day to travel to wine country.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hopeful S.F. transplants
Business
Grand Junction, CO
Jul 10, 2010

Excellent deal

We stayed for three nights. Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent location. It was a pleasure staying here. The hotel has an international flavor as there were a lot of international travelers staying. Immediately next door are three 24-hour diners with good food. The hotel staff is efficient and keeps the room/bathroom/beds very clean. It's an older hotel so the carpets are kind of old and faded. The room was small but it was good enough for our needs. The location is fantastic - only a few blocks from Union Square. The price is fantastic too. I will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For breakfast, order the Corned Beef Hash at the diner next door. It's real corned beef and tastes great. As you walk out the front door of the hotel, the diner is located to your right.

Back to menu Return to top