$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

King George Hotel

3 stars
View map of 334 Mason St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for King George Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
220 out of 220
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anna F.
Single
San Diego
Feb 4, 2015

Family

Staff great. Room very small. The worst: ELEVATOR. Small, busy all the time, staff uses same elevator to do maintenance, cleanings carts, sheets and all kind...very nice staff, however, unwanted trips to the basement!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jean 816
Couples
Kansas City
Feb 23, 2015

Perfect for us

The hotel location can't be beat. For us, the hotel was perfect as we did not have children or guests. The room was quite small and there was little storage for clothing, etc. But we were able to use the first floor area for the work we wanted to do. Internet access was terrific and there were plenty of tables and chairs on which to work. Everything we needed for food or supplies was located nearby. We were attending a conference that was less than two blocks away. There was plenty of opportunity to take walks, shop, listen to music, enjoy the sights. It was great for us! Staff was usually helpful, some were just excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Have vacation will travel
Friends
Austin
Mar 4, 2015

small but clean

The hotel room was very small, but it was very clean. We didn't spend much time in the room, but I liked it. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dinara S.
Couples
Silver Spring
Apr 15, 2015

Great location

Great location, friendly stuff. Bathroom was a bit small, but other than that a nice hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DC CR
Business
New York, New York
Nov 21, 2014

Good hotel

Pretty clean; easy Small. Water pressure was a little questionable. Also, no closet; the coat and shirt hangars were right above the TV. A little weird. If you just need a place to crash with some internet and TV, this is good for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Union Square is really pretty to walk by.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Linh L.
Business
N/A
Jun 7, 2015

business trip

Hotel is in a good location close to cable cars and Bart. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was comfortable and clean. Sheets were a little scratchy. Bathroom was tiny. Room faced a wall and had no view. Older hotel but appeared to be recently remodeled. Free Wi-Fi was nice and worked well. Only stayed 1 night so don't know what long term stay would be like. Didn't see a pool or gym but didn't actively search for them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Johnny Air
Business
Salt Lake City
Jun 21, 2015

Business trip

My only gripe is that there was no bedside lamp. It's pretty cold with just a ceiling light.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Phillip T.
Couples
N/A
Jun 23, 2015

Great location Hotel

The staff were friendly and helpful. After staying at this hotel I thought that it would be a great hotel for staying in the City for events. The location was perfect for our needs. Though a little overpriced..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alex B.
Friends
Edmond
Jul 7, 2015

Vacation

Small rooms with no AC, made for a stuffy room. Nice staff though

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joy H.
Family
Carol Stream
Aug 6, 2015

Two night stay w teenage son

My 17 year old son and I stayed in a double twin room at the King George for two nights in July. Check in was a breeze and the desk associates were outstanding. They were friendly, informative and very helpful. The room was spotless, and although small, we were very comfortable. It is located within walking district to dozens of restaurants and shopping of every price range. Valet parking is available or you may self park at the public garage located directly across the street. The drawbacks are minor. There are many homeless in this area. If that bothers you, you can choose to simply ignore them or stay elsewhere a few blocks away. Unfortunately, homelessness is prevalent everywhere in San Francisco so you will not be able to avoid it entirely. That being said, as a single woman, I had no problem walking alone at night. There is a great deal of street noise at all hours of the day and night. I would recommend asking for a higher floor towards the rear of the hotel. And lastly, get up early to shower. By 10am there was no hot water. Overall, this is a wonderful little place to stay. The staff, location, and pricing make it so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top